RSS

So. Much. Fun.

24 May

This weekend was everything I had hoped it would be.

After an early morning run on Sunday, we showered up and headed South.  It’s only a 4 hour trip, but I had to stop twice to,*ahem*, use the ladies’ room.  Hubby is very patient about it, but he tends to make comments like “I don’t usually drink very much while I’m traveling.”

Whatever. 😉

We arrived in Nashville around 1:30 pm, starving, and ready for our first taste of BBQ.  We parked near Broadway and went straight to Rippy’s.

Rippy’s Barbecue

I’d love to tell you about it now, but I’m actually saving both BBQ reviews for another blog.  Stay tuned!  It’ll be worth the wait!

We enjoyed some music there and then headed to a few more bars on Broadway.

Legend’s Corner

Hubby and I in Layla’s

Bridge Over Cumberland River
My shoes were killing me by this time.

We headed for the hotel in the early evening hours.  The bars were enjoyable, but neither one of us were in the mood for late night parties, or partiers.  We checked into or hotel, located just outside of Nashville, had a few cocktails during their happy hour, and then checked out a nearby lake that was known to have a great running path.

The Running Path I Would Take on Tuesday Morning

Monday was just as fun!  After a workout and breakfast, we headed to a place I’ve been dying to see:

Don’t make fun of my standard pose. Hubby already has.

But they weren’t open yet…..

Taking a peek.

Have you guessed where we are?

Indian Motorcycle

Vintage Guitars

Give up?

The AMERICAN PICKERS store!!!

It musta been Mike and Frank’s day off though, ’cause they weren’t there.  But looking at the items and recognizing some of them from the shows, was incredibly fun for me!

From there, we went to Franklin, TN.  I wanted to visit some residential areas around Nashville in case we decide to move there.

I fell in love with Franklin.  There’s a part of town that has the feel of an historical neighborhood.  Lofts, apartments, townhouses.  Quaint coffee shops, restaurants, bookstores. All within walking distance.  And Franklin is only about 10-15 minutes from downtown Nashville.

The area surrounding Franklin is mountainous, and would be perfect for motorcycle riding.  It’s definitely on the list!

For lunch we headed to Martin’s BBQ Joint.  OMG is all I’m going to say about that right now.  Stay tuned….

Martin’s BBQ Joint

Then back to the hotel for some down time and some pool time.  The day was topped off with a fabulous night at The Bluebird Cafe.

The Bluebird Cafe is where songwriters go to perform the songs they have written.  Many big name country stars have performed there.  It’s a tiny bar and there’s always a line to get in.  Mondays are open mic night where beginning songwriters can showcase their songs.  We got there an hour early, and already there was quite a line.

The line ahead of us to enter The Bluebird Cafe

Inside the small, crowded bar.

We squeezed into the corner at a table with a couple of other guys, and Emma.. the sweet little blonde standing in front of us while we were in line.

Going into this, I didn’t think I’d be interested in staying there for any length of time, but when all the novice songwriters began performing, I was in awe!  Every person was extremely talented.  They all had different styles, interests and techniques.  Some were quite unusual, some were incredibly funny, and some were goosebump good!  I fell in love with Emma (Lord).  Her voice was so sweet, her song was terrific, and I hope she makes it.  The other guys we were with were great as well!  More John Mayer-ish than country.  Kevin Castle and Jacob Kupin.  We walked out of there smiling from ear to ear, and talking about it the rest of the night.

Early Tuesday morning, we drove back to the lake so I could run.  The path was definitely the most challenging path I have ever taken.  Many long, steep hills.  I managed to run the 4 miles, although some of the hills were so steep I’m not sure I was still running, and the downhills afterwards were pretty tough to manage as well.  But it was exhilarating. I loved all the wildlife sounds and looking over the water.  I loved running with the other early morning runners.  I felt good! The weather was beautiful and cool, and I couldn’t have asked for a better ending to our trip.

We said our goodbyes to Tennessee shortly after breakfast.  I was sad to see it go, but it absolutely did it’s job of taking us away from our troubles for a while. It showed us we can have fun together, and have conversations that don’t involve health care, doctor appointments, teen motivation, money, yada yada yada….

We came back better friends.  And despite the difficult times that we know lay ahead, I haven’t been this happy in months!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2012 in Family, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , , ,

15 responses to “So. Much. Fun.

