RSS

I’d Like to Thank….

12 Jun

Most of you know that I’m an exercise nut.  I love running.  I love toning exercises.

I love a good sweat session.  And I love the energy I get from it.

I also love eating.  So it’s good that I like to exercise!  🙂

This has not always been the case, however.  Well, the eating part, yes, but the exercise, NO.

So you can imagine what effect years of eating and not exercising, then being pregnant with 4 babies within 5 years, then taking them weekly to McDonald’s for playdates, can have on a person.

Not pretty.

And when I turned 30, I’d had enough of being a fat, lazy (well as lazy as a mom of 4 young children can be) unenergetic slob.

So I vowed to lose the weight and become the person I dreamed of being.

Within the year, I had lost 50 pounds.  And have kept it off ever since.

It was a tough road.  Starting out, exercising was incredibly difficult.  But as I grew stronger, I was able to do more.  My energy level increased along the way, and I found myself starting to enjoy the feeling of a good workout.  Running came about when the walks weren’t quite enough.  The pride I felt when I ran “the whole way” was addicting.  4-5 miles a day was soon to be my norm.

My food habits changed as well, of course.  It took a while to stop craving fried food and pizza, chips and cookies, but I eventually did.  Soon I was craving broccoli and chicken.  WHAT??  Who-da-thunk?

Anyway, the reason for this story is because I was lucky enough to link up with a few ladies who are now going through the same journey I did 13 years ago.  As I read through their blogs, I feel their frustrations, I understand their desires to give up, and I can relate to the difficulties of losing weight in the society we live in today.

So I’m encouraging them, and giving advice, and at the very least, I’m empathetic to their feelings. Mostly, I just want to be their cheerleader, because if I can do it…. I KNOW that they can.

Recently, I received the Sunshine Award from not one, but two of them.  I’m touched to know that I’m adding a little sunshine into their lives.  I only wish I’d had such support way back when.

So thank you TowardsHealthyLife and ThinLadyInside for the Sunshine Award, but my biggest reward comes from seeing your excitement when the scale goes down.  You’re an inspiration to me… and I’m rootin’ for you all the way!

Thank You HealthyLife and ThinLady

 
21 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2012 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , , , ,

21 responses to “I’d Like to Thank….

  1. agg79

    June 12, 2012 at 11:19 am

    Kudos to you! You deserve the award for both keeping up with the program (especially when tempted by some seriously good BBQ) and encouraging others! Everybody has different reasons//motivation to exercise and I think yours is at the top of the list. I still consider myself a closet runner at times compared to you and Abby. You guys actually inspire me to go further, sweat more. Following your endeavors motivates me to put down the Twinkie, get off my butt, lace up the shoes and hit the trails. Thank You!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2012 at 12:29 pm

      Thanks Agg! For a closet runner, you’re challenging yourself much more than I am! I look to YOU for motivation. 🙂
      I definitely love me some good BBQ, but it’s not an every day meal. Now ice cream on the other hand…. I haven’t had the heart to give that up. A girl’s gotta have some kind of vice, I suppose. But the rest of my meals are pretty healthy.
      Luckily I can do without Twinkies…..

       
      • agg79

        June 12, 2012 at 3:09 pm

        BTW – speaking of ice cream, if you EVER make it down to the great state of Texas, you gotta try some Blue Bell.

         
      • shadowrun300

        June 12, 2012 at 7:03 pm

        Reason #53: Blue Bell ice cream.
        A few more reasons, and I’ll be convinced. 😉

         
  2. Abby

    June 12, 2012 at 3:20 pm

    Congratulations! Both for your healthy inspiration and for the double win of the Sunshine Award – well deserved!

    It’s not easy to change habits, but seeing others make the changes you did and earn the success to show for it can be great motivators.
    (And right, Agg the “closet” runner doing the half marathons…)

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 12, 2012 at 7:00 pm

      Must be some closet. 😉
      And yes, changing habits is never easy, so it helps to have a “community” behind you, cheering you on.

       
  3. Jules

    June 13, 2012 at 1:51 am

    Way to go!!!!!! I don’t work out consistently like I used to. I think I’m still burnt out from playing sports all the way through college. I hope that feeling goes away…I workout sometimes…maybe twice a week if it’s a good week. I’m hoping that when I get pregnant that it will motivate me to workout and exercise a lot more often. Who knows when that will be though!

