RSS

Fresh

02 Aug

The clothes are unpacked.

The suitcases are once again stored on their respective shelves

The red dust has been removed from the van, the socks and most of the shoes.

Keep as a souvenir or clean it up?

My vacation ends today.

And believe it or not, I feel prepared to go back to work. (Actually. Don’t believe it.)

I was planning to bake tons of cupcakes today for all the employees.  In fact, I was really looking forward to using the money given to me a few weeks ago to buy ingredients and supplies for them.

But I changed my mind.  (And not because I forgot to cream the sugar with the butter, and therefore the batter really didn’t turn out right, and the cakes were kinda… ummm…… yucky).

Instead, now that all the cupcakes have been dumped in the trash, and the mess is all cleaned up,  I’m thinking 70 bucks sounds pretty good to spend

just. on. me.

Shoulda listened to you guys in the first place.

Anyway, one of the things this vacation has taught me (and I have learned a lot from it), is that my family isn’t happy with their blog names. (Thanks, Abby)

I have to admit.  I’m not very creative at differentiating my family members: child #1, #2, #3, #4, the boy, the girl, hubby…. I suppose I could just lay it all out there like Terri does, but I’m a little concerned about people at work finding my blog site.  Not sure why, really.  I doubt they’re searching….

BUT, I gave them each a chance to choose their name.  They declined.  So I named them.

I’d like to introduce you to:

My oldest son:  Link – 19.75 years old. Full of potential, but still wandering and wondering.  Overnight Walmart shelf-stocker.  Creator and editor of abridged videos, becoming well-known online for his videos.  Awaiting enough savings to allow a move to Florida.  I hope he’s patient.

My second oldest son:    Chip – 18 years old.  Full time student at a local college.  Pursuing career in medical industry.  Possibly on the right track, but still prefers gaming and sleeping. Warm-hearted, yet easily aggravated, and rarely thinks he’s wrong.

My third oldest son:  Amp  –  15.75 years old.  Possesses all the traits of the Absent-minded Professor.  A genius in the areas of his interest (space, planets, weather, science, the human brain), but tends to be disorganized and therefore does not do as well as he should in school.  Artistic, musical, a natural on the guitar and saxophone, and easy to get along with.  Passing time until he can flee this ‘suffocating’ state.

My fourth child, and only daughter – Mario.  Nicknamed this by her loving brothers, and carried on by her dear friends at school.  (Known by me as “The Mess”) Just shy of 14 years old.  Social butterfly.  Professional texter. Straight A student.  Striving for Valedictorian of her 8th grade class.  (What??  One of my children is striving??) Well organized (except when it comes to her room) and very responsible.   She’s quite confidant and is pursuing lots of interests: actor, lawyer, teacher, beautician, ….

My Hubby?  A couple of ideas came to mind:  Mac – because he’s a huge Apple fan, and Strato – because he rides a Yamaha Stratoliner next to my Honda Shadow.  He’s also heavy into music (playing and listening), very artistic, creative and smart! So I just don’t know.  I’m still thinking.  Until then, he will remain Hubby.

A lot of thought went into these names.   Too much, now that I think about it. But I wanted it to fit their personality and have meaning.  In fact, the boys’ names in particular have multiple meanings.

Now, let’s see how well I remember to use their new names when I’m telling on them  sharing stories about them.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2012 in Everyday Living, Family, Parenting, Vacation

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Fresh

  1. Abby

    August 2, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    AHA! Some real fake names for the family! I like them and enjoyed the quick bios.
    I wasn’t comfortable using actual names on the blog, and “Magnum” is paranoid about his family finding it! Besides, creating the fake ones was more fun.

    Sorry you lost that particular cupcake battle, I’m sure there’ll be many more victories. Are you going to share what you spend the 70 bucks on? Nice Colorado shoe btw.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 2, 2012 at 8:54 pm

      I haven’t shared the names with the kids – well, Mario knows hers – ’cause I don’t think they’ll like them. I DID give them a chance to choose their own though….
      Still thinking about the 70 bucks…. I have a hard time spending money on myself, so it’ll probably stay in the can next to the blow pops in my closet. 🙂

       
  2. agg79

    August 4, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    Sorry to hear of the cupcake calamity. But it happens to everyone. I bet Emeril Lagasse has had a few meals turn out not to be like he expected. But that just encourages more practice. And do not feel guilty about blowing the $70 on yourself. It’s your gift, you earned it.

    Nice names. I’m sorta like you, I haven’t really named my crew (aside of the two mutts – Chaos & Pandemonium). I think the handles you’ve given them fits their personalities. When you pegged hubby with Strato – I was figuring it was for a Fender Stratocaster. You’ve mentioned his penchant for music a few times – what’s his instrument of choice?

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 5, 2012 at 1:34 am

      My 18 year old tried to console me the same way, although he used a Cupcake Wars analogy. You’re right, I’ll just have to practice some more. 😉
      Now that you’ve mentioned Stratocaster, Strato seems to fit him even better. Or maybe just Strat. He has about 5 acoustic guitars, and his Martin is his guitar of choice. He used to play harmonica as well, when he was with the band, but now that he’s solo, it’s pretty much just him and his guitar. In fact, he’s at a gig as we speak.

       
  3. territerri

    August 5, 2012 at 1:25 am

    I’ve often wished I had assigned pseudonyms to my family members, but it’s been … what? … six years now I think that I’ve been blogging and using their real first names. Who knows. Maybe one of these days I’ll scrap the old blog and start fresh more anonymously! Love the names and the descriptions you provided for each family member. I feel like I just got to know them all a little better.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 5, 2012 at 1:40 am

      I love how personal your blog is! I hope you don’t change a thing! I started out as anonymous and figure I should keep it that way for all of us…. but I’ve think I’ve spilled the beans before on their names (and mine for that matter)….. oh well. It was still fun thinking of names for them. 🙂

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    August 5, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    I love the names and their personnality descriptions! You will have to remember to use them now lol

     
  5. Jules

    August 7, 2012 at 12:23 am

    I love the names!! So creative and fitting 🙂 How fun!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
