RSS

Tuesday with ShadowRun

10 Aug

Tuesday was my first day off since my return from Colorado.

It was also my only day off before having to return for another 4 consecutive days.

I shoulda relaxed.

I shoulda slept.

I shoulda cleaned house.

But I had 70 bucks burning a whole in my pocket, and a ton of guilt weighing on my shoulders…..

so I baked.

A LOT!

Just like in Cupcake Wars, I could have used an assistant, and a much bigger kitchen, and a few more ovens.

But at the end of the day I had over 100 cupcakes to bring to my very appreciative co-workers.  I especially wanted our housekeeping department to all have a cupcake, as they are usually left out.  And these guys deserve it!  Their behind the scenes work definitely makes our work easier!

For my diabetic friends, I made sugar free Chocolate Eclair cupcakes. Not bad, if I do say so myself!

Filled Chocolate Eclair Cupcake

Chocolate Eclair Cupcake. Remember. I made a ton of cupcakes. I wasn’t trying to earn points for appearance. 🙂

My strawberry lemonade cupcakes that I messed up last week, were given a second chance.  Good news!  They were awful again!  That means the recipe is bad.  Not me!

Plan B was to make carrot cake cupcakes with a Maple Syrup Icing.  Holy yumminess!

Carrot Cake Cupcake with Maple Cream Cheese Icing

For my third cupcake, I decided to make the Cinnamon Roll Cupcakes that I made a while back.  I’ve been wanting to try them again, because they were so good!  The only change I made was to top them with a coffee flavored cream cheese icing.

They take quite a bit of time, but definitely worth the trouble.  I almost didn’t want to share.

Cinnamon Roll Cupcake with Glaze

Cinnamon Roll Cupcake with Glaze and Coffee Cream Cheese Icing

Whew… now we’re even again.  I can finally go back to baking just ’cause I like to.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2012 in Baking, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “Tuesday with ShadowRun

  1. Abby

    August 10, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    Wow, did all that on one day off!? And here I am just dreading the thought of having to provide some sort of dinner tonight. But your cupcake baking is truly an art, not a chore. I swear I can almost smell the cinnamon roll cupcakes!
    I’m sure they were all well received. Did any fights break out over the last ones? Housekeeping vs. kitchen staff? A front desk clerk punching a bartender? Maybe I’m channeling too much of my own hotel experiences here…

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 11, 2012 at 2:13 am

      Yep. It was a LONG day. And I’m guessin’ it’ll be a while before I have the desire to bake a cupcake again.
      We actually did about have a fight. One housekeeper walked in the break room while I was getting the secret front desk cupcakes out and yelled “What happened to all the cupcakes?” I quickly gave her one of the few that I’d held back, but she couldn’t believe they were all gone already… I hate to think what mighta happened had I not been there, ’cause I’m sure some people had more than one….
      And for the record, I rarely cook dinner. I’ve never found that to be fun. 🙂

       
  2. agg79

    August 10, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    All those treats in just one day? Sounds like you need a serious cooking intervention there. Or maybe some more time on the back of your Shadow. With that many interesting variations, I bet you were the hit of the hotel staff.

    Now, quit taunting the rest of us. When are you going to mail some down here? Don’t make me beg…

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 11, 2012 at 2:19 am

      I definitely need more time on the back of my Shadow. I have plans for that on my next day off. What I really need is more days off. Heck. I’d settle for 2 in a row right now.
      As for your cupcakes? umm.. they’re in the mail…. 😉

       
  3. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 11, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    oh those look soooo great!!! YUM!!! I understand the fact that you baked… when I know I need to relax I bake instead… and sometimes I wish I would’ve just sat and done nothing but at the same time it feels great to see how everything turned out ! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2012 at 12:48 am

      It started out relaxing, but by the end of the day, I was ready to be done. I probably bit off more than I could chew, but they were very appreciative!

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    August 11, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Wow You sure were busy! The worst thing is that you almost have to be there to make sure everybody gets one like if they were children lol I bet you made lots of people happy but what about you?;-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2012 at 12:50 am

      I know! And that department can definitely act like children at times. All in good fun, usually. But they also tend to hoard so if free food is to be had, they stock up!
      It made me happy to bake for them. At the same time, I’m hanging up my baker’s hat for a while… 😉

       
  5. meleah rebeccah

    August 13, 2012 at 4:43 am

    Seriously, I’ve never seen such amazing cupcakes as I do when I come to your site!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 13, 2012 at 1:16 pm

      Thanks, Meleah! Most of my ideas are stolen/adapted from other ‘real’ bakers. 😉

       
  6. territerri

    August 15, 2012 at 1:16 am

    Crazy girl! 🙂 Why did you feel obligated to make all those cupcakes? Though I’m sure your coworkers are not complaining! You make me want to give cupcakes a try.

     
  7. Jules

    August 23, 2012 at 12:44 am

    Oh my goodness those look AMAZING! Especially the carrot cake and cinnamon roll one. I am jealous of your coworkers!

     

Leave a Reply

 
