RSS

The Adventure Continues

29 Jul

All week I’ve been looking forward to running in Colorado.

Cool mornings.  No humidity.  Beautiful views. Lighter air.

It was gonna be perfect.

There was just one tiny oversight, however.

It’s kinda hilly here.

I awoke on my own at 6 am, feeling pretty good.  I’d already planned out my route – with a map the front desk gave me.  Seemed easy enough.  Up this street, turn right, up that street.

Key word:  UP 

(I’m from Illinois… flat lands, corn fields… and the hills I am used to are ant hills in comparison).

I made it up it to the top of the first street, and eagerly turned right, thinking I would be on level ground.

Nope.

That street was all uphill too! I made it a few blocks before I had to stop and catch my breath. (I blamed it on the higher altitude).  Then I ran a few more blocks, stopped to breathe, and ran up a few more. I never did get to the top of the ‘hill’!

Thinking I had been gone long enough, I turned around and literally flew back to the hotel.  I was like a runaway train, wondering how I was going to stop at the end.  Needless to say, I got back much faster than it took to get there.

Not quite the run I was picturing, but the morning WAS cool, and the views WERE awesome, and I planned to give it another shot the next day.

This workout was followed by even more ‘workouts’.

First on our list today was Helen Hunt Falls. We piled into the car, drove up the winding roads, and finally reached our destination.  Imagine our disappointment when we saw the Trail Closed sign.  I felt like we were the Griswald’s finally getting to Wally World only to find it closed for repairs.

It didn’t stop us however.  We found other ways to get to the falls – and No, we didn’t have to hold anyone at gunpoint….

He found his way!

Me at the base of the falls.

From there we went to Manitou Springs.

What a cute little town!  Lotsa shops.  Lotsa restaurants. A few springs. And an arcade!

I found my next career! An ice cream truck driver!

I made the kids try a Mediterranean restaurant for lunch. Growing up in Greece, I became very fond of their food, and it smelled so delicious when we walked by!

They’re not very good at hiding their emotions.

I felt a little guilty….until the food came.  They found they actually liked it!

I didn’t gloat in my “rightness”.

From there, we headed to the Cog Railway, the train that would take us to the top of Pikes Peak!

Before heading up, we changed into jeans, and brought our coats – thanks to advice from a local friend of mine.

The change in temperature as we made our way slowly to the top was dramatic.  By the time we got there, I was already bundled up.

On our way up Pikes Peak. The views were stunning!

We were actually hoping it would snow.  It had rained on our ascent, and a few days ago, there was a brief snowfall, but we didn’t have that luck.

Instead, we had almost freezing temperatures with extremely strong winds that made it feel below freezing!  It was exhilarating, but the girl and I headed straight for the gift shop to get out of the cold.

It even LOOKS cold!

Hubby and the boy, braved the cold and went to the observation deck.

The cold wasn’t bothering him a bit. He loved every minute of it!

For the sake of our family photo album, I suffered through the cold long enough for a picture.

Forcing a smile

Another fabulous day was had here in Colorado.

But my favorite part is yet to come….

I get to meet one of my favorite blog friends. Stay tuned!

 

 

 

 

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2012 in Family, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “The Adventure Continues

  1. agg79

    July 29, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    I wondered how those hills factored into your runs. I had the same experience out in California a while back – went for a morning run and tried to run up a hill with no end. We don’t have any of those down here. At least the air is cooler/drier. Not drenched in sweat after a few miles.

    I haven’t been to Pikes Peak since I was a teenager. The view is the same, the cog railway looks a bit fancier than I remember. We had the old open air cars. But it does tend to get a wee bit chilly & windy up on the top.

    And I was wondering/hoping you would cross paths with that other runner from Colorado. After meeting up with Terri last week, I can tell you it is a fantastic experience to meet up with another blogger “for reals”. Like I asked on her site – we’re looking for details/pictures.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 30, 2012 at 12:59 am

      It’s true! I wasn’t drenched in sweat! I think I’d rather adjust to the hills than continue to run in humidity. I’m back in Missouri right now. It’s over 100 degrees and super humid. ugh.
      I was elated when you met up with Terri, mainly because I knew I would be meeting up with Abby. It really is awesome, and I’m all for a blog family get-together….
      Pics and story are on the way.

       
  2. Abby

    July 29, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    I think you’re to be commended for the amount of “up” you mustered. I bet that many a lowlander and flatlander would’ve turned around sooner!

    I’m almost sorry it didn’t snow on you up there, but you got pretty close. Great pics! I think you can see some of the burn scar off to the left in the pic of The boy. And he needs to zip that hoodie! Who’s his mother?

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 30, 2012 at 1:02 am

      So that’s the ‘burn scar’! We out-of-towners were thinking it was just shadows…
      As far as the boy, I had to beg and plead to get him to at least put ON his jacket. 😉

       
  3. meleah rebeccah

    July 30, 2012 at 12:23 am

    Oh wow. These photos are great!

    Also, good for you running on those crazy hills, in Colorado!

    PS: I could REALLY go for some Cool mornings. No humidity. Beautiful views. Lighter air.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 30, 2012 at 1:04 am

      I won’t rub it in too much, but the three mornings we were there were AWESOME! ‘Course I’m almost home now, and the heat and humidity about knocked us over when we stopped or gas.

       
  4. territerri

    July 30, 2012 at 2:14 am

    Your description of the uphill run made ME feel worn out. I don’t do hills well either. I used to think I had some hills on my usual route but I’ll bet they’re just slight inclines compared to what you ran in Colorado.

    The Pike’s Peak trip sounds amazing if not a little chilly. Great photos!

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 30, 2012 at 8:08 pm

      I know! I thought my roads were hilly too! Not. So. Much.
      Pikes Peak was incredible – inside the train and inside the gift shop anyway. 🙂
      My son has been the main photographer on this trip, so most pictures, that don’t include him, anyway, were taken BY him.

       
  5. Jules

    August 1, 2012 at 12:53 am

    I love nature! The pictures from your trip are awesome. It makes me want to go exploring again in the wilderness. Jealous!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 1, 2012 at 1:27 am

      As much as you loved Tennessee, I would think you’d like Colorado as well! It’s much rockier, of course, and not as green, but still magnificent. You must see it at least once!

       

Leave a Reply

 
