RSS

Cupcake War? You Can Say That Again.

05 Jun

“I like ze margadrita cupcake.  Ze flav-ores are just right.  But ze cake ees a lee-tle too dense.  Eet eez verdy heavy.”

“Zee strawberdy daiquirdi cupcake ees not good at all.  It was cooked too long, I sink. And zee icing on tope ees not right. Zee text-u-er  ees a lee-tle too grainy and too sweet for my taste.  Eet ees a ‘no’ for me.”

That is what Florian from Cupcake Wars would have said to me if I had presented him with the two cupcakes I made today.

I was so excited to try them and 5 1/2 hours later, I’m quite disappointed.

My friend at work is turning 21 this week.  I thought it would be a great idea to bake her some cocktail cupcakes.  Strawberry Daiquiri and Margarita were my drinks of choice.

I scoured the internet in search of ideas, and picked the two I thought would taste the best.

Let me just say that I threw away the first batch of strawberry cupcakes.

And the second.

And most of the third.

The bottoms of them were all burned.  Now, I’m pretty good at checking them after 10 minutes, then 12, then 15, because I’ve learned my lesson before.  At these times, the cakes were obviously not cooked through.  When the cake finally sprung back from my touch, the bottoms were burned.  So I changed the recipe, lowered the temp and tried again.

Same result.

Finally I decided to just make my strawberry box cake in the cabinet.

Burned.

I’m wondering if my oven is running hot, or perhaps my cake pans hold too much heat.  (They were incredibly hot now that I think about it.)

I managed to salvage a few of them, but I was pretty aggravated by this time.  The strawberry daiquiri icing didn’t meet up with my standards either.  Probably because I was so tired of being in my kitchen by this time.

Meanwhile, the margarita cupcakes were faring pretty well.  They were a little dense due to the margarita mix I added, I’m sure, and they took forever to bake, but the flavor was right on!  The margarita and lime icing turned out pretty well too, although I’m personally not a big fan of cream cheese icing.

I plan on bringing them into work tomorrow, but I’m not as proud as I usually am.  I will most likely put up warning signs, because I hate the idea that they might whisper behind my back about how bad they are.  At least that way they know that I know that they’re bad.  Or at least not my usually yummy cakes.

As I learned from my Grumpy’s escapade…..  experiencing new places and trying new things is very exciting.  But sometimes, you’re gonna get burned.

Boy will I be glad when hubby gets back home with our new camera.  This one takes rotten pics. It’s only fitting, I suppose, to take crappy pics of my crappy cupcakes.  🙂

 
15 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2012 in Baking, Blunders

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Cupcake War? You Can Say That Again.

  1. agg79

    June 5, 2012 at 2:09 am

    Hey, at least you gave it the old college try. I am sure that, even a wee bit burnt, they will be the hit of the party. Or at least if they have enough alcohol left in them, maybe they won’t notice. Remember the old motto: If you first don’t succeed, screw it and fix margaritas instead.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 5, 2012 at 2:46 am

      Dang! I can’t believe I never thought to just DRINK the margarita!

       
      • towardshealthylife

        June 5, 2012 at 5:03 am

        …maybe you were drinking the margaritas before you started baking the daikiries cucakes;-) Did you really bake it in a wine glass? It looks so cool. It is a great idea and they are probable better than you think. 🙂

         
      • shadowrun300

        June 5, 2012 at 12:27 pm

        I hope they’re better than I think. :/
        I’ve used wine glasses before to bake cupcakes in, and they turn out really well. I tend to put a little more batter in than a regular cupcake so they take longer to bake. I grease and flour the glass first, then the flour wipes right off the top of the glass. The kids love eating cupcakes out of wine glasses. 🙂

         
      • towardshealthylife

        June 5, 2012 at 7:47 pm

        First time I hear of that and I would have though the glass would break but I repeat It is so cool and classy!

         
  2. meleah rebeccah

    June 5, 2012 at 3:10 am

    Personally, I’d rather have margarita cupcakes over strawberry cupcakes any day!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 5, 2012 at 12:23 pm

      I was expecting the strawberry ones to be better, so it was a nice surprise that the margarita cupcakes were so yummy.

       
  3. Abby

    June 5, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    First, I have to admit that you’ve introduced me to a whole new world. “Cupcake wars”? “Cocktail cupcakes”? Cupcakes in glasses?? Where have they been all my life?!

    They look so festive!… well, except the ones in the garbage. I can’t imagine they taste bad. I always feel that unsuccessful attempts at something new aren’t failures, they’re just more practice and practice is progress! (thinking of all the drawings and paintings sitting in the landfill).

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 5, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      It’s great fun coming up with new ideas!
      I tried them again this morning because I’ll be taking them into work later, and they are not too bad. The bottoms of the strawberry ones are a little brown, but the taste is good. The margarita ones are flippin’ awesome. I’ll be making those again soon.
      And yes, practice makes perfect, and you have to experience some failures in order to improve…. Mom was right again.

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    June 5, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    Sorry they didn’t deliver! The ones in the glasses look beautiful! ugh! it is horrible to have such great expectations from a dessert and then not get the results that we were hoping for… 😦 I hate that! 🙂 … I am glad the strawberries tasted good and that the margaritas ended up awesome! … so sad to see cupcakes in the garbage, isn’t it?

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 5, 2012 at 6:30 pm

      It was hard throwing them away. The second batch wasn’t nearly as bad, so I left those for the kids. They’ll eat just about anything. 🙂 In the end, they turned out okay. Just gives me more incentive to keep trying til I get it right!

       
  5. Jules

    June 6, 2012 at 12:27 am

    I made peanut butter cupcakes a few days ago, with a peanut butter cream cheese icing. They were AMAZING. I’ve made amaretto flavored cupcakes before. They were okay, but nothing too exciting. I love the flavor or amaretto though.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 6, 2012 at 5:22 am

      I have yet to make a peanut butter cupcake, but it’s on my list!
      An amaretto cupcake sound intriguing… I may have to try that, along with Kahlua and Bailey’s. 🙂

       
  6. territerri

    June 8, 2012 at 1:00 am

    I’ll bet you’re being too hard on yourself. The cupcakes in the glasses look GREAT! And no one complains when you bring treats to work. Everyone loves treats!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 8, 2012 at 2:00 am

      You’re right. Free food is always welcome, especially since most of them are college age kids living on Ramen and lettuce. 🙂 They were very kind with their compliments. The margarita ones had such great flavor that I’m going to try them again on Saturday and see if I can make them a little more fluffier. I got a new pan to try too!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
