RSS

This Week in Review

09 Jul

Holy Moly what a week.

St. Louis celebrated the 4th all week long.  This meant blocked off roads, aggravated guests trying to figure out how to get to the hotel or where to park….

everyone wanting Arch view rooms to view the fireworks from (umm… we’re a square building… 3 of the 4 sides do not view the Arch… some of you will not get a view.  Sorry.)

Temperatures above 100 degrees all week making A/C units work overtime…

Some of them were not up to the challenge….

and when the hotel is 100% capacity, a room with a broken A/C can be a desk agent’s worst nightmare.  (Oh, the guests weren’t too pleased either – until they got their bill.  $0.  100% Satisfaction after all)

On top of that the Cardinals were in town all week.

Usually what this means is we have a huge turnover everyday.  Lots going out.  Lots coming in.  And the ones coming in are doing so before the ones going out leave. Most of our guests are understanding if the room isn’t ready yet.  They really just want to get a parking space.

But for the agents, this double dose is very hectic.  Basically we are seeing the same arrivals twice in one day. Once to get their parking pass and store their luggage (which the agents usually do), then again later to check in to their rooms and retrieve their luggage.  And in between we’re checking out just as many departures.

Whew.

Five days straight of this can wear a girl out.

It’s fun for the most part, though.  The guests are usually in a good mood, and it’s nice to hear everyday what a wonderful hotel we have.  It means we’re doing our jobs well.

(I won’t mention the a-hole who called corporate on me because I made him park in the garage across the street… where everyone else was parking because our other garage was full…… Proof that you can’t please everyone no matter how hard you try.)  (These things keep me up at night, btw….)

Anyway….

We Hubby got the floors done this week.  I promise to post pics soon and give you our thoughts.  He has repainted the baseboards and is slowly getting those back up, so the place is looking pretty good. He’ll take a break for a while, and then we’ll start the kitchen.

Our daughter’s play was this weekend.  For the past 8 years she has participated in our county’s theatre productions.  It’s a huge commitment, but she absolutely LOVES it!  In fact, she’s given up most sports to be able to spend more time ‘on stage’.  This year’s show was Alladin.  She was a Harem Girl.  😉

Our daughter is in hot pink on the right.

This was her biggest role so far.  They usually give the main roles to the older kids because after 16 years of age they can no longer be in the play.  She is just 13 now, and is really looking forward to being the star.  BTW, the genie in the play was absolutely amazing!  She nailed the character and was so fun to watch.  This was probably one of my most favorite shows they have put on!

The biggest news of the week?

We got rain!

I had to drive home in it…. at 30mph…. without any visibility…

but I was singing all the way!  It’s been way too long!

Rain falling down on our deck table.

My 15 year old son captured this picture on my hubby’s new camera.  I’m thrilled that he’s taken an interest in photography.  He’s always been into art, music, and nature, and photography fits right in with it all.

So a busy week for me. I have one day off tomorrow, then back at it for a couple of days.  We’ll slow down now, what with the All Star Game NOT being in St. Louis.  🙂

**big sigh of relief***

 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2012 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “This Week in Review

  1. agg79

    July 9, 2012 at 2:37 am

    I can imagine that was one heck of a week. All that 4th of July chaos along with those 100 degree temps would test everyone’s patience. I would imagine a hotel full of cranky guests would really test the system. Bravo for taking care of the ones without A/C and kudos for making it through the week with your sanity in tact. Talked with my folks and they have moved on to Illinois and they said the temperatures have dropped dramatically and they actually could enjoy an evening out for the first time (happy hour). Hope the heat wave has broken for you guys.

    Would love to see pictures of your new floor. Can we get to see “before & after” pictures?
    And your daughter looks cute in the play. I bet she gets the lead role next year.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 9, 2012 at 12:39 pm

      Who says I’m still sane? 😉
      When the rain came through, the temps dropped – we should have a high of only 92 today. Are your parents going through southern Illinois? Tell ’em to stay away from Grumpy’s!! (I actually live in Illinois… do you know what towns they’re going thru?)
      I’ll be posting pics of the new floor very soon. I love not having carpet.
      And I really hope my daughter gets a bigger role next year. She’s put in her time and deserves it.

       
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    July 9, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    I don’t know where to start but that picture your son took is REALLY BEAUTIFUL! WOW! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! 🙂 I am so happy for your daughter and the play going so well! Sorry you are having so much work at the hotel… yes… the weather’s been crazy hot… at least we are getting some rain here in Tx but unfortunately that’s not the case for many other places… Take care friend 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 9, 2012 at 6:45 pm

      I thought his picture was good too! He’s taken some others that I plan to use in future posts. I should make him take the pics of my baking. He’d do a much better job than I. Good to hear from you again! 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    July 9, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Your tales from the hotel always remind me of my hotelling days! I worked at one hotel in Denver that housed THE country-western bar to be for the locals. Parking was always an issue with the guests. I miss those disgruntled souls NOT. Glad you survived! Sounds crazy!

    Your daughter looks right at home up there on stage. Can I say I sort of knew her when? And that’s really a great shot of the rain. Your son has a very mature eye for photography!

     
  4. shadowrun300

    July 10, 2012 at 12:36 am

    It always amazes me that people bring u-hauls and huge trucks and then complain when there is no where for them to park securely. Umm…. you’re in a CITY! And right DOWNTOWN no less!
    I’m sure you have stories of your own, what with having a country-western bar in house.
    Of course you can brag about knowing my daughter ‘when’. In fact, she may give you her autograph. 😉
    The same son who took the picture also does the sketching that I mentioned to you a while back. He’s very talented. His guitar playing is fantastic as well. I like to say he got his talent from me – I just went ahead and let him have it all.

     
  5. Janet

    July 10, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Well, I guess where ever you are, there are always a few a-holes around. It’s good that you know how to deal with them.
    And the play must have been so much fun to watch, when your daughter was in it. I hope you have a nice Tuesday. 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 10, 2012 at 11:06 pm

      Yes, you’ve run into a few of them yourself! 😉
      My Tuesday was bearable, my Wednesday should be even better! Stay tuned!

       
  6. Rock Chef

    July 10, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Plays like that can be so good or so bad! This one looks like a great production!

    Probably the best one I saw was when my older son was in Peter Pan. They all really got into character and played their hearts out, it was great.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 10, 2012 at 11:06 pm

      I think that’s what made this one so good! The kids got into character and it was so fun to watch them! My daughter strutted her stuff so much more this time because she FELT like she was a bigger part of the play.
      They have not done Peter Pan in the 8 years she’s been a part of this. That would probably be a great show for them!
      And yes… sometimes they can be torturous to sit through….

       
  7. stupidtom

    July 11, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    That picture kicks ass! I’m glad he has taken an interest as well.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 12, 2012 at 2:08 pm

      The camera has definitely been a hit with those two! It’s come to a good family! 🙂

       
  8. Jules

    July 13, 2012 at 1:27 am

    Ooh that is an awesome picture of the rain drop! Your daughter looks like she is having fun!! Let her know I’ll need her autograph for when she becomes famous 🙂

     
  9. territerri

    July 13, 2012 at 2:24 am

    What a tiring week you had! You’ve earned a big break – even though I know you won’t get one.

    The rain picture is AMAZING!

     

Leave a Reply

 