    Congrats on the awards!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 13, 2012 at 2:00 am

      Well, I’ll root for your belly to get bigger! 😉
      I thought I would eat healthy when I got pregnant, but then the cravings set in and I wanted burgers and fries from Wally’s. EVERYDAY! And the only time I exercised was in my 9th month when I walked nightly trying to jumpstart labor. So things caught up pretty quickly. I hope you can do better! 🙂

       
  4. Janet

    June 13, 2012 at 6:38 am

    You know it, you are really an inspiration and your comments are always greatly appreciated. I am quite proud that you have managed to keep the pounds off though the years and have become a great source of support around thos weight-losers. 😉 Thanks!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 13, 2012 at 9:58 pm

      It can be a tough fight, as you know. And I’m more than happy to offer support, encouragement and suggestions! And I am especially proud of you! With all that you have going on in your life, it’s incredibly inspiring that you’ve never given up on your weight loss journey, and you continue to push forward. YOU rock! 🙂

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    June 13, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    Just the fact that you were there before us and succeeded is enough to cheer up someone like me but constructive comments and support as well! You rock 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 13, 2012 at 10:06 pm

      Sometimes I wish I could do more… like with my son. He’s gained all his weight back plus more. I offered him all the same encouragement and advice and support, but really… the determination has to come from him. That’s what I see with you, and with all the blog friends I have met through you. Determination. THAT’S what makes me proud and inspires ME. So in my mind, it’s YOU that rocks! 🙂

       
      • towardshealthylife

        June 14, 2012 at 2:05 am

        It must be something really hard for you to see your son falling back into it. He is YOUR son so he has some of your will power inside him and one day when he is ready that part of him will step up and he will remember your advices. This is going to sound crazy but my mom’s advice pops into my head when I need them. I ignored all of them when I was younger, now I find everything so clever and usefull loll

         
  6. territerri

    June 14, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    Agg thinks he’s a closet runner? If he’s a closet runner, you and I are closet bowlers!

    I turned to a healthier lifestyle much the same way you did, but I came from a different direction. I come from a family of long, tall people who have the luxury of eating what they like without having to worry to much about it. Most of my life, I could eat and drink whatever I wanted. But like you, after a few babies it started to catch up with me. Settling into a desk job didn’t help. When I realized I was avoiding cameras and mirrors and that my pants size was increasing every time I shopped for new clothes, my eyes were opened. I modified my diet and started taking brisk, long walks almost daily. That was all the change I needed and the pounds came off. It took me a while to move on to running and fitness classes, but I found I also wanted more in a workout and now I look forward to sweating a few times a week as much as I look forward to things like a bowl of ice cream.

    Congrats to you on your awards, on maintaining a healthy lifestyle and for being such an inspiration to others.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 14, 2012 at 9:07 pm

      I never would have thought I would enjoy working out and running, but now, if I go a few days without either, I find myself craving it and looking forward to the next time I’m able to run. And I think a sit down desk job would kill me. I definitely like to be up and moving.
      I still want to try some of the classes you talk about, but we don’t live close to a gym, so I’m stuck running on country roads, and using hand and leg weights in my bedroom. Maybe someday….

       
  7. Rock Chef

    June 14, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    People complain about the internet – they say it is full of nasty stuff and even worse people.

    OK, there might be a lot of that, but it is also a great source of support and understanding at difficult times. You can connect with great people who will stand in your corner and root for you to succeed – it is am amazing place. I am glad that you can give these people support when they need it and that they recognise you with their awards. It makes the world a better place.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 14, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      I feel lucky to have “met” so many friends through the internet. And of course, I want to help my friends out and give them support. What’s nice, is that you all do that for me as well! 🙂

       
  8. meleah rebeccah

    June 14, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Oh hooray. And congrats to you. Losing 50 pounds and keeping it off = TOTES AMAZEBALLS!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 14, 2012 at 9:15 pm

      I love earning “Totes Amazeballs” compliments from you! Thanks Meleah!

       
  9. The Thin Lady Inside

    June 15, 2012 at 1:15 am

    You are a true inspiration for me (and for many) and such an encourager! I am just happy I’ve gotten to know you more! thanks for being so open and sharing about your struggles and your great success with us who need it so much! 🙂 Hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 15, 2012 at 9:41 pm

      It’s sad for me to see how overweight people are, especially Americans. It’s so easy to gain weight nowadays – fast food on every corner, busy schedules, sedentary lifestyles…. With all that against us, it’s no wonder we’re gaining weight!
      So little ol’ me is trying to stand behind you all and push you up stream, so to speak. What’s nice is that you’re all pushing each other upstream as well. It’s much easier to make it with a group of supporters behind you! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