  1. agg79

    May 24, 2012 at 2:36 am

    Wow. That was one fantabulous weekend. I think you definitely recharged the batteries there. I was going to ask how far of a drive it was to Nashville, but you covered that well enough. I’m sure you kept it under the NASCAR speed limit on the way down. I’ve never been to Nashville, but it has been on my bucket list for a while. Thanks for scoping it out for me. I’ll definitely will have to move it up my list a few notches. Looks like you covered a lot of ground there, I am amazed you were not worn out by the time you got back home. Cannot wait to read the review on the BBQ joints. Better than Grumpy’s I imagine.

    And at first glance, I had two guesses on your stop over – either the Indian Museum or American Pickers. I don’t imagine you saw any of the crew there.

    I admire how you stick to a work out plan, even on vacation. For all the supplier audits I do, I try to run a couple of miles every place I visit. Your trail sounds like one I ran when I was in Seattle a few years back – an old train track bed made into a hiking/biking trail. I love to explore the sites & sounds of the general area. Great trip!

     
  2. shadowrun300

    May 24, 2012 at 10:41 am

    I don’t even think I did it justice with this post. It really was an awesome weekend. Tennessee is a beautiful state, and I miss it already. I can see us making a home there in the next couple of years.
    I love running in a new place, so it doesn’t feel like work. Plus, it helps me not to feel too guilty when I down a plate of BBQ. 🙂
    And although we covered a lot of ground, it was extremely relaxing – cruisin’ with the top down, enjoying the weather…. just fun, fun, fun. I highly recommend it!

     
  3. Rock Chef

    May 24, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Sounds like a great break. My wife loves watching American Pickers – she would spend hours in a place like that.

    Martins sounds interesting. I might be passing that way next summer…

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2012 at 2:02 am

      I can’t wait to tell you about Martin’s BBQ! Although with Graduation festivities going on in our family right now, it may be a few more days.
      American Pickers is one of the shows I could watch for hours, so it was quite fun to see the objects they had “picked”.

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    May 24, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    I am so happy you guys had such a great time! I can’t wait to read the BBQ review! You are so pretty! I hadn’t really seen you before until now! And it’s a great motivation to keep going with my weight loss journey! You rock!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2012 at 2:05 am

      Aww… thanks for the compliment! I usually don’t like to post pics of me, because I always find fault with them, but this time I couldn’t help but share my fun experiences!! Stay tuned… BBQ review coming in a few days! 🙂

       
  5. Abby

    May 24, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Wow, the husband and I could use a trip like this. I don’t think our evening old folk’s walks are up to snuff! I enjoyed the photos too, looks like great weather. The one “Inside the small, crowded bar” is interesting – the woman rubbing her temples while sitting with two men:
    “No threesome tonight guys, I’ve got SUCH a headache”

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2012 at 2:07 am

      You totally need a trip like this! We take evening walks too, but this was so much for fun!!
      Leave it to you to notice the girl sandwiched between two guys! I had to go back and look at the picture to see what you were talking about! 🙂 Funny!

       
  6. Jules

    May 25, 2012 at 12:04 am

    I’m so glad you and hubby had a great time! I can imagine it’s good to get away from the daily stress of life and family sometimes. I love Tennessee and would love to retire there, but near the mountains somewhere. It’s so gorgeous down there.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2012 at 2:08 am

      I remember you like the mountains! My only concern about moving to Tennessee is whether the winters will be warm enough for us. We’ll be checking out the temps this winter to find out!

       
  7. towardshealthylife

    May 25, 2012 at 1:42 am

    When I go on trip somewhere and think I would like to ove there it’s because I had a great time so I am happy for you guys! It must have felt funny to see the american picker store loll My parents always stop to Nashvill when they go from Canada to florida or texas. Nice photos!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2012 at 2:11 am

      The American Pickers store was very cool, but I was surprised how small it was. It’s not the one you see on TV. They actually just opened up the Nashville store not to long ago.
      Have you visited any places here in the states?

       
  8. territerri

    May 25, 2012 at 2:37 am

    Oh, I’m SO happy for you! I know how much you needed this and it sounds like it was more than you could have hoped for! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 25, 2012 at 10:36 am

      It really was! We may have to do it more often! 🙂

       
  9. meleah rebeccah

    May 25, 2012 at 10:14 pm

    This is the best news ever! What a fabulous vacation / get away! WOOOT!

     

Leave a Reply

 
