RSS

Confession

06 Aug

I admit it.

I’ve been watching the Olympics.

It’s been the background noise/visual on the nights that I am home, and I’m kind of getting caught up in some of the stories of these athletes.  In all honesty, they’re pretty incredible.

My favorites are the sports I enjoyed watching as a kid – gymnastics, diving, and swimming.  But I’ve been caught watching the girls’ volleyball too.   Wait!  Hear me out…..  I admit the costumes are a little revealing, but no more so than the men’s speedo’s in synchronized diving…  and Misty and Kerri are an incredible team. Watching them work together is impressive.  I’m happy for them!

But I’ve been very critical of some of the other sports.  I have a hard time thinking of badminton, ping pong, skeet shooting, curling, etc as an Olympic sport.

This is coming from a girl who views bowling as a sport. I used to get so upset when people would make fun of it.  After all, I knew how much practice, and concentration and commitment it takes to do well.  I knew how form, follow through, lane conditions, ball surfaces, drilling, etc all have an effect on your score.  While others think you just roll a ball down the alley, drink a beer while you wait for it to come back, then throw it again, I knew there was so much more to it.

I would spend hours at the bowling alley… practicing, competing, practicing, competing…  I’d bowl with men and  women who were better than me in order to improve.  At home, I would watch videos of professionals, read books and magazines on strategies, and think about it constantly.

I loved the sport, and wanted to be the best that I could be.

When I remember how dedicated I was to bowling, it helps me to view these ping pong, badminton, skeet shooting, curling Olympians with a little more respect.

It may not seem like a sport to me, but to them, it’s their passion and their dream.  I’m proud of them for making it to the top, and I understand the thrill they must be feeling to compete against the best of the best.

That is what the Olympics are about, and that is why I can’t help but watch.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2012 in Bowling

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Confession

  1. Abby

    August 6, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    You’re right! That’s what it’s about. To THEM, it’s a sport. I do think we tend to gravitate towards the events we’re most familiar with, but anyone who has competed in some “sport” understands the commitment and focus. Still, if I don’t know the rules of the game or have never tried it, then it’s pretty ho hum. Water polo anyone?

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 7, 2012 at 2:45 am

      Oh yeah! I forgot about water polo. I mean, really? That’s an Olympic sport? oops…Of COURSE it is! I just can’t get excited about watching it. I’m gonna try harder not to criticize though, ’cause it’s important to them, just like you said….

       
  2. Jules

    August 7, 2012 at 12:30 am

    I loved watching beach volleyball, but I just can’t watch the Olympics with all the broadcasters talking about everything instead of just showing the competition. I watched one night and got so sick of only seeing parts of it and then listening to the tv people the rest of the time and seeing big chunks of stuff cut out.. I’d rather watch everything live as it is happening.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 7, 2012 at 2:49 am

      I agree… that’s why it’s background entertainment. My computer is foreground. When something exciting comes up, I’ll look up. In between times, I blog and research cupcakes. 🙂

       
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 7, 2012 at 3:34 am

    I haven’t really been watching the Olympics… I know I should… I might find lots of encouragement just from seeing those athletes! I sooo admire people who do sports with such passion! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 8, 2012 at 3:08 am

      It’s encouraging and motivating for sure… but some of those people just make me feel bad about my slow running. 😉 Their stories are inspirational though!

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    August 8, 2012 at 1:38 am

    I love the olympics! I don’t care for the team sport though, especially those you can watch all year round like soccer(I never watch soccer anyway lol) but I love gymnastic, athletisme, syncronised swimming and races too! they are so amazing! When you see them hurting themselves or falling off it’s heart breaking because they worked all their lives for that moment. Great post!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 8, 2012 at 3:11 am

      I agree with the team sports – like basketball, etc. I watched the Canada girl win her hurdle race tonight! Congratulations!
      It’s been heartbreaking watching the American gymnasts. It seems like our girls have been losing every event they were pegged to win. And seeing them cry makes me so sad for them… and their Mom’s. It must be hard for them not to be able to console them right away….

       
      • towardshealthylife

        August 8, 2012 at 3:42 am

        I didn’t watch it at all today, I should look it up on the internet! So true, they are kind of separated from their family

         
  5. territerri

    August 8, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    I’m watching too – they typical events like gymnastics, swimming, track events… I just get caught up in the magic of it all. I think about the dedication the athletes have given to making it to the Olympics and I marvel at the things they can accomplish that most of us couldn’t even dream of. I love it and I’m always sad when the games come to an end.

    But wait … bowling … is more than rolling the ball, taking a swig of beer and waiting for the ball to come back? No wonder my average improves so slowly! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 9, 2012 at 3:14 am

      Hate to break it to ya, but yeah… there’s a little more to bowling than drinking. ‘Course it took me a few years to figure this out. I hope you don’t ever get as serious about it as I was. Sure takes the fun out of it! 🙂

       
  6. agg79

    August 10, 2012 at 2:55 am

    Ok, I gotta admit, I’ve been following the volleyball competition for a bit. Hard not to get caught up in the intensity of the competition, especially when you already know the outcome from the advance internet postings. Although some sports I still have a hard time accepting as Olympic competitions like the old track and field events. And gymnastics has always been one of my favorites, So, when ARE they going to have bowling as an Olympic sport?

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 10, 2012 at 2:59 am

      Ya know, I think bowling is already an Olympic sport – I guess we’ll have to wait for the winter Olympics to find out for sure…
      Thanks for finding the time to visit! It must be pretty hectic around your place about now. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
