RSS

Destination Known

04 Jun

Most times when we ask questions of our teenagers, especially the boys, we’re met with a grunt.  Or a shrug of the shoulders.

This time, when we asked if anybody had any suggestions for a vacation destination, our 15 year old son responded, albeit meekly, and with a slight shrug of the shoulders.

“I’d kinda like to go to Colorado.”

Dang.

I had my heart set on San Antonio.  The whole trip had been planned out.   Well, in my mind, anyway.  We would fly down.  Stay in “my” hotel right on the River Walk. We’d travel by foot and public transportation to all the interesting tourist attractions.  I’d get a taste of the livability of Texas.  It was gonna be good!

But I know better than to argue the response of a typically unresponsive kid.  Especially knowing that next year, he may decide to do as his 18 and 19.5 year old brothers are doing this year…. enjoying the freedom of a home with no parents.  (What?  They’re good kids. I’m fairly certain they won’t budge from the TV/computer/X-box until feeding time…)

My VERY responsive 13 year old daughter had a lot to say, however.

“I don’t want to go all the way to Colorado. whine, whine.”

“Which car will we take. whine, whine.”

“Well, o-o-oka-a-a-y.  If I can have the whole back seat…..

……AND if I can buy a portable DVD player……”

Deal!

Colorado Springs, here we come!

 
18 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2012 in Family, Uncategorized, Vacation

 

Tags: , , ,

18 responses to “Destination Known

  1. Abby

    June 4, 2012 at 1:14 am

    I agree – if a typically non-commital someone voices a definite preference, we usually jump on it. A couple of years ago, our oldest son really wanted to go to New Mexico for some reason. (The fact that it was relatively close also helped).

    PLUS, I can vouch for Colorado Springs. What a great destination for all! Also, at least it’s likely to be not as hot as Texas in summer 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 4, 2012 at 1:29 am

      Temperature was definitely a factor in his decision. That, and he wants to see the mountains. He’s looking forward to hiking and exploring. I made the decision to go in July, because I’d like to wear shorts. Please tell me July is shorts weather. :/
      (I may be hittin’ you up for the “must-see”s if you’re up to it…..)

       
      • Abby

        June 4, 2012 at 1:45 am

        Yes, it’s definitely shorts weather in July!… unless you’re on the top of Pikes Peak.

        I was digging around your blog here to try to discretely send you my contact info, but I don’t see any discrete way to do that. Blatantly, I’m at *****. Hit me!

         
      • shadowrun300

        June 4, 2012 at 1:51 am

        Thanks Abby! I’ll be hittin’ ya soon! 🙂

         
  2. agg79

    June 4, 2012 at 1:40 am

    Dang. Thought that we could entice you to come to the dark side of the Austin/San Antonio area. Oh, well, I cannot fault you for picking somewhere with better temps. As Abby said, there is alto to be said for sticking to the cooler temps of the Rockies. Besides, when we start baking down here in July/August, a lot of us Texans head to Colorado or New Mexico. Heck, a lot of people who summer in the Taos/Red River area are from Dallas/Fort Worth. When I was in scouts, we planned our summer trips/camps somewhere outside of Texas. My troop has spent more than a couple of summer camps outside of Colorado Springs several times. Now, you need to start working the details.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 4, 2012 at 1:47 am

      Believe me, I tried to sell San Antonio, but in the end, I wanted to go where he wanted to go. After all, we won’t have too many more vacations that he’ll want to attend.
      Of course, hubby and I haven’t ruled out Austin as a kid-less trip. In fact, it still may be a possibility sometime this year. I don’t mind the heat…..
      We’re all kind of clueless about Colorado, so any input is greatly appreciated!

       
      • agg79

        June 4, 2012 at 11:20 am

        I know it is a lost cause and Colorado has some really beautiful mountains but you could always through some of the local entertainment at him. San Antonio has the Alamo, Fiesta Texas, and Sea World. Austin has a ton neat things to see/do and some amazing food places (some mobile). And there is always the Schlitterbahn in New Baunfels (between Austin & San Antonio). And we’ve been in shorts since March.

         
      • shadowrun300

        June 4, 2012 at 12:22 pm

        Ouch. That last line really hurts… me, anyway. The boy, not so much. In fact, that would be a con in his opinion.
        My daughter is chompin’ at the bit to see the Alamo, so it’ll happen, just not this year. Hubby and I are torn between Charleston and Austin as a kid-less vacation spot. We’ll do them both, just not sure where to go first. How late in the year can you wear shorts down there???

         
  3. territerri

    June 4, 2012 at 2:21 am

    You have to be happy he’s still excited at the prospect of a family vacation! And you’ve got all the time in the world when your kids are all grown up to go the places you want to go. This is one he won’t soon forget. Have fun!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 4, 2012 at 2:32 am

      Exactly… that’s why I didn’t try too hard to talk him out of it. He would have settled for Texas, because he’s a good kid, but I’d rather take him someplace he WANTS to go. Our daughter has many more years of traveling with us, so even her opinion didn’t have as much weight. It’ll be fun for all of us though. We’ve never traveled West before. And they got BBQ. How bad can it be??

       
    • meleah rebeccah

      June 5, 2012 at 3:09 am

      I second what Terri said!

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    June 4, 2012 at 5:04 am

    I do plan things in my mind too and sometimes forget to tell others as if they would already know loll The mountains sounds like a good choice anyway and maybe he might choose a trip over a home without parents next year too if he gets to pick again. Isn’t it nice that he wants to hike and exercise on his vacation! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 4, 2012 at 12:27 pm

      I love that he wants to hike and explore the outdoors. I’m secretly looking forward to it myself. I thought too, that if I want him to keep coming along on our family vacations, maybe it’s best to let him plan it. I think he made a good choice. 🙂

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    June 5, 2012 at 3:08 am

    I’ve been to Colorado Springs and may I just say = GOOD CALL!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 5, 2012 at 12:21 pm

      Good to know! The more I look into it, the more excited I get!

       
  6. Jules

    June 6, 2012 at 12:20 am

    I have a portable DVD player you can have!!! It’s about 6 or 7 years old but it plays DVDs and CDS and works fine. I got it in college to take on road trips to track meets. Let me know if you’re interested, although I”m sure she would prefer to have a shiny brand new one. =)

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 6, 2012 at 5:25 am

      I will definitely ask her! She has to spend her own money on it, so she may be okay with a used one. Be thinking of a fair price…..

       
      • Jules

        June 8, 2012 at 12:08 am

        Oh I was thinking of $0.00. I don’t ever use it so if she wants it she is welcome to just have it. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
