RSS

Happy Memorial Day!

28 May

Since I was lucky enough to have a three day weekend last weekend, it meant having to work over the Memorial Day weekend.

I didn’t mind much. The hotel was very busy.  A little understaffed, but the time went by quickly.

I clocked out a little before 2pm on Sunday, so I was able to spend some time down at our clubhouse with the family.  I was happy to spend some time with the in-laws.  I’ve yet to tell you all the whole story with them, but I’ve hinted about their health problems. For now, I’ll just say that we want to make sure we’re spending as much time as we can with each other.

Our Clubhouse on Big Forked Lake

Daughter and I just a-swingin’

Hubby’s Mom and Dad

It was a great afternoon!

Even better, I had Monday off!

Hubby and I decided to take advantage of the early morning sun, and take the motorcycles out for breakfast.

We’d chosen a place in a small town about 45 south of us.  The trip down was beautiful!  Winding roads and rolling hills and not much else.

Including the restaurant.

Plan B was to go to a Mom and Pop place we had been to before.

Closed for Memorial Day.

No biggie!  People were lining up and down the main street preparing for the parade, so for a while WE were the parade!  🙂

Plan C.   International House of Pancakes.

Finally, we can eat!

The ride home was a little warm and a little windy, but enjoyable all the same!

We were back by 11 am so we had the whole rest of the day to kind of relax…

and as Agg mentioned, remember the reason we are able to enjoy the day.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2012 in Family, Holidays, motorcycle

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Happy Memorial Day!

  1. agg79

    May 28, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Nice way to enjoy the early morning, even if breakfast was a wee bit of a challenge.
    With all those warmer temps up north, I imagine now is the perfect time for a ride on the bikes or in the Mustang with the top down.

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 29, 2012 at 1:48 am

      It definitely feels like summer up here! Almost too hot. Almost.

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    May 29, 2012 at 4:36 am

    I am glad you got to ride your bike! It looks like a very nice place that club house 🙂 Your daughter is so pretty!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 29, 2012 at 10:13 pm

      I think my daughter is pretty too. 🙂 I can’t believe how quickly she’s maturing into a young adult. I’m very proud! The clubhouse is a ton of fun, although we don’t go as often as we’d like!

       
  3. Rock Chef

    May 29, 2012 at 8:35 am

    Sounds like a nice little trip. Or “spin” as they used to call it over here. “Just going for a spin.” Wow, makes me feel old remembering things like that…

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 29, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      Uhh… we occasionally say “spin” as well…. Maybe it’s making a comeback! 🙂

       
  4. Abby

    May 29, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    Looks like a great kick-off to summer! I love the photos from your clubhouse… although I don’t see an actual clubhouse 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 29, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      I know, haha, I thought about that while I was loading the pictures… I never took one of the clubhouse. The lake’s much more attractive. 🙂

       
  5. territerri

    May 30, 2012 at 1:25 am

    Glad to hear you were able to have some fun this weekend in spite of having to work. It’s strange to hear all the stories of warm, summer weather. We spent the weekend in jeans and sweatshirts!

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 30, 2012 at 1:30 am

      I just finished reading about your weekend! 🙂 Sorry the weather didn’t cooperate better. If it makes you feel better, my next days off are expected to be rainy and about 20 degrees cooler than it has been. :/ So I’m happy this day off was good!

       
  6. Jules

    June 1, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    Glad you were able to get in some family time! Hope you get some time off this weekend while the weather is cool and decent 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 2, 2012 at 12:10 am

      I’m workin this weekend, but we’re still planning a motorcycle ride. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
