RSS

Let’s Talk Cake

29 Jun

I just spent 30 minutes typing a “pity party” post and then trashed it.

I’m just not in the mood to whine about work, or how hard last night was, or how unhappy my couch time was when I finally arrived home.

It’s much more fun to talk cupcakes.

I had some leftover icing from my Nutter Butter Giraffe Cupcakes and my Oreo Penguin Cupcakes, so I decided to bake again.

This time I chose a chocolate cake base for both icings.  I borrowed the cake recipe from my friend at The Coffee Shop.  I think chocolate cakes are probably the most difficult to bake as they can be very dry, but this recipe proved to be a hit!

Tagalong Cupcakes

A Little Different Version of the Tagalong Cupcake

For the Tagalong Cupcakes, I filled the cake with a chocolate peanut butter ganache, then spread some of the ganache on top and iced it with my leftover peanut butter icing.

Oreo Cookie Cupcake

The Oreo Cupcakes are just the chocolate cake with my leftover Oreo Cream Cheese Icing on top.  I thought about “spicing” the cake up, but sometimes simple is all you need.

After the night I had last night, it was so nice to put on Pandora, grab my mixer and bake.  With only one day off before another round of work, I wanted at least part of it to be enjoyable.

I did manage to clean one bathroom, vacuum the floor and do a load…. *crap – I gotta go put the wash in the dryer…..

For those of you who are about ready to start a “real” weekend, hope it’s a great one!  I’m going to be doing my best to ensure my guests have a great weekend with us, and I’ll relax when they go back to work.  🙂

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2012 in Baking

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Let’s Talk Cake

  1. agg79

    June 29, 2012 at 2:51 am

    You know I love it when you start talking food. You had me at Tagalong Cupcakes but that Oreo Cookie one has me wanting to head north.

    Sorry your week was sucky. That can really put you off when everyone doesn’t play nice. I’ve had more than a few of those days as well. I usually take it out on the range or take an extra long run or hit the scotch, but I like your alternative. Cranking up the tunes and baking helps unload from the day. Way more constructive and tasty. I hope the weekend is kinder to you.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 30, 2012 at 1:43 am

      Thank you, Agg… the weekend is off to a better start for sure, despite having to work.
      I keep trying to lure you to St. Louis… what flavors is it going to take??
      I know this nice “little” hotel you can stay at…..
      🙂

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    June 29, 2012 at 3:39 am

    They look so yummy! So hard to work in hospitality, especially when you don’t even get 2 days off in a row. 1 day is not enough to forget about work but baking seems to help 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 30, 2012 at 1:36 am

      Yes, the hospitality business can be mentally exhausting sometimes. I tend to feel bad when I get home because I usually don’t feel like talking or smiling anymore. Poor hubby. 🙂 So baking, reading, blogging… all of it usually helps put me in a better mood.
      Best of all… I have three days off in a row starting on Sunday!!!!

       
      • towardshealthylife

        June 30, 2012 at 7:13 pm

        Glad you have this deserved long “weekend”! Enjoy every bit of it 🙂

         
  3. Abby

    June 29, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    Mmmm… more cupcakes! I’m wondering why the name “tagalong” cupcakes? When I first saw it, I thought it said “tagalog” cupcakes – tagalog being the language of the Phillipines – and I thought, hmmm, Filipinos aren’t really known for cupcakes… They look yummy and I’m glad you got in some you-time to make them.

    Cooking/baking is certainly a creative process – especially the way you do it with experimenting with different ingredient combos and baking vessels. Couple that with some mindless housecleaning and hopefully the “unhappy’s” are long gone.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 30, 2012 at 1:32 am

      Tagalong is a Girl Scout cookie that has peanut butter on the inside, chocolate on the out. That’s the flavor I was trying to mimic. I don’t think they came from the Phillipines. 🙂
      My favorite part of the baking is coming up with creative ideas. I rarely make the same cupcake twice. I try something new, use my family and co-workers as guinea pigs, and then move on to the next thing.
      My “unhappy’s” are long gone… thank you! I hope yours will be gone soon as well! 🙂

       
  4. Jules

    June 30, 2012 at 1:25 am

    you are amazing! demanding job, have a hubby and kids to take care of, drive an hour to and from work, AND you have time to make phenomenal cupcakes. Amazing!

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 30, 2012 at 1:28 am

      Job’s demanding… hubby and kids are not. 🙂 In fact, they love it when I bake and could care less if our house is trashed. It’s a great combination!

       

Leave a Reply

 
