RSS

It Feels Better to Give

23 Jul

Perhaps you know this about me already, but I love to bake.

Cupcakes to be exact.

I rarely make the same cupcake twice, because most of my enjoyment comes from finding and trying new flavor combinations.

If I have 2 days off in a row, you can almost bet that I’ll be trying a new cupcake.

Because I bake so often, and because my family doesn’t need dozens of cupcakes sitting around the house, I will often bring at least half of them to work.

I mostly share them with the front office staff – the desk agents, the sales office, the managers.  But I’ve been known to bring in some specifically for the housekeeping staff and the kitchen staff. I usually hold one back for Salim as well.

They’re all very complimentary and are excited to try new flavors.  Often I think they’re just being nice, but occasionally I believe what they’re saying.

I call them my guinea pigs.

Yesterday, one of my managers gave me a card.  It was filled with little notes of appreciation for bringing in my cupcakes for all to share.

Each manager had signed it personally, and I was honored that they would take the time to write me a little note of thanks.

Today, I thanked my General Manager for the card.  She looked at me in surprise.  “Oh… they gave it to you already?”

I nodded. A little confused.

She stuttered a little bit and then confessed that she wanted to put ‘a little something in it’ for me.

I immediately told her that wasn’t necessary.  I bake because I enjoy it.  But thank you for the gesture.

At the end of the day, she met me at the time clock with an outstretched hand.  I reluctantly took it, letting her know again that it wasn’t necessary, that I just really enjoy sharing.  But she insisted.  So I thanked her sincerely and headed to my car.

It wasn’t until I was alone that I looked at what she had given me.

I almost felt sick.

70 dollars.

70 DOLLARS!

That’s crazy!

I definitely don’t bring them in with an expectation for something in return.  I’m not providing a service for them. I bring them in because I don’t want them all sitting at home!

I feel awful for taking $70 for them!

I called my hubby immediately.  He seems to think that I should accept it for what it is.  Appreciation for bringing in treats.

But I still feel guilty about it.

Then I began thinking about what our front desk staff did for our favorite taxi driver, Salim.

A couple of months ago I mentioned that I would like to give back to Salim.  He is a very honorable man, who works hard for his family.  He treats our guests extremely well, and we know if we send our guests with him, that he can be trusted to take care of them.

Anytime we call Salim for an airport run, he gives that particular desk agent $5.  There are days that he will give me $20, $30 at a time.  He does this to show his appreciation for calling him first for the run.

He doesn’t know that we would do that anyway.

He has given us sooo much money, yet I know that he’s the one that can use it.  He has five teenage kids, a wife who stays home, and he’s a cab driver, working long hours to pay the bills.

The desk agents jumped at the chance to give back to him.  We started a fund and collected $250 that we used to purchase gas cards.

I presented these to him a few weeks ago.

His reaction brought tears to my eyes.  He literally laid his head down on the counter and was silent for many minutes.

When he raised up, he explained to us that of all the people he has ever helped… family or otherwise, we are the only ones to have given anything back to him.  He was obviously moved and incredibly thankful.  He repeated the words “thanks so much” over and over again in his sweet little accent.

I wonder now if he felt like I do.  It’s nice to be appreciated, but it’s difficult to accept a gift. I wonder if he actually used the cards himself, or if he gave them to someone he felt needed it more.  He’s that type of guy.

My instinct is to take the money she gave me, and purchase tons of cupcake liners and ingredients to make cupcakes for all the employees.

I think that would help ease the guilt I feel for taking money.

What would you all do?

 

 

 

 
19 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2012 in Baking, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

19 responses to “It Feels Better to Give

  1. towardshealthylife

    July 23, 2012 at 4:42 am

    I would buy myself nice backing accessories or cupcakes accessories that I normally wouldn’t get thinking that it’s luxury. I would probably bake a batch for the employees too. I guess you wouldn’t feel this way if it would have been a gift instead of the money but maybe she tought you could pick something you truly like. Anyway they appreciate your generosity and it’s sweet 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 23, 2012 at 1:56 pm

      I think you’re right. If they had bought a cupcake pan or some baking accessories, I probably would have been much more willing to accept it, and not have felt as guilty. But to just hand me some cash was kind of awkward. I will most likely use it to purchase baking stuff, like you said, and just keep on baking for them!

