RSS

The Getaway Plan

18 May

One more day of work.

I just gotta make it through one more day of work.

And then……

hubby and I are high-tailing it outta here!

The past few months have been unfathomably stressful for us. As much as I love my work, the hours and sometimes chaoticness of the hotel are exhausting.  I spend 40 hours a week at work, and another 10-15 hours a week on the commute.  Needless to say, when I am at home,  I’m usually a limp noodle.  I don’t feel like talking, I don’t feel like doing chores, and I usually just want to be left alone.  Not very good for the family or our relationships or my spirit.

Hubby has been on the road marketing the product he and his business partner have developed.  The business is growing, but not as quickly as he had hoped. We’ve invested quite a bit of our money into it, and while it’s doing well enough for us to get our money back, it’s not quite to the place where we can draw income from it.  The future looks bright, but right now, we’re feeling the stress of only having my “whopping” income.

Then of course we have the lazy, unmotivated children situation.

And the ailing in-laws situation.

And, and, and……..

So when I was given this Sunday off of work, I decided to take Monday and Tuesday off as well, giving me a three day weekend to get away from it all!

Nashville, here we come!

We love Nashville!

It’s close.

It has one of my hotels there, so we can stay cheap.

And it has BBQ!

We need this getaway desperately.  I am looking forward to being able to focus on just us.  I am looking forward to being the guest in a hotel, instead of the desk agent.  I’m looking forward to sitting in a bar listening to live music.  And of course I’m looking forward to trying out two new BBQ joints.

It’s definitely been well earned by both of us.  Cross your fingers that the fort will stay standing while we are gone.  We are hoping there won’t be any emergency calls from any of the family members.  All we want is a few days away, so we can reconnect with each other, recoup from the long days and renew our energy.

When we return on Tuesday, we’ll be ready to face the challenges with a more positive attitude.

That’s the plan, anyway.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2012 in BBQ, Everyday Living, Family, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “The Getaway Plan

  1. territerri

    May 18, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    I hope things work out just as you are planning. You’ve written about the stresses of your job several times and it’s obvious that it can be very challenging. It’s hard to stay engaged in life outside your job when it’s that demanding. Sometimes a chance to rejuvenate is just what you need. Wishing you a happy, relaxing and fun get-a-way!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 19, 2012 at 1:44 am

      I definitely have a love/hate relationship with my job. 🙂 It’s sparked a few discussions with my hubby about whether or not it’s worth it… but for now… I’m just going to take a break and see if it helps. Thanks for the good wishes! I’ll let you know how it goes!

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    May 19, 2012 at 12:02 am

    I am so happy that you will finally have a real rest and you both can take some time for each other. You sound like everything has drained all of your energy. Enjoy the B.B.Q’s and make sure you relax plenty! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 19, 2012 at 1:47 am

      Drained is a great word to describe me these days. I honestly feel like a kid at Christmas time. I CAN NOT WAIT! 🙂

       
  3. Jules

    May 19, 2012 at 2:42 am

    I am so glad you’re getting away!!! You deserve it!!! Hope you and hubby have a great time =) Can’t wait to hear all about your stay and the bbq!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 19, 2012 at 11:44 pm

      My mouth is watering already! I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes!

       
  4. agg79

    May 19, 2012 at 2:43 am

    Ah, hell, you’re headed to Nashville? And you envy my weekend adventures? I’d so love to do Nashville (jealousy gene kicking in here). Some seriously good BBQ and music down there. I hope you guys have a blast down there, you’ve definitely earned it. The question I have to ask is: Is this with or without kids?

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 19, 2012 at 11:51 pm

      I’ve been to Nashville 3 or 4 times, and hubby has been at least twice that many. It’s a great place! Add that to your list of things to do this summer. 🙂
      We are leaving the kids at home for this trip. I think they are looking forward to us being gone as much as we are!
      See why I’m so excited! 😉

       
  5. Rock Chef

    May 19, 2012 at 11:39 am

    Of course the Fort will still be standing – how much can happen in 3 days?

    OK, that was supposed to sound encouraging…

    🙂

    Have fun in Nashville!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 19, 2012 at 11:54 pm

      Yeah…. I really don’t want to think about what can happen in 3 days. But I hope, that whatever does happen, gets cleaned up, fixed, or solved before I get home… kinda like Ferris Bueller did.

       
  6. Abby

    May 20, 2012 at 2:56 am

    Good for you! Sounds like a great plan with all you’ve had going on lately. I’m sure you’ll be thinking of us blog friends the whole time (you better not!). Have fun, enjoy the beef!

     
  7. shadowrun300

    May 21, 2012 at 2:28 am

    Well, I’ve sorta been thinking of you all…. I’m takin’ pictures and plan to tell you all about it! So far, we’re having a great time!

     
  8. The Thin Lady Inside

    May 21, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    That sounds awesome! I am glad you guys are enjoying it! You definitely deserve it! Not only you work so much but you always find the time to encourage others! It’s time for you and your hubby to enjoy! 🙂 Don’t worry about us! We’ll be waiting for you anxious to see those pics!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 21, 2012 at 6:41 pm

      We’re having an awesome time! Can’t wait to share! 🙂

       
  9. meleah rebeccah

    May 21, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Oh hell yes! Enjoy your time away!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
