RSS

Rippy’s and Martin’s Remembered

30 May

I have Guy Fieri to blame thank for my love of BBQ joints.

I began watching Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives a few years ago.  At that time I’d heard of brisket and pulled pork, but I’d never eaten it. I would listen intently as Guy described how these bbq joints smoked the meats for hours and then watch hungrily as he sampled and tasted them.

I had my first taste of it in El Paso during one of my bowling tournament trips.  I had the brisket at Famous Dave’s and from then on I’ve been addicted.  Not just to eating it, but to finding places that are all about smoking, and seasoning, and homemade barbecue sauce….. and the sides.

I’d love to be an amateur version of Guy…. ride around on my motorcycle looking for unique barbecue joints.  Maybe some day I’ll have the time to plan more trips.  Til then, I’lI take it when I can get it.

Like when we went to Nashville.

Hubby discovered Rippy’s Barbecue on his first lone business trip to Nashville.  He took pictures on his phone and flauntingly texted them to me.

He’s been twice since then, so I knew this getaway was going to be my opportunity to try it.

I can see why he loved it so much!

It’s a cozy place on the corner of Broadway.

Rippy’s BBQ

They have a stage for live music.

Our View of the Stage

Most importantly, they serve their pulled pork on cornbread pancakes.  Who knew?  (Well hubby did… this wasn’t his first rodeo.)

Pulled Pork on Cornbread Pancakes

Diggin’ in for My First Taste

I gotta admit, the sweet cornbread and the smoked meat and the tangy bbq sauce go VERY well together!  My only complaint was the cornbread got kinda soggy where the pork was, so next time I’ll ask for it on the side.

The next day we headed to Martins Barbecue Joint.  I scouted this place out using the Diners website. The way Guy made it sound, I was excited to try it.

Martins BBQ

The show on Martins described how they cook the pig whole.  It was funny watching them sling the entire pig, minus the head, onto the grill.  I was happy that I didn’t have to see it in person, however…

The Smoker and Me

Inside, the place was rustic looking.  Just like I’d imagined. I had studied the menu before going, so I knew what I was gettin….

The Menu

The beef brisket plate with cornbread pancakes and coleslaw  on the side.

No drooling please.

Let me just tell you.  This was absolutely the best brisket I have ever had – and I’ve been to Rendezvous in Memphis.  Hubby’s pulled pork was downright spectacular as well. So moist and flavorful!  The cornbread pancakes were crispy on the outside and were cooked with the same seasonings as the meat.  They were almost a little too peppery for my taste, but that didn’t stop me from eating most of it.

Yum.

Definitely finger-lickin’ good and 2 saucy thumbs up!

Grumpy’s?

What’s that?

 
15 Comments

Posted by on May 30, 2012 in BBQ

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Rippy’s and Martin’s Remembered

  1. The Thin Lady Inside

    May 30, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    YUM!!!! what else can I say?!!!

     
  2. towardshealthylife

    May 30, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    It sounds delicious! I have never tried that kind of food and would like too! Corn bread pancakes are also new to me and I might just try to make some. You made me hungry 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 31, 2012 at 1:27 am

      If you’re ever in the area, I will introduce you to bbq! I have a great cornbread recipe that I’m going to make into corn bread pancakes, tomorrow in fact. I’ll let you know how it goes!

       
      • towardshealthylife

        May 31, 2012 at 4:02 am

        Please let me know (with the recipe) because I remember my grand-mother making corn bread and it was so nice so I am sure to love corn bread pancakes!

         
      • shadowrun300

        May 31, 2012 at 1:01 pm

        I’ll send you the pancake recipe if it works out. I may just send you the cornbread recipe either way. It makes a very moist, sweet cornbread. Very yummy!

         
  3. agg79

    May 31, 2012 at 1:38 am

    I knew Grumpy’s was going to get left in the dust. Man, a road trip to Nashville with your prince, some good music, great shopping and some downright obscene BBQ. I imagine it was hard to head back home after that. No wonder you were looking to put in a few miles on the trail. After those places, I don’t blame you. We don’t get too much pulled pork down here but that’s what I had this weekend. Not as good as yours looked/sounded, but still pretty darn tasty. With all of those write ups, I am definitely moving Nashville up on my bucket list. And that’s one nice BBQ rig they’ve got there .

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 31, 2012 at 2:20 am

      Nashville is a MUST. I literally did not want to come home, and was heartbroken when we had to leave. If you go, you must put Martin’s on your list of places to eat. It’s about 20 minutes south, I believe, but well worth the drive!
      I’ve heard Texas has some pretty good bbq as well. I have it on my list of places to check out. The kids have requested we go to Colorado for vacation. I wonder what kind of bbq they have….
      That doesn’t mean Texas is out of the picture. Hubby and I may go there on our own. 🙂

       
  4. Rock Chef

    May 31, 2012 at 8:17 am

    Hm, I am hoping to find some things like that when I visit the US next year…

     
    • shadowrun300

      May 31, 2012 at 1:03 pm

      Do you know what areas you will be visiting yet? I’d be happy to scout out the bbq places for you. I’d hate for you to end up with a Grumpy’s experience. 🙂

       
  5. Abby

    June 1, 2012 at 3:02 am

    I remember your experience at Grumpy’s. BOO!!

    Cornbread pancakes, I’m going to make some! That’s never crossed my mind. I’m curious about the whole pig on the grill – as in “whole pig”? I think my first real bbq was at a pig roast in New York state. The whole pig was smoked for HOURS in a pit. Dee-LISH!

    We have a Famous Dave’s here. It’s a favorite! I love the t-shirts.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 1, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      Yes, the WHOLE pig, minus the head. It takes like 4 people to sling it into the smoker. I made the cornbread pancakes yesterday. They weren’t as pancake-y as Martin’s. More like flattened corn bread, but yummy just the same. Martin’s claims they smoke their meats 15 hours…. You gotta go.

       
  6. territerri

    June 3, 2012 at 2:15 am

    I really need to try some REAL barbecue! There’s a place near us that was featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, called Smalley’s Carribean Barbecue. We tried it, but it just wasn’t our style. It had a fun atmosphere and it’s in a very popular area, but the food itself just didn’t have the wow factor.

     
  7. Jules

    June 5, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    I loooooveee bbq. And I love your bbq posts. I just had dinner, but it makes me want to eat again. =)

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 6, 2012 at 5:28 am

      This was SOOO good. We’ll be trying some Kansas City bbq on our way to Colorado! I can’t wait!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