       
  2. agg79

    July 23, 2012 at 11:20 am

    I agree with towards. Buy some new baking hardware and bake up a whole bunch of thank you cupcakes. It is hard for some to be recognized for your contributions, even if you think it is just a small thing. They wanted to show their appreciation of your tasty treats that brightens their day. Don’t feel guilty.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 23, 2012 at 2:03 pm

      It is hard for me to be recognized and accept appreciation, that’s true. I’d much rather be on the giving side. I guess that’s why I like what I do.
      On the other hand, I sometimes feel under-appreciated, especially at work. I suppose I’d much rather have had the $70 as a bonus for all the hard work I do there, and not for the cupcakes…
      I’m actually looking forward to baking a bunch of cupcakes to bring in, so perhaps it’s a good thing. It’ll have to wait til I get back though! 2 more days left of work, and we are outta here! 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    July 23, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    Wow, that’s great! I know how you feel – you give the cupcakes with no strings attached, it seems somehow “wrong” to accept any monetary appreciation. But think about it, why the heck not!? Your manager clearly knows you don’t expect compensation, but she wants you to have the money. I think going out and buying new baking supplies is a great plan.

    On a side note, back in my hotelling days, a guy came up to the desk one day and asked if I could recommend a good liquor store nearby. I told him about one I knew of, and he turned around and gave me 10 bucks plus a bottle of wine. Turned out he was the owner of the liquor store!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 24, 2012 at 3:30 am

      I love that hotel story! 🙂 We have a great blues bar down the street that always brings us yummy treats so that we continue to recommend them, but I’ve never experienced what happened with you.
      I’m kinda looking forward to buying some new cupcake supplies – there are things I haven’t wanted to splurge on before, but now I just may! 🙂

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    July 23, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    Awwwww…. I think it’s wonderful they gave you a card and cash for the appreciation for your cupcakes. And quote frankly, I think you should treat yourself to something nice with it!

     
  5. meleah rebeccah

    July 23, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    Oops – *quite frankly*

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 24, 2012 at 3:28 am

      I didn’t even notice the misspelling until you pointed it out! 🙂
      And maybe I just will treat myself to something nice. I’ve been wanting a few new cupcake pans…. and a new mixer…. hmmm….

       
  6. Janet

    July 24, 2012 at 5:59 am

    I agree with Julie. I guess I would have used that money to buy some baking accessories and probably would have thanked them all by bringing in some elaborate cupcakes a few days later. So then that money would have been used for everyone. 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 24, 2012 at 6:27 pm

      That’s what I plan to do…. bring in a bunch of cupcakes for everybody. I’d feel better if I’m giving back. I’m leaving for Colorado tomorrow, 🙂 so it’ll be a little while before I can bake again.

       
  7. territerri

    July 25, 2012 at 1:58 am

    I’m quite sure none of your coworkers felt you expected some money in exchange for the treats. I’m sure they did it out of gratefulness. You must have brought in a LOT of cupcakes!

    Since you feel a bit uncomfortable with accepting the money, maybe consider donating a portion to another person or charity and using the rest for new ingredients and such.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 25, 2012 at 2:43 am

      That’s a great idea too! I have the money tucked away right now. I’m actually thinking of baking for the housekeeping department. They work so hard behind the scenes and rarely get recognized. Whatever I decide, it won’t be spent on ME. Even a few days later, I still don’t feel right about it.
      P.S. I’m not certain the money was donated by all my managers. (They were the ones who signed the card). It came from my General Manager and not in the card itself… I guess that’s why I feel so bad.

       
  8. Rock Chef

    July 25, 2012 at 8:46 am

    I say treat yourself – maybe get something that you would not normally spend money on, something as a reminder that the little things we do ARE appreciated.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 26, 2012 at 3:13 am

      I should.
      I should accept their thank you for what it is, and treat myself. Not sure why I have such a hard time with that??

       
      • Rock Chef

        July 26, 2012 at 9:27 am

        My wife is like that – if she does something for someone it is because she wants to do it, not because she wants a reward or praise.

         
  9. The Thin Lady Inside

    July 25, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    Don’t feel guilty about it! They know you’ve been doing it without expecting anything in return! Just like it’s blessed you to share cupcakes with them it’s blessing them to thank you and show you how much they appreciate it!!! I understand how you feel (because it’s happened to me) but I think it would be like them giving you the cupcakes back, think about it! 🙂 Enjoy! Many hugs!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 26, 2012 at 3:17 am

      I know that THEY know that I don’t expect anything in return. I guess I’m just so surprised by how appreciative they are. Like I mentioned earlier, I should just be grateful for it and treat myself. The funny thing is, I want to treat myself with some fancy baking supplies that I would never buy otherwise. So they’ll end up getting it back in a sense. 🙂

       
  10. Jules

    August 1, 2012 at 12:17 am

    Don’t feel guilty! I’m so glad your managers are able to do something like that. I would buy some expensive ingredients or baking accessories that you otherwise wouldn’t get. Something really extravagant. Enjoy!!!!!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
