RSS

Say It Isn’t So

23 Jun

I refuse to believe it.

There’s no way it can be true.

I mean look at me.

I whine.  I complain.  I cry.  I pout.

I’m just a kid myself.

So how is it possible, that today ….

I became the mother of not one, but two ADULT children?

Preposterous!

Ludicrous!

But true.  *sigh*

Child number two turned 18 today.

Opening gift from 19 year old brother.

I’m excited for him.

He’s turning into a very mature, responsible, young adult.  Which surprises me considering how immature, temperamental, and over-reactive he was as a child.

Having just graduated High School in May, he jumped right into a summer course at the local college.  He also received a full scholarship after a little prodding from us to “get going!” on it.

He’s got a tough couple of years ahead of him, so I’m anxious to see how he handles it.  But he surprises us daily, so I’m feeling pretty positive that he’ll handle it well.

As much as I would like to deny it, my babies are growing up.

And despite my efforts to try and screw them up, I think they’re turning into pretty good people.

————

I’m proud of you Joe Bloe!  Happy Birthday!

 
21 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2012 in Everyday Living, Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , ,

21 responses to “Say It Isn’t So

  1. Sandi

    June 23, 2012 at 2:39 am

    I like the effort his brother went into with the gift wrap! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 23, 2012 at 3:00 am

      Oh yeah. Triple wrapped in plastic bags. We got a kick out of that ourselves! But as a mom of three boys, I’m just impressed that he put some thought into the gift and actually got him something he knew Joe would like. Warms my heart…. 🙂

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    June 23, 2012 at 4:17 am

    I used to be the one who had to wrap it all for my dad and my 2 brothers because they couldn’t(didn’t want to try) do it loll. He had a scholarship! Sure made his Mom proud! I know they grow fast but it must be a shock…it will be my turn next year when my new born baby goes to kindergarten 😉 No “adult” cupcakes photos to torture us? Happy birthday Joe! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 23, 2012 at 1:05 pm

      My daughter loves to wrap, so she would have happily done it if asked.
      Seeing your “baby” go off to Kindergarten is hard as well! You’re excited for them on one hand, but heartbroken on the other.
      As far as cupcakes, he got the leftovers. 🙂 He was thrilled with the penguin cupcake though! lol

       
  3. Erin

    June 23, 2012 at 4:20 am

    Happy ” birth” day to you momma!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 23, 2012 at 12:55 pm

      Thank you Erin! It goes so fast – just like they say! I really enjoy reading your posts on your boys. They help me to remember the days when mine were little. I wish there was such thing as a blog way back when. 🙂

       
  4. Abby

    June 23, 2012 at 5:53 pm

    Happy belated birthday to Joe Bloe! Full scholarship?? I want one!

    Love the gift wrap, seems a shame to open!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 24, 2012 at 2:08 am

      I’ll tell him you said so. Not sure when Joe Bloe started, but I’ve been calling him that for a long time. Secret way to show affection. 😉
      The scholarship is for is sax playing, so he has to commit to play in the band as well. Going to make for an extremely busy guy, but I think he’s ready for it. Even he is getting tired of playing his games all day long.

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    June 23, 2012 at 9:22 pm

    WOW! Congratulations Proud Mommy! 😉 What a blessing!!! Big Hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 24, 2012 at 2:09 am

      Aww! Thanks! Good to see you again! 🙂

       
  6. meleah rebeccah

    June 24, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    Awww! Happy 18th Birthday!!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 24, 2012 at 8:20 pm

      If I was a better blogger/mother/photographer I would have put together a montage video like you do! 🙂

       
  7. agg79

    June 25, 2012 at 11:42 am

    Happy 18th Birthday! Congrats to you as well. I am sure most of his success is due to that “gentle” encouragement (aka prodding) you guys gave him. I, too, like the gift wrap. Your son must shop at the same place as I.

    BTW – is that the new wood floor I spy?

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 25, 2012 at 8:35 pm

      Good eye! That IS our new wood floor in the background. 🙂 Our great room is finished as well as the dining room, but our bedroom, which you can see in the pic, still needs to be finished. Hubby has pretty well done it all. He still needs to do the baseboards and other finishing touches, but we’re close! I really like it so far.

       
      • agg79

        June 26, 2012 at 2:13 am

        Looks nice. You should post before & after pictures. Did the dog still have her patch of carpet?

         
  8. Rock Chef

    June 25, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    Amazing how it sneaks up on you isn’t it?
    I often think that my kids are more grown up than I am – and look at you! Your kid is enrolling for summer classes and what will you be doing? Cruising on your bike? 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 25, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      Uh….yeah….. it’s my time now! 🙂
      Well, sorta… I got two more kids to put through college. So I guess I gotta keep working. *pout*

       
  9. Jules

    June 26, 2012 at 1:06 am

    Aww Happy Birthday Joe Bloe!!!! I hope it was a great one for him 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 26, 2012 at 2:16 am

      He had fun! His friends came over and they ordered pizza and stayed up all night playing games and drinking Ski. What more could you ask for? 🙂

       
  10. territerri

    June 27, 2012 at 2:37 am

    You are WAY too young to have adult kids. Did you start having them when you were 12?

    He is a child to be proud of and that is YOUR doing! Congratulations!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 27, 2012 at 3:07 am

      Uh, yeah… that would make me, what, 32 now? Yep! I was 12.
      😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
