RSS

Forced Fun

15 Jul

I never go out anymore.

Having to be happy, outgoing, friendly and bubbly 40 hours a week, with barely a break,  can wear a person out.

Add to that another 12 hours a week on the road, fighting construction and traffic, and you can begin to see why, if I’m not working, I want to be home, on the couch, not talking, not smiling, not energetic.

But this week I went out.

Twice!

Wednesday night the Dave Matthews Band was playing at an outdoor theater in St. Louis.  My hubby loves Dave Matthews and has been covering a few of his songs at some recent gigs.   So when he heard he was in town, we immediately bought tickets.  I was scheduled to work at 6am the day after the concert, but since I managed to switch with a co-worker, I decided to go with him.

After a trip to Bandana’s for some good BBQ, we headed over to the arena. We’d gotten lawn seat tickets, so we grabbed our rental chairs and found a great spot.  I’d heard stories about how fun Dave’s fans can be, but it seemed like people were well behaved.  Then again, the sun was still up at that time.

Brandi Carlile opened for Dave.  We loved her!  She shows up occasionally on our favorite Pandora station, so we’ve heard her before, and thought she put on a great show.

The sun was setting when Dave came out.  Coincidentally, that’s when the doobies came out.  The haze that settled over the crowd was pretty impressive. I’m pretty sure I got high. I mean, I was able to stand through the concert, after standing all day at work.  I even smiled occasionally, and talked a little with the people we were with. I must have been on something.

The concert ended about 11:30pm.  I’d been up since 4am, so I was beginning to wither.  We headed to the car and sat in the exit line for well over an hour.  When we finally got moving, everyone anxiously stepped on the gas, then lurched to a stop.  Too late however.  The car behind me managed to stop, but the 5 cars behind him plowed in to each other. Bam, Bam, Bam, Bam, Bam….  I think those sounds will be ingrained in my mind for a while. I doubt anyone was hurt, and I was so thankful I wasn’t involved.  As fun as the concert was, I was ready to be home.

I finally crawled into bed at 2am, 22 hours after waking that day.  I think I was asleep before I hit the pillow.  It was incredibly fun, but I was beat.

I awoke at 7:30am on Thursday, and hit the road running.  Literally.  I went for a run and actually made it the full 4 miles.  Surprised myself even.

Then….. my daughter has been asking me to take her to Alladin at The Muny in Forest Park.  She just finished the County production of the play and wanted to see the ‘professionals’ do it.

So when she woke, I asked her if she would like to go.  We left the house at 4pm to make the 8pm show.  We didn’t have tickets so getting there early was key to getting the free seats.  We brought sandwiches and snacks and picnicked with the ants while waiting in line.

I had to beg and plead to get her to take a pic with me.

.

The show was awesome, and the line getting out of that performance wasn’t nearly as bad, but it was still 1:30am before I crawled into bed.

…. completely worn out once again.

I decided it best to pass on a morning run in favor of sleep, especially since I had to work til 9pm Friday night.

I’m happy that I forced myself to go out and have a good time.  I’m sad that my job is seemingly sucking the fun out of my non-work life.

It’s now Saturday night.  I arrived home from work at 9pm, and I’ve settled comfortably on the couch.  Hubby had 2 gigs this weekend and is now out enjoying a different band with a friend of his.  I’m happy that I’m not dragging him down.

I have yet to tell you all the sequel about how my current hotel job came about and the lessons I’ve learned from it.  I’m stalling because I’m afraid to dwell on things that really can’t be changed at this point.  I’ll be sharing soon though.  I’m in need of some writing therapy.

Til then, I’ll keep focusing on the good times…..

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2012 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “Forced Fun

  1. agg79

    July 15, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    I would agree that you’ve got things wrapped too tightly and needed to unwind a bit. It is good that you able to let your hair down and make time for both concerts. Life’s too short to spend it working all the time. Sounds like the Dave Mathews concert was a blast, despite the post concert chaos. Glad you guys weren’t involved. All the details of being in a wreck stick with you for a long while.

