RSS

Come Along with Me

12 Aug

For the past few months I’ve been following Stevie D as he’s been living MY dream of seeing exciting new places on the back of his motorcycle.  His new wife has been taking tons of beautiful pictures as they ride.  My favorites are the ones that include the handle bars of the bike.

View from Stevie D’s motorcycle

His journey has inspired me to capture my own daily journey into work.

So sit back, relax and enjoy the ride……

Starting out – a nice open road – just outside my small town.

I don’t even make it to the next town before coming upon construction.

Once past, I drive by miles of dried up corn fields.

15 minutes into the ride…. still in the cornfields. (This turn can be kinda fun on a motorcycle though!)

Now 20 minutes into my journey, I’m finally on the interstate. Look at that lucky dog on the right. **sigh**

Approaching the Mississippi River. I’ve now been on the road 40 minutes. Major construction going on at this point. They are finally constructing another bridge across the river. A little too late in my opinion.

I’m getting closer! I can now see the Arch!

Today, there’s minimal traffic on the main bridge, so this is the view I see. My hotel is the short building on the left side of the picture.

Some days the traffic on the main bridge is very backed up due to construction on the other side of the bridge. On these days, I take a smaller bridge across.

That bridge takes me by the Dome where the StL Rams lose.   I mean play.
(For the record, I did not run the light…)

This way takes a little longer, however, the view of my hotel and the Arch is incredible. Especially in the early mornings.

Approximately an hour after starting out, I enter the hotel’s garage.  Can you make out that little white wall to the right? That’s the wall that was recently scarred with black Mustang paint.

This time I manage to settle into one of the bigger spaces. After such a long drive, my Mustang can enjoy a nice 8 hour nap while I work.

I wonder if I’m making Stevie D as jealous with my journey, as he makes me with his.  After all, he may be seeing beautiful scenery while traveling through a multitude of countries… but I’m seeing the Arch.

Over and over and over again….

 
13 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2012 in Commute, Mustang, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “Come Along with Me

  1. agg79

    August 12, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    Thanks for the play-by-play commentary on your drive into work. Looks like a very long daily commute for you. Doesn’t it ever get slightly monotonous? What’s your trick to staying alert (singing tunes, listening to talk/sports radio, cutting off other drivers)?

    I can see why you envy Stevie D. Exploring Europe on the back of a Harley looks to be incredibly enticing. I can see you and your hubby cruising the California wine country on the bikes.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      You’re up early!! Hope you’re workin’ on your wedding day post….. 🙂
      I suppose the drive does get monotonous, but it’s not bad. The worst part is how much it adds to my already long days. I usually stay alert by eating… and I only cut off other drivers when necessary.
      California wine country…. sounds glorious. I need to quit adding to my wish list, and start checking things off instead.

       
  2. Abby

    August 12, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I’m not a fan of the work commute – been there done that – unless it’s practical on a bicycle. it’s actually a top decision point for my employment opportunities. Still, it’s interesting to see how the other half lives. I remember my short visits to your part of the planet. The corn is familiar!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 12, 2012 at 7:51 pm

      When you live way out like I do, it’s a drive just to get anywhere. I used to make the trip into Fairview to shop/bowl quite often. St. Louis is only another 10-15 minutes, so what the heck. It adds up, however. Another 10-12 hours added on to my 40 hour work week. It’s causing me to think about makin’ a change….

       
  3. towardshealthylife

    August 13, 2012 at 3:26 am

    Cool post shadow, it feels now like I have travelled in your country, well part of it anyway! It looks nice:-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 13, 2012 at 1:20 pm

      Actually, I DO live in an area that’s very pretty – when it’s not dried up from complete lack of rain. Sometimes I get all caught up in the hustle and bustle and take it for granted. The construction in St. Louis is driving me crazy, however.

       
  4. meleah rebeccah

    August 13, 2012 at 4:42 am

    Oh wow! I loved all the photos of your commute! Sorry about all the traffic, but still, you took some really GREAT pictures!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 13, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      Not quite the New Jersey Turnpike, but sometimes traffic here can get pretty bad. Mostly due to construction on the roads. I snapped a bunch of pics while driving…. These are the ones that actually show something. 🙂

       
  5. Rock Chef

    August 13, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    That was fun! I might steal this idea for tomorrow’s post!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 13, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      I recommend it! It was fun writing it – although a bit difficult getting good enough pics. 🙂

       
  6. territerri

    August 15, 2012 at 1:10 am

    It was fun to follow along on your ride. I’m not sure I can manage the traffic AND snap photos, but I’d like to try this idea!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 15, 2012 at 4:09 am

      Well, I’ve done many things while driving – a few I’ve blogged about – and taking pics was among one of the safer things. 🙂 I just held my little digital camera in front of me and took tons of pics of what was in front of me. A few turned out well enough to use.
      You should try it! It makes you look at your commute in a whole new light.

       
  7. Jules

    August 23, 2012 at 12:46 am

    eww St. Louis traffic 😦 Cool to see the pics of your drive though!

     

Leave a Reply

 
