RSS

Last, But Definitely Not Least!

30 Jul

When our #3 son told us he wanted to go to Colorado, I was a little disappointed.  After all, I’d had my heart set on San Antonio, Texas.  But most parents of teenagers know that if you actually receive some input on what to do, as opposed to a shoulder shrug,  you go for it!

Little did I know that it would turn out to be one of my most favorite vacations.

I’m an active person, so I loved the cool(er) weather, the trails, being outside….

I loved seeing my son in his element – He’d jump out of bed early each morning, eager to explore.  Everywhere we went, he felt the urge to climb to the top… as fast as he could. When one activity was over, he would immediately ask what we were doing next.  He was in heaven, and I was thrilled to have provided that for him.

But the best part?

He was very supportive of me meeting up with one of my favorite, most loyal blog friends.

I suppose I knew Abby lived in Colorado, but when we were planning our vacation, and she let me know she lived there, I was shocked, and then thrilled!

The possibility of meeting up with her was exciting, and I knew we would have to make time in our short trip to meet her.

Through many emails we decided to meet up at Red Rock Canyon – a place she deemed a favorite with her family. I trusted her.

We arrived early.  Mainly because I was so nervous.

She arrived right on time.

Maybe it was the tattoo I’d seen in pictures, or the knowledge that she boxes, or the fact that she’s an extreme crossing guard, that had me a little intimidated…

but when I saw her for the first time, smiling and running towards me, my nerves disappeared immediately.  It truly was like we were long lost friends.  I felt like I knew her so well, and she was the sweet, funny, Abby that drew me to her blog in the first place.

We introduced our family members to each other, and I was thrilled that her older boys decided to come along too!  It just wouldn’t have been the same without all the AbbyNormals!

We started the trails through the canyon almost immediately.  Abby and I took the lead, with hubby and Magnum bringing up the rear.  The kids darted in all directions.

I loved catching up with her, despite having to walk with our heads down, and occasionally yell at the kids:  “Don’t go too far!”, or  “Be careful!”  Or to whine at them “Must you go that high?”

When we took breaks from the sun or the hikes, I jumped on the chance to ask her boys a few questions.  They were so polite, and so sweet, and so handsome!  I had guessed Abby was a great parent, and after seeing them, I knew for sure.

We ended our hike almost three hours later.  Our son was still picking cactus needles out of his hand.  Our daughter bragged that she was bleeding for the third day in a row. My hubby sucked down some Coors beer while in the shade of our van’s door.  And I was stalling in order to keep from having to say goodbye so soon.

Before we parted ways, we mentioned possibly getting together with some of our other mutual blog friends!

As well as this meeting went, I would absolutely jump at the chance to meet with her again, as well as any other interested parties….

And Abby, thank you and your family for bravely meeting up with the ShadowRun’s.  It was an experience I’ll never forget.  If you’re ever near our area, I’d love to have you visit.  I’d even clean my house for you.  🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2012 in Family, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “Last, But Definitely Not Least!

  1. agg79

    July 30, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    Shiny!! I KNEW you two would hit it off well, you both seem to have similar personalities/hobbies. It is great to be able to meet the real face behind the keyboard after conversing with them for a long while. And to meet the rest of the crew is icing on the cupcake. On top of that, you got some trail time in in the rocks. Beautiful area. I would love to spend a few hours exploring the trails and rocks there. I hope that some day I can arrange my travels to meet up with you or Abby. Maybe next r when Rock Chef goes on his US tour.

     
    • agg79

      July 30, 2012 at 12:37 pm

      And there is talk about the 2013 Minnesota State Fair.

       
    • shadowrun300

      July 30, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      Personally, I think we have a great group of blog friends, and YES, I would love to meet up with you, Terri, Rock Chef, Abby… How fun would that be? We really should try to arrange that!
      And I have heard the talk about the MN State Fair. I’d love that, especially since I don’t have to go through Kansas to get there!

       
  2. Abby

    July 30, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Great photos! I’m glad someone was on top of that because I somewhat failed.

    And what were you thinking?! Letting you and most of your family be drug off into the wilds with some tattooed, boxing, extreme crossing guard!? Don’t you read the papers??

    We had a great time, and I really enjoyed and appreciated meeting you and the clan. I’m so glad the boy wanted to come and you braved the drive across Kansas to get here. I thought of crashing your hotel later – since it turned out you were just down the street – and whisking you off to a girls night!

    Oh, and the Colorado Springs tourism board would like to thank you all as well. They’ve been literally advertising “Come on over, we’re not on fire anymore!” I think you should get some kickbacks from them for your vacation entries.

     
    • shadowrun300

      July 30, 2012 at 8:03 pm

      I SO wish you woulda crashed our hotel. My biggest regret is that we didn’t have more time together. A girls’ night out would have been the icing on the cupcake, as Agg said earlier. 🙂
      All that means is we really should think about getting together again… I’m up for MN in 2013…

      I’d happily spread the word about Colorado. It really is a great place, and I have a pretty good feeling my 15 year old will be back…. to stay.

       
  3. territerri

    August 1, 2012 at 2:23 am

    I’m so happy two of my favorite blog buddies got to meet. (And I’m a bit jealous 😉 ) But mostly I’m happy for you. I’ve had the privilege of meeting a few of my blog friends and it’s always such a great experience. I would LOVE for there to be a get-together of blog friends in 2013. I’ll be pushing for this and looking into making it a reality!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 1, 2012 at 2:31 am

      Meeting up with her, and then continuing to be in contact with her has been so much fun! And I was just as happy for you and Agg to get together!
      From the look of things, we’re all looking forward to a 2013 get-together! Hope you don’t mind if we all show up on your doorstep. After all, you make it look so inviting! 🙂

       
      • territerri

        August 1, 2012 at 2:33 am

        There’s not much room, but I’d be more than happy to let everyone crash wherever they can find a space! It would be fun!

         
      • shadowrun300

        August 1, 2012 at 2:58 am

        Slumber party at Terri’s! 😉

         
  4. towardshealthylife

    August 5, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    This is amazing! I am so happy for you 2 to meet in person! The photos are beautiful and a good hint that you all had a great time hicking. I would be scared to see anyone I love climbing like your son did lol

     

Leave a comment