RSS

Procrastination at its Best

20 Jul

I’ve had some weird scheduling the last couple of weeks.  I’ll work a few days, be off for one, then work a few more, then off again. One day on, one day off… you get the idea.

I’m not sure what I think about it.  It’s difficult to work too many days in a row at the hotel, because it can be draining.  But I find myself not getting much done with scattered days off.  It’s easy to push the work off until the next day off.

Now I find myself on my last day off before vacation. We leave next week, and I have tons to do to get ready for it.

What did I do instead?

Went for a run. (see disclaimer)

Took the motorcycle for a spin.

Caught up on my blogs.

Took my car in for an oil change.

And baked some super awesome snicker doodle cupcakes.

** I’m not sure you could call my run a run really.  I stepped out of my door at 6am and was smothered with heat and humidity.  I managed to make it 2 miles, but at my turn-around point, I declared a truce.  The heat and humidity were too much.  I spent the 2 miles back doing intervals.  Some walking, some jogging, some lunges, some sprints.  I returned home looking like a drowned rat.

The motorcycle run was better.  We left as soon as I was cool enough from my run to put on some jeans.  Once we were on the go, I was very comfortable.  After some pancakes and eggs, we returned home.  The sun was a little hotter at this point, but once again, not bad while we were moving.

Now, let me tell you about the snicker doodle cupcakes…

On second thought, just take a look.

Snicker Doodle Cupcakes

Just a Taste or Full Blown Cinnamon Goodness

Yeah, I shoulda been planning for the trip, and catching up on laundry, and preparing the house for our departure.

But what’s the fun in that?

The Tuesday night before we leave, I’ll probably be rushing around like a  mad woman trying to get everything done.  If it doesn’t get done, I don’t plan to worry about it.  Planning for vacation shouldn’t be stressful.  Besides, I’m sure my 18 and 19 year old, who have decided to stay home,  will take care of it while we’re gone….

I’m sure of it.

But just in case I’m wrong, I’ve taken the day after we return from vacation off as well.

 

 

 
17 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2012 in Baking, Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “Procrastination at its Best

  1. towardshealthylife

    July 20, 2012 at 2:28 am

    I know how you feel and I have one of those mad woman inside me as well. Planning the vacation a month or 2 before it happens is fun but when it comes to do the laundry so we have something to wear on the trip and pack, I don’t find it fun at all…but like you said you can count on your teenagers to keep the fort while your gone 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 21, 2012 at 1:55 am

      I can at least count on them to scramble around at the last minute to get things done before we get home. I usually give a warning call when we get close. 🙂
      One thing I’m thankful for these days is that they can pack for themselves. It was awful when I had to pack for everybody!

       
  2. Melissa Gastorf

    July 20, 2012 at 9:00 am

    Haha. I am having the same problem. I have an early am flight tomorrow for vacation and plenty that I need to get done before I leave tonight, and I am currently procrastinating by reading a blog about procrastinating.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 21, 2012 at 1:53 am

      I work best under pressure actually. At least that’s what I tell myself. I try to teach my kids not to procrastinate, but… monkey see, monkey do.
      Hope you were able to get everything packed!

       
      • Melissa Gastorf

        July 29, 2012 at 4:05 pm

        Thanks. I was finally, and now for the even less fun step of unpacking

         
  3. Rock Chef

    July 20, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Yes, it is difficult to focus when you are on-off like that.

    Mmm, the cakes look great though, so time has not been wasted.

    Our weather has been giving slightly different problems – the other day it was raining so hard I was worried about breathing too deeply in case I drowned! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 21, 2012 at 1:51 am

      How funny! I don’t know whether to feel sorry for you, or jealous that you’re getting so much rain!

       
  4. Abby

    July 20, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    When a trip is a month out or so, I’m fine at mapping things and planning, but the day before, I’m a total slacker – great minds procrastinate alike I guess! The Snickerdoodle cakes look like baked perfection!

    We lived in NY state for about 8 years, and I sure don’t miss the humidity now that we’re back in Colorado. I hope the weather accommodates nicely for your trip, so you can see how the other half lives 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 21, 2012 at 1:48 am

      I’m pretty picky about my weather. My request is for it to be 60s in the morning for my runs, then warm quickly to 85 or 90 throughout the day so I can wear shorts without goosebumps. Whatever the folks in Colorado can do for me would be greatly appreciated.

       
  5. agg79

    July 21, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    What? You mean we’re not supposed to wait and pack the night BEFORE a trip? Maybe that’s what I’ve been doing wrong. I have the exact same approach for trips as you do. But somehow I get easily distracted from packing (ooh, look! SR300 posted some pictures of food!!). I usually stress over the pre-trip preparations, but, once we lift off or hit the road, the stress pretty much drops off for me. I figure that, once we are out the door, there is not much I can about it now. If something happens to change the plans, we’ll just have to adapt.

    Good luck on the trip. I know you’ll enjoy the cooler temps and lower humidity in Colorado. And, if you are at higher altitudes your run should be faster. And, 2 miles out and back, in my book, that counts as a run. With all the humidity down here, my runs lean more towards the run/swim variety.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 22, 2012 at 2:13 am

      Well, I don’t think we’re supposed to wait til the last minute. Could it be that I’ve been doing it right all these years?
      It really is much easier now that the kids are older and can pack for themselves. Thank goodness, because I won’t even get home from work until 9pm the night before we leave.
      I’m really excited about our trip. I plan to see some interesting sights myself. 😉
      Swimming through the humidity. Funny! Perhaps I need to grow some gills so I can get through it better.

       
  6. Janet

    July 22, 2012 at 6:11 am

    The only contact ith hotel people I have is when doing Red Cross duty at the Maritim Hotel and they basically all tell the same tale. Stress, stress and more stress. I can only imagine how difficult it must be to be friendly all the time. I only have to manage when my boss, or some “higher” colleagues call or drop by for a few minutes. I am a cherful person, usually, well and when not cheerful I usually disguised it in irony and slight sarcasm and it has worked so far. 😉 It’s good that you have things to do, that refocus you. Keep it up. I am off for a walk in the woods now. 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 22, 2012 at 10:43 pm

      I’m ready to be refocused. I do so much more people all day long, that I need to remember to DO for me. I’ve let my job take over, so I’m excited to leave it behind for a while.
      I’ve read your post, so I know your hike went well! I can’t wait to do some hiking myself!

       
  7. territerri

    July 23, 2012 at 1:52 am

    Mmmmm…. Snickerdoodle cupcakes! Those look and sound delicious!

    I am the same way in preparing for a vacation. The way I see it, I work well under pressure. I’ve never been one to chip away at a project. I do best when I can dive into it and just go until it’s done. I think you’ve got a similar personality.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 23, 2012 at 2:33 am

      You hit the nail right on the head. I like working under pressure. I think my kids are the same way, which can be extremely frustrating to us parents. We’d rather they NOT wait til the last minute to finish their big project. But how can I criticize if I’m the same way. 🙂

       
  8. meleah rebeccah

    July 23, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    I am DROOLING over those snicker doodle cupcakes!

     
  9. Jules

    July 29, 2012 at 12:37 am

    Enjoy your vacay! Can’t wait to hear about it 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
