RSS

In the Beginning….

08 Jul

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I’ve learned a few lessons recently… some good, some fun, and some not so good….

I think I’m ready to share the not so good, but I need to fill you in on a few things first….

The beginning of this story goes way back to when I was working at my previous hotel chain. Having never been in the business before I needed to be trained in every aspect, and quickly too, because they were very understaffed at the time.

My supervisors did an awesome job of training me. I often came home and told my hubby how impressed I was that Jules seemed so unselfish and really wanted me to learn and become a great desk agent. Her excitement about showing me something new, was contagious. I watched, listened to, and mimicked everything she did.

It wasn’t long before I had enough confidence to strut my stuff around the hotel. I took charge when needed, I backed down when necessary, and I gave suggestions and opinions to help improve our guests’ satisfaction.

When a supervisor position opened up, I immediately posted for the position. I KNEW I was the person for the job. The only other contender spent her shift on facebook, or on the phone, or in the breakroom. She didn’t follow the hotel policies, she bad-mouthed all management. She would walk in the door saying “I gots to go home”. She very obviously did not like her job, did not want to be there, and did not care. She loved working with me because I was willing to *ahem* work.

But she got the promotion.

The GM’s response to my questioning why she got it over me – “Well, she’s been here longer, and she was the relief supervisor, so supervisor would be the next step for her.”

Okay.

But did she deserve it? Would she give it her all?

Was she going to be a great role model for our new employees? Did we really trust her to handle guest issues?

No. No. No. and No.

This decision led me to have no confidence with the management, and honestly, I felt like a chump.

I was not interested in  continuing to do her job, while she got the title and pay. Jules did her best to nominate me for awards, and to find titles for me that might offer a promotion, and although I appreciated it immensely, I felt like the GM should have been fighting for me as well.  Along with that, the hotel wasn’t paying its bills on time, and employees hadn’t gotten a raise for at least a year before I got there.  Morale was very low, and I felt like Jules and I were swimming upstream trying to keep the hotel afloat.  The GM didn’t appear to be concerned with any of it, and I was worried about the future of the place.  I decided I needed to get out before it met its demise.

So I secretly went on the hunt…..

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2012 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “In the Beginning….

  1. agg79

    July 8, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Unfortunately, that happens in a lot of places. Those that work hardest, keep their nose to the grindstone, are the most dedicated/loyal, are NOT the ones to get promoted or recognized. Some call it politics, some call it favoritism, it is stupid nonetheless. It only serves to promote inefficiency, encourage bad behaviors, shows poor management, and drives down morale. I’d like to say that people learn from these kinds of stupid decisions but sadly they seem to just keep repeating it. Detect a slightly bitter tone? That’s cause I have been down the exact same path as you – both in the Army and in my previous jobs. I think you definitely made the right decision for yourself. It is hard to leave a job you like but you are smart to have read the writing on the wall and changed teams before its too late.

    I am interested to hear how it turned out for you and what lessons you took away from it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 8, 2012 at 9:24 pm

      It’s a shame that employers don’t have the guts to get rid of the “weeds” (as I used to call her), because weeds spread and pretty soon you have a hotel or workplace full of them. I’m sorry that you’ve experienced the same thing.
      I don’t regret leaving a place that was managed the way it was, but I’m sad that I HAD to leave.
      Now did I make the right decision??? More on that later…..

       
  2. Abby

    July 8, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    Yeah. It happens, sadly.

    But, it looks like it was a good part of your “training”. It’s all progress, right? You were better than that place and went on the hunt. Many would have stuck around and just whined inwardly.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 8, 2012 at 9:36 pm

      I honestly couldn’t stick around. It bothered me way too much. It wasn’t necessarily because I didn’t get the promotion, it was because SHE did! I barely scratched the surface with all of her antics.
      Anyway, I’m obviously pretty bitter (perfect word, Agg!). I’ll write more about the decision to move to the hotel I’m at now. I’ve posted before how much I love this hotel, but I’m learning some things now that I’ve been there a while….
      **sigh***

       
  3. Melissa Gastorf

    July 8, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    Sadly that happens probably more often than not. probably part of the reason I went out on my own.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 8, 2012 at 9:38 pm

      Hmmm… start my own hotel…. **thinking… thinking**
      No.
      Then again, if you want things done right, sometimes you just gotta do them yourself. 🙂

       
  4. Jules

    July 13, 2012 at 1:22 am

    Ugh I remember that. You should have gotten that promotion. I think he realizes it now.. nothing has changed with that person. Oh how things could have been different. What’s even worse is that recently there have been plenty of opportunities to ‘make things right’ and no steps taken… There still hasn’t been anyone else come through who measures up to you. I have an awesome new desk agent now who is amazing and makes my life a lot easier, but he’s still not quite YOU. I miss you!

     
  5. territerri

    July 13, 2012 at 2:27 am

    Employers have to be so politically correct these days that it literally allows employees to succeed without actually doing their work. I’ve seen it too often.

     

Leave a Reply

 