    And take your time with the sequel. Revisiting the past can be hard, especially when you know you cannot undo what has been done. I tend to look at those times as another step on that trail that has gotten you further down the road.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 15, 2012 at 6:10 pm

      You’re right. I can’t undo it. But I can learn from it and move on. At what age do we quit learning hard lessons? Surely I should know everything by now. 🙂

       
      • agg79

        July 15, 2012 at 9:03 pm

        At what age? I’ll let you know when I get there.

         
  2. Abby

    July 15, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    I’m impressed! I also don’t go out much anymore (you reminded me). It’s been years since my last free high at a concert, and I miss that!

    I’m so glad you weren’t involved in the traffic chain reaction. Probably someone texting? GRrrrrrr!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 15, 2012 at 6:15 pm

      My guess is, everyone in the traffic chain was so anxious to have their foot on the gas, instead of the brakes, that as soon as it looked like we were going to finally move, we, well, moved! Turned out it was a false alarm, and we all had to stop quick. But the last guy, the one who caused the reaction, had to have been not paying attention at all. How can you knock 5 cars into each other unless you never even tried to hit the brakes. He may have been the one rolling the doobie behind me at the concert, now that I think about it. 😉

       
  3. territerri

    July 16, 2012 at 1:00 am

    I’m a lot like you. Even though I work a standard 8 hour day/5 day week with weekends off, work takes it out of me! The best I can manage is a social get together with friends now and then. Having to actually think about what I’m wearing and go somewhere that requires we pay to get in is just too much effort. Still, like you said, it’s fun now and then. I’m glad you found some quality time with your loved ones.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 16, 2012 at 1:53 am

      You know, thinking about what I’m going to wear is a BIG part of why I’d rather just stay home. I love the fact that I wear a uniform to work. And my days off are spent in shorts, a t-shirt and a hat. The last thing I want to do on my day off is get dressed up. lol
      My hubby works from home, so he’s more willing to go out. I’m happy that he’s comfortable going out without me, but it’s good for a marriage to occasionally do things together. 🙂
      Hope you enjoyed your weekend!

       
  4. Rock Chef

    July 16, 2012 at 9:43 am

    Glad you got out – it does you good, otherwise life just drifts past.

    Been a long time since I saw a live band – it is a bit of a trip to get to them these days. When I was a teenager you could see some good bands right in the middle of Canterbury, but that is long gone…

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 16, 2012 at 1:04 pm

      I’m sure you miss those days. Live bands are in full swing around here. Most of the bars and taverns will book a band on the weekend, and many of the church and town picnics will book them as well. All local and novice bands, of course, but still fun to watch. The concert we went to was over an hour from us. Not exactly close.
      My hubby will get gigs at the local winery or a few of the taverns around. He’s solo and likes it that way. He’s gone the band route and it’s tough to get everyone on the same page.
      Any thoughts on you joining a band??

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    July 18, 2012 at 6:02 am

    Sounds like you had a great time! Happy for you! I love the photo 🙂

     
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    July 18, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    I am so happy you enjoyed your time out!!! that’s part of being healthy too…. right? 🙂 Loved that picture! Beautiful girls! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 19, 2012 at 4:13 am

      I just wish I enjoyed going out more often. My hubby works from home so he’s always ready to go. I usually want to sit at home. How times have changed from when I was a stay-at-home mom. I was rarin’ to go at the drop of a hat, and HE wanted to stay at home. 🙂

       
  7. Jules

    July 29, 2012 at 12:24 am

    I’m with you on not going out… I like my couch time after being on my feet 8 hours a day. I am mentally and physically exhausted.. With some push from Mike, we went outside today and played catch for a while then tried a local restaurant we hadn’t been to before. I would have been happy with my couch time but it was nice to do something different. It’s just that initial gathering of the physical and mental energy to do something else.

     

Leave a Reply

 
