RSS

Off to a Slow Start

21 May

Saturday was my last day of work before our much anticipated getaway.  I was giddy with happiness the entire day.  When the whistle blew quittin’ time at 2:00, I immediately dropped my radio, peeled off my tie and ran out the door.

I reached my first speed bump at that time. Just as I’d gotten in my car, I realized I left my lunch box in the break room.

Ugh.

I ran back upstairs, grabbed it and hightailed it again to my car.

The second speed bump was a real doozie, and slowed me down tremendously.   I was almost halfway home when I received a call from the hotel.

“Um, Robyn….   do you have the luggage key?”

Sh*t!

The luggage key is just a key that gets me into the luggage storage room, up the elevators and into the pantry where I had been stocking the drinks and snacks.  I had put it in my vest pocket to free my hands, and forgot to put it away.

Management is pretty strict about employees going home with any keys… so yes, I had to bring it back. I got off at the next exit, then put my Mustang to the test… it did me proud.

I finally reached home, only a half hour later than expected, but my mood was still pretty sour from having to go back.  Eventually the giddiness returned, and I went outside to wash our getaway car.

We debated about bringing the bikes, but decided the Mustang would be more useful once we were there. So of course it had to be shiny and sparkling clean.

Feeling better, but sleepy after a long day, I called it quits.  The rest could wait til Sunday, our day of departure…..

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2012 in Blunders, Mustang, The Hotel, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Off to a Slow Start

  1. Jules

    May 22, 2012 at 12:19 am

    I always have to triple check my pockets before I go home, to make sure I don’t have anything valet-related with me. That sucks you got off to a slow start, but hopefully it just went uphill from there!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 22, 2012 at 2:42 am

      It has definitely been all uphill since! I’ll be filling you in soon! 🙂

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    May 22, 2012 at 2:55 am

    That is exactly the kind of things I would do when looking forward to get out of work! loll You must have been so pissed off about having to go back! Hopefully now you are gone and having fun!:-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 22, 2012 at 7:46 pm

      You know, I wasn’t so much angry, as I was sad and disappointed. I had been feeling so beaten down the last few months, and I felt like that was just one more beating. BUT! It totally got better from there and I can’t wait to share our stories!!

       
  3. agg79

    May 22, 2012 at 9:55 am

    Isn’t it always like that? You make plans for the week/weekend and life likes to throw you some last minute curves just to mess with your head. I hope that those little speed bumps did not dim the weekend frivolities.

    And I find washing my car is somewhat of a catharsis. Puts you in a better mood for the road trip. I’ve got a similar pre-road trip routine.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 22, 2012 at 7:50 pm

      The weekend went totally uphill from there! I’m gatherin’ my pics together and will be sharing the stories soon.
      I love washing my car, and more than that, I love driving in a clean car. Especially if I’m going to have the top down. 🙂

       
  4. Abby

    May 23, 2012 at 12:50 am

    Honestly? I think I would’ve been tempted to say, “Gee boss, I don’t have ’em” and keep driving home. Kidding! (I think).

    Can’t wait for more episodes!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 23, 2012 at 1:01 am

      Oh I was tempted, believe me. And I was tempted to beg for an exception. BUT, rules are rules, and I’m a good girl…. ugh.

       
  5. Rock Chef

    May 23, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    I just hate those speed bumps. Sometimes I buy stuff at lunchtime and put it in the work fridge – sometimes I am half way across town before I remember it…

    Have fun!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 23, 2012 at 11:06 pm

      Aggravating isn’t it?
      And I did have fun. 🙂 Plan to have a post up today!

       
  6. territerri

    May 25, 2012 at 2:39 am

    I’ll bet those speed bumps made the getaway that much sweeter!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 26, 2012 at 11:39 pm

      Yes! Just one more reason to want to get away!

       

Leave a Reply

 
