RSS

Let’s Go Geek Squad, Let’s Go!

09 Jun

The warning signs were there.

I just chose to ignore them.

And now….

well, now, I’m really sorry that I continued on with business as usual.  I should have been more prepared mentally.  I should have had a backup plan.

But with things seemingly fixed, and other problems to worry about, it was easy to push the possibility of complete destruction and loss to the back of my mind.

I regret that decision now.

My doomsday occurred four days ago.

I was happily getting ready for work.  Pandora was playing on my laptop while I showered, dressed and primped.  Finally ready for my “show”, (I sometimes feel like that’s what my job is), I unplugged my laptop from the wall and carried my computer and its cord to my spot at the counter.

When I saw the adapter had been separated from the plug itself, my heart dropped.  For this is what caused my temporary crash a few months ago. Anytime I plugged the charger in, my laptop would shut down immediately. I bought a new charger, which worked, but I was forced to stay plugged in at all times.

At that time, I ended around the problems somehow, and the situation seemed to fix itself.  I became mobile again, and all was good.

This time.  Not so lucky.

I was able to get one last good use out of it, sucking every last drop of battery power I could.

Then it died.

No other cords could bring it back to life.

For four days I’ve used my hubby’s desktop to catch up on emails and comment on blogs.  It’s nice to have a substitute, but I sure miss my own computer.

Today, I was finally able to get it into the geek squad. They think its a loose connection.  It’s covered under warranty.  They can probably fix it.  It’ll take 2-3 weeks.

The worst news…..  I could lose all my personal data.

UGH.   I shoulda been more prepared.  After the first battery malfunction, I should have backed up all my files.

Why didn’t I?

It seemed like too much trouble.  I’ve never backed anything up before.  I really don’t know how.  And I couldn’t be bothered to figure it out.

Smart, right?  I’ll obviously be more bothered trying to get all my pictures and passwords, favorite websites and recipes loaded back up.

Oh, for a measly 150 bucks, the geek squad would do it all for me.

I passed.  My kids would like to eat this week.

I’ll just keep my fingers crossed that the squad won’t need to replace my hard drive.

Even if they do, I’ll be so happy to have it back that I doubt I will mind spending  a few hours (or days) setting it all back up.  I say that now anyway.

The jury is still out on whether or not I’ll back up my files from here on out.

I tend to live my life on faith….. and crossed fingers.

 
20 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2012 in Blunders

 

Tags: , , ,

20 responses to “Let’s Go Geek Squad, Let’s Go!

  1. agg79

    June 9, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    Ouch. That’s bad. Real bad. Definitely another headache piled on top of your cupcake battles. I had a virus earlier on my PC that slowed things down but I was afraid to get it repaired as it would have pretty much wiped the system and lose all my favorites (like SR300). I was able to restore the system but I lost a few old pictures. I am now saving everything to an external hard drive as a contingency. I hope that they can recover the data, but unfortunately the odds may be stacked against you (May the Odds Be Ever In Your Favor).

    Remember: Back up, Back up, Back up.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 9, 2012 at 10:32 pm

      Oh, to have my cupcake problems back…
      My laptop was all personal stuff, but it took me a LONG time to get things the way I liked it, so the thought of having to start over saddens me. We’ll see how it goes. I may get lucky. Either way, I will need to invest in an external hard drive and figure out how to back up my stuff. Is there a way to save internet sites that I added to my favorites bar? I certainly hope so. I had all my favorite baking sites neatly organized in folders…. it was very impressive.
      Anyway, I’m repeating your mantra in my head…. back up, back up, back up…..

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    June 9, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    Oh no! I am so sorry! This is so worst than no connection. You know what? I am just as bad as you because my laptop keeps telling me to back it up and I still didn’t since I have it (over 1 1/2 year) but I might reconsider it now! I have an external hard drive so I think I could put it on. I am like you(again) and don’t have a clue how to do it, hopefully the laptop will tell me what to do. 🙂 I hope you get it back soon, this must be so suffering! 😦

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 9, 2012 at 10:35 pm

      If you figure it out first, share your knowledge!! 🙂 I’ve really become attached to my laptop, so it’s been a hard week, and I have at least 2 more to go.
      I’m constantly being reminded, however, that there are worse things than having to part with my laptop for a while. So I shouldn’t complain…
      but I do. 😉

       
      • towardshealthylife

        June 9, 2012 at 10:46 pm

        Of course there is worst thing but it’s not having it all the sudden that make you go crazy. It probably takes 3 weeks to get use to be without it loll.

         
      • shadowrun300

        June 9, 2012 at 11:03 pm

        You’re probably right about that. Just when I get used to not having it, it’ll be ready…

         
  3. Sandi

    June 10, 2012 at 12:03 am

    Oh dear, my fingers are crossed for you too, and now of course I’m sitting here thinking about my own lazy backup processes. Funny, because I work in technology in this very area, it doesn’t mean I apply it to my home PC !!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 10, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      Yes… I definitely felt invincible. Now, not so much. 🙂 I’ll let you know how it turns out.

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    June 10, 2012 at 1:50 am

    oh no! I sure hope everything gets fixed quickly and that somehow your files remain intact! I really hope so!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 10, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      Thanks for the good wishes! Hope the geek squad can hear you! 😉

       
  5. Abby

    June 10, 2012 at 1:56 am

    Oh yikes. That reminds me of how terrible I am at backing up. I tend to go on faith too… that and having a kid who is our own little geek squad. I hope they’re able to save all of your stuff. 2 – 3 weeks though? That’s about an entire year in human age!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 10, 2012 at 9:17 pm

      Ugh. 2 or 3 weeks is an ETERNITY. It’s nice that my hubby shares his desktop, but I sure miss sitting on the couch with my laptop – I had it so personalized. 😦 I’m really missing it.

       
  6. Rock Chef

    June 11, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    It amazes me that in the modern world it can take 2-3 weeks to sort out something like this…

    And you must back up! Get a USB harddrive and just dump everything across on a regular basis…

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2012 at 2:04 am

      2-3 weeks is awful. Hubby tells me I need to get a Mac. From what I understand, if you have a problem, they fix it. What a novel idea! I’m learning lessons the hard way, all the way around.

       
  7. meleah rebeccah

    June 11, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    Oh my word. I would be having massive panic attacks over this. I DO back up all my blog posts, and every thing I write, and all of my photographs, onto external hard drives for this very reason.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2012 at 2:02 am

      Well, you probably have a lot more to lose than I do. But I suppose any amount is bad if it can’t be replaced, or if it’s time consuming to do. :/ I’ve learned my lesson.

       
  8. territerri

    June 12, 2012 at 1:59 am

    External hard drive. Get yourself one, girl! 🙂 I bought one a couple of years ago, and it was probably around $80. I back up my photos and any documents that I’d really hate to lose. And it’s easy to use. Just copy or move files from one location to another.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2012 at 2:01 am

      Really? It’s easy? As soon as I get my laptop back, I’ll get one. I’m trusting you…. 🙂

       
  9. Jules

    June 13, 2012 at 1:43 am

    Ugh. Computer problems suck. Hope your computer has a speedy recovery and you don’t lose anything!!! I don’t back up any files on my computer either…You’d think being married to a computer guy that he would recommend that I do that..

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 13, 2012 at 1:46 am

      Yeah… not only should he recommend it, he should do it for you! 🙂
      I’m really starting to feel the effects of not having my own computer. It Sucks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
