RSS

Absence REALLY Does Make the Heart Grow Fonder

16 Jun

I MISS MY COMPUTER!

I’ve been without it for TWO weeks!  And I just received notice from the Geeks that it’s in their hands now.  NOW? I dropped it off at the store a week ago, and they’re just now getting it???

They say I shouldn’t worry.  They’re taking good care of it.

Great.

To me that means, we’ll nurse it slowly til it’s all better, then we’ll carefully ship it back to the store as to not damage it further.

I want them to perform emergency surgery on it and helicopter it right to my house.   The corn field in my backyard would make a perfect landing pad.

Don’t they know I NEED it?

Hubby tells me it’s probably a good thing that it broke….. ’cause I’m obviously addicted to it.  And perhaps a detox will be good for me.

Hmmmph.

I just stomp on over to HIS computer while muttering something like… “let’s see you give up your iPad for this long….”

Honestly, though… his computer works fine for checking email, and even typing up this quick rant, but it’s not mine.

It’s not personal.

It’s not sitting on my lap while I curl up on the couch.

And it’s not available for me whenever my desire hits.

So I say it again –  Let’s Go Geek Squad, Let’s Go!

 

 

 

 
15 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2012 in Blunders, Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Absence REALLY Does Make the Heart Grow Fonder

  1. towardshealthylife

    June 16, 2012 at 2:09 am

    Haha Computer detox! Take it one day at the time just like the “anonymous”. Me, the other addicted person, understand your pain and I am sure it will be ready soon.:-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 16, 2012 at 2:28 am

      One. Day. At. A. Time.
      I’m tryin’.
      It’s sooooooo hard though! 😉

       
  2. Melissa Gastorf

    June 16, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    OOOH, even though I believe computers hate me, I too have an addiction. I don’t know what I would do. The last time I went that long without a computer was I don’t remember. I did a week, last summer on a cruise, but well I was distracted, and I could still use the iPhone in port. I hope you get it back soon, and you can go back to feeding your addiction

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 16, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      Yeah – if I’m distracted or have other things to do, I’m fine. But when I’m sitting on the couch wishing I could search cupcake recipes, or catch up with my blog friends, that’s when I really miss it. I hate having to go into the office to do that sort of stuff. I’ll be okay…. just a little impatient. 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    June 17, 2012 at 1:21 am

    Nothing sucks like going through computer withdrawals. It’s hard not to lust after all of those people with those sleek shiny laptops and tablets just communicating away with the world. You could ask for an iPad for your birthday or anniversary (or I work hard and I raised your kids and I love you kind of reward) but that may be asking a lot. Cross your fingers, light a candle, sacrifice a chicken to Jobu, I’m sure the geek squad will ride to the rescue and have your old laptop back working in fine form.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 17, 2012 at 2:38 am

      Funny you should mention an iPad. He is ADAMANT about me getting one and I don’t want it. I like to see the whole screen at once, and I like to type with ALL my fingers… and I want to rest it on my lap, etc., etc. That being said, I love the Apple products, so a Mac would be okay. I just hate spending that kinda money. But Apples stands behind their products… and wouldn’t spend 3-4 weeks trying to fix an adapter…. sigh.
      I’m off to sacrifice the chicken now…. I haven’t tried that yet.

       
      • agg79

        June 17, 2012 at 4:10 pm

        I am planning to get my bride an iPad for her upcoming birthday. I’m like you – I have a hard time typing coherently on a tablet (or oversized iPhone). One option is that you can order a wireless keyboard for $69 to bang out your words.

        And I’m thinking BBQ chicken…

         
      • shadowrun300

        June 17, 2012 at 9:57 pm

        Yeah – he threw the wireless keyboard idea at me too. It’s still a no for me. He loves his iPad… I love my laptop… (my stubbornness drives him crazy.)
        I decided to sacrifice a pig. We’re smoking it’s butt right now, and will be enjoying it in about an hour. I’ll let you know if it works.

         
  4. territerri

    June 18, 2012 at 1:56 am

    I use my laptop daily and would miss it like CRAZY if I had to go without for a while. I know what you mean… it’s so nice to be able to sit wherever you like and take your computer with you! Hope yours is ixed soon.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 19, 2012 at 3:23 am

      I mean, really… I MISS it. I’m so worried that when it comes back it will have been wiped clean, and all my favorite sites will have vanished. It literally is breaking my heart… and my hubby just keeps messin’ with me…. so thanks for the sympathy!!

       
  5. Rock Chef

    June 18, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    I have a laptop at home, but I don’t really like it. It is not my friend. There is nothing wrong with it, it is perfectly functional. I just don’t love it. I love my guitars. I hope THEY never have to go away to be fixed…

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 19, 2012 at 3:26 am

      You get it! You can become attached to inanimate objects! 🙂 Some of the issue is it took me so long to break it in, and set it up just like I like it. It “fit” me. My hubby’s computer is set up for him, and I’m just the guest. *sigh*

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    June 18, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    Oy. Vey! TWO WEEKS? That’s a LONG time. I hope they fix it ASAP!

     
  7. shadowrun300

    June 19, 2012 at 3:30 am

    Exactly! And I think it may be 2 more weeks before I get it back! I only hope it still remembers me! 🙂

     
  8. Jules

    June 21, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    Ugh! I hope you get it back soon!!! I would hate to not have my laptop available to me 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
