RSS

Blog Purge

30 Jun

I wondered if I would ever be able to eat smoked pork again without cringing.

Turns out, I can. 😉

Hubby’s been away on business for the past week, so to welcome him home, I defrosted some of his smoked pork, perfected my cornbread pancakes, made my favorite amish slaw, and we chowed down.

I had another busy day at work, but aside from being a little short-handed, and having to work 1/2 hour past my shift, things went pretty smoothly.  Nothing like the stress from a few nights ago.  My leftover cupcakes from yesterday went to the housekeepers today.  Usually the front desk team eats them all, so this time I didn’t even bring them up front, much to the housekeepers’ happiness!  They’ve been begging me for weeks to bring them some.  Our head housekeeper, the one I baked the animal cakes for,  had the nerve to ask me today if I do wedding cakes.

NO!

This is fun for me, and I want it to stay fun. 🙂

Anyway – the last couple of weeks I’ve started many posts that have never made it to “publish”, so today’s the day I bring them out of the closet, or off the dashboard so to speak.

 

I don’t know if you all are aware, but we have a cat as well as the dog. He welcomes me home the same way everyday and today was no different.

Tiger Purring Sweetly

As soon as I get home he races me to the bathroom, jumps on the vanity and purrs and talks until I either pet him or feed him.  If I ignore him, he’ll bat at me with both paws until he gets what he wants.

Begging for Attention

Most times it’s annoying as I’m trying to do things, but I can’t help but laugh at his personality.  He’s definitely Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde – all “pretty please and you’re the best…” one minute, and then “don’t touch me, don’t even look at me…” the next.

The weather here, like most places, is HOT and DRY.  I hate to complain too much in light of the fires and hurricanes going on in other parts of the country, but the corn fields are withering, and the grass is dry and stagnant.  Somethings seem to be thriving, however.

This ‘tree’ is from the root of the bigger tree near our deck. It’s so hard to keep them from growing up through the deck. Any ideas?

The news is recommending that people not use fireworks this week.  Smart decision, I think.  I’ve never been a fan of shooting them off at home anyway.

Our floor is coming along very nicely.  Hubby started the last room (our bedroom) today. I’m really loving it.  I  in no way miss the carpeting we had throughout the house, although the golden color of the carpet hid our golden retriever’s hair much better.

Chancie admiring our new floor… notice the tongue hanging out?

 

The final steps, leading from the great room into our bedroom. The end is near!

Her hair is no match for me, however.  I love to vacuum – especially with just the hose and brush attachment.  The humming of the vacuum and the physical work allow me to be in my own little world for a while.  Similar to running, I suppose.    I don’t mind doing it everyday.  And with this heat and Chancie’s long hair, it is definitely an everyday job.  I’d love to just take the vacuum to her, but every time I get close to where she’s laying, she gets up, shakes, and moves to the next spot.  She’s grown used to the hard floor, but we keep an old quilt out for her to lay on.

And that concludes the hodge podge of information I’ve been wanting to share with you all for a while.

Hope your weekends are grand!  I’ve got one more day of work and then THREE days of rest and relaxation, motorcycling and baking, (does anyone else use those verbs in the same sentence??), running and maybe – some housework.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2012 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Blog Purge

  1. agg79

    June 30, 2012 at 3:08 am

    I think we’re in the same mental bucket – not sure if I can think about smoked pork again without cringing. Sorry Abby. It sounds like your week has gotten better. Or perhaps less stressful?

    I think I recall something about a cat in your bio but I don’t recall any pictures or stories. Sounds like a nice cat (if there is such a thing), but with a typical cat like attitude. I may be biased, but my preferences still lean towards that hairy furball, Chancie. She looks to be a regular shedding machine (as are mine).

    And the floors look absolutely fantastic. I was wondering how they turned out. I am curious to know which brand of flooring you used – we are looking to do our living room/dining room this year.

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 30, 2012 at 9:20 pm

      I feel a little better…. Friday and Saturday were extremely busy at work and I’m completely wiped out from that, but I’m off the next three days! Things are looking up!
      I don’t mind cats – I think their personalities are quite funny, but I can’t say I’m a cat OR a dog person. I like having them around, but I’m not overly attached to either of them. However, I love the relationship they have with my hubby. He’s a huge animal person in general.
      We got Bruce hardwood flooring from Lowe’s. It’s easy to put in ourselves, and the price fit our needs. As far as the quality, I guess that remains to be seen. We’re pretty lucky that Chancie’s slowing down as she ages, so it’s not likely she’ll be running through the house much anymore. My daughter worries me a little, though. She’s a mess, if you remember… 🙂 But so far, so good! Our kitchen floor is next – we’re thinking some kind of faux tile.. not ceramic, not linoleum… I don’t know what it’s called exactly, but it’s supposed to look like ceramic, and I think it’s even laid like ceramic tile, but it’s NOT ceramic and it’s more durable than linoleum. I’ll get back to you on that – unless you have other suggestions?? 🙂

       
  2. Abby

    June 30, 2012 at 3:11 am

    What a cute cat! I don’t know why it’s often assumed that people are either “dog people” or “cat people”. Why not both?? And good for you for saying no to the wedding cake. Don’t ruin your fun! Obviously your cupcakes and other treats are so good, people want you to expand.

    I’m glad to hear you can still enjoy you some smoked pork with gusto! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 30, 2012 at 8:37 pm

      Our cat was the runt of a different stray cat that was hanging around the house. The strays were multiplying quickly so we brought them to various farms, but kept Tiger. We’ve turned him into a spoiled house cat who begs ME for food and head rubs, but cuddles on HUBBY’s lap. Used and abused, I am. 🙂

      My smoked pork dinner was yummy, thank you. I’m looking forward to having some Kansas BBQ and have even found a few places in Colorado I want to try. Thanks for your support once again. 🙂

       
  3. towardshealthylife

    June 30, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I love this post with little bits and pieces of your life! The cat is cute indeed with his paws in the air like that 🙂 I agree with Abby, wedding cake would be more stress and less fun than cupcakes.
    The wood floor looks beautiful, make sure you keep Chancie’s claws short or you will have scratches. She looks like she is undecided to where she is going to lay down 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      June 30, 2012 at 8:41 pm

      Sometimes when I’m getting ready for work, he literally is all over me and in my face for attention. It IS cute, unless I’m in a rush.
      Right now, Chancie is so hot she rarely moves, so I’m not too worried about scratches yet. But vacuuming the floor with the attachment hose is similar to washing your car by hand. You tend to notice EVERY little imperfection… including a few scratches already. I really like it though! It just feels so much cleaner than our icky carpet.

       
  4. Rock Chef

    July 2, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Daily floor cleaning is a must when you have dogs – my 2 shed a good clump of fur every day – leave it for 2 days and things get really unpleasant…

    Good move to refuse to make a wedding cake. If something is a good hobby it is best to keep it that way…

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 3, 2012 at 2:03 am

      I’m happy that I like to vacuum. There’s something very satisfying about sucking up clumps of hair. 🙂
      I was proud of myself for ‘just saying No’ to her. I’m pretty much a people pleaser, so sometimes it’s hard to say no.

       
  5. Jules

    July 10, 2012 at 12:38 am

    You like to vacuum?! I don’t mind it, but wouldn’t want to do it every day. I may have a cupcake project for you…I’ll send you an email soon 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 10, 2012 at 1:24 am

      I DO love to vacuum. In fact, just finished the floors a few minutes ago!
      I can’t wait to hear about the cupcake project….. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
