RSS

Lessons Learned (Part 1)

26 Jun

I’ve learned a few things these past few weeks.

Some good.  Some fun.  Some not.

I haven’t decided if I’m going to share all my lessons learned, as I’m still trying to wrap my head around some of them, but THESE lessons have been too awesome not to share!

First, I learned hardwood floors don’t make for very good exercise platforms. And with no carpet left upstairs, I needed a solution.

So I went shopping and found this:

Exercise Mat

While I was shopping, I came across this:

Foam Roller

This purchase leads me to lesson number TWO:

I CAN run at my age and not feel pain.

Honestly!  I used to dream of having someone massage the back of my legs after a run because they get so tight and tend to stiffen up and hurt.  It would take me a couple of days to recover before I could run again.  I thought it was my age, or not stretching properly….

But now, when I get home, I stretch and then use this beauty to “massage” my hamstrings and I am in heaven! If I want to get up and run again the next morning, I can!

I don’t know that this is the sole reason for my legs feeling so much better, but it’s definitely given me some relief, and has allowed me to lay off the begging of my hubby to “pretty please rub my legs…!”

Lesson Number Three:  There are different kinds of running shoes for different terrains.

Okay.  I guess deep down I always knew this. Maybe what I didn’t know is that I should consider my running routes as “off road” or “trail” running.

You see, I live out in the country.  I’m surrounded by cornfields, cow pastures and working farms. Our roads out here are used by tractors, semis, four-wheelers, motorcycles *ahem*, horses…  And they are rarely resurfaced or worked on.

Years of this kind of traffic has led to a very uneven road surface.  This surface isn’t a great match for my latest pair of comfy New Balance running shoes.

So when flipping through my Fitness magazine, I came across a description of this Asics Trail Running shoe.

Asics Trail Running Shoes

The article said “potholes and uneven road surfaces were no match for these shoes”.

Wait!  What?  That’s what I run on!

I’ve used Asics before and have liked them, but I’d never considered a trail shoe before. The following week I had myself a pair of Asics Gel Enduro 7 running shoes. So far I’ve had two runs with them, and I couldn’t be more satisfied. They make me feel as if I’m running on a track, not my old beat up road.

These lessons learned have added joy to my life – my “wanting to be fit and healthy” life anyway.  Perhaps in the upcoming day I’ll share some of my hard lessons learned…..

unless I choose to push them to the back of my mind….

allowing me to remain carefree and naive and…..

…..Happy.  🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Lessons Learned (Part 1)

  1. Rock Chef

    June 26, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    I live near the sea, and some of the local runners have a real killer that they like to do.

    They run on the shingle beach. I have done it (not by choice) over short distances and it is a real killer.

    Let us know how your super trainers work out!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 26, 2012 at 5:08 pm

      Ok. I need to know why you HAD to run on the shingle beach. 🙂 Beaches in general can be tough to run on, but I’m not familiar with shingle beaches. I’m guessin’ they’re pretty rough?

       
      • Rock Chef

        June 27, 2012 at 10:06 am

        I just added a bit to my blog to expand on this.

         
  2. Abby

    June 26, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    Foam roller? I’ve seen these things and similar at the running store (that I only go to because of the running son who “insists” on the good stuff). I’ve had trail shoes before – they’re good in snow too! Glad you’re learning new lessons, and I hope you share the hard ones so maybe I can avoid them??

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 26, 2012 at 5:20 pm

      I’ve seen the rollers for a while now too, and finally decided to give it a shot. I left it in the plastic packaging for a long time, so that I could return it if it didn’t work, but I’m amazed. If you have problems with sore muscles, I totally recommend it. 🙂
      I’ll probably share my hard lessons… mainly because I need to vent about them. But right now I’m still feeling a little taken.

       
  3. meleah rebeccah

    June 26, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    Oh —- Asics Trail Running shoes are my FAVORITE sneakers! They are the ONLY ones I can use and don’t get shin splints!

    Also, congrats on finding that foam leg roller thingy. It’s nice to know it makes your legs and hamstrings feel better after a run!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 27, 2012 at 3:39 am

      I’m lovin’ my foam leg roller thingy. 😉 Funny how such a simple thing can work such wonders.
      I’m becoming a bigger fan of Asics as well. They just might become my “go to” shoe.

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    June 27, 2012 at 12:27 am

    Nice post! I didn’t know you could pick the shoes that goes with the terrain, it’s a little like tires then. I am glad you could find some pain relief and it doesn’t seem to take much place which is always a plus.:-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 27, 2012 at 3:42 am

      I never thought of them like tires, but you’re exactly right! 🙂 My new gadgets have allowed me to enjoy running even more!

       
  5. Jules

    June 27, 2012 at 1:05 am

    I LOVE Asics shoes. Ever since the first pair I got I’ve been hooked. No Nikes for me – it’s all Asics. I love the support they provide and that they are lightweight. Good choice!! Glad you’ve found some things to make your running life easier 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 27, 2012 at 3:42 am

      Hmm…. I shoulda consulted with you many years ago. 🙂

       
  6. territerri

    June 27, 2012 at 2:25 am

    Congrats on all your new treasures that will make your fitness life so much less complicated! I like the shoes, although I’d like to see how they tackle a pothole! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 27, 2012 at 3:43 am

      I laughed at the pothole description as well. I suppose they haven’t seen the potholes we have around here…..They WERE right about the uneven roads, however!

       
  7. agg79

    June 27, 2012 at 11:13 am

    I love my Asics. Stared out with GEL123s and wore them until the tread fell off. My current shoes are GEL Cumulus. I haven’t tried the trail shoes but I will take a look at them since half of my daily runs are on grass and trails. I’m interested in how you use the foam roller. Looks like a supersized version of a pool noodle. My son got one for his back but I am not sure how you use it to stretch out out your hamstrings.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 27, 2012 at 1:12 pm

      The foam roller is actually much sturdier than a pool noodle. There’s no give at all, at least not when I sit on it. 😉 I just “sit” on it with one leg and roll back and forth. I shift sideways to reach different muscles. Good workout for the arms as well! Because it’s so sturdy, it reaches the deeper muscles, which is what tends to hurt me. Does your son stretch his back the same way? By rolling?
      Asics totally rock! I don’t think I’ll ever switch to a different brand. Why didn’t I know this before?!?

       
      • agg79

        June 27, 2012 at 6:55 pm

        Every time he comes home he is sporting that roll – uses it for his back. It is a solid piece – I think if you hit someone with it you could do some serious damage.

        My feet definitely love my Asics. Not bad considering that I used to run in Reeboks CL100s. Those were nothing more than a slab of rubber with laces. Surprised that I didn’t hurt my feet/knees.

         
  8. The Thin Lady Inside

    June 28, 2012 at 2:39 am

    Awesome lessons! So happy you are enjoying your running shoes and your painless legs 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 28, 2012 at 5:36 am

      For a while I was thinking that I would need to give up running, so I’m excited I’ve figured out a few things to help me be able to continue going. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
