RSS

It’s All About Me! (as it should be…)

15 Aug

There was a time when I was happy.  I would brag that things were “All About Me”. My friends kindly gifted me with plaques and key chains that proved it to be true!

I had a job that I was okay with – teaching at the local Elementary School.  Summers off, weekends off, afternoons off.  Available at any time for my kids who attended the same school.  1.5 minute commute.  In fact most mornings I made it my goal to get to work before my seat belt warning sign started dinging.  Some days I dreaded, like subbing for the 8th grade class, but it was OK.

I was happy.

I was bowling twice a week, averaging 190- 200.  I competed in many tournaments, never winning, but making a good showing.  I chose tournaments that would make me step up my game – women’s scratch tournaments and men’s handicap tournaments.  I’d finally bowled a 300 game and had many 700 series to my name.  There was always something to look forward to and be excited about.

I was happy.

During the summer I would run in quite a few 5ks that were offered in the area.  Once again, I loved the competition and would work to build my speed so that I could win.  A few of the races I was the first girl to cross the line, otherwise I usually finished first in my age group.  I loved these meets.  It was exhilarating and thrilling to be among a bunch of runners.  And runners are a good group.  They’re competitive, but encouraging as well!  Many times I’d pass someone up to hear “Way to go!  Keep it up!”

I was happy.

When things turned sour at the school, I took that as a sign that I should go in a different direction.  I chose the hotel business because I loved helping people and thought it would be great fun!  And it was!  Every day I texted my hubby from work gushing about how much I LOVED it!  If I had a day off, I couldn’t wait to go back!  I still bowled and ran whenever possible, but my passion was slowly turning towards my job.

I was happy!

Like most jobs, however, the more I worked and learned about the business, the more I noticed that it was far from perfect.  I still enjoyed what I did, but that particular hotel seemed to be heading south, and I wanted out before that happened.  As you’ve heard before, I left that hotel and went to work for a company who does things right by their guests.  I took a cut in pay, lost my vacation hours, and gave up my supervisor status, but it was worth it to work in a place where everyone wanted what’s best for the guests.

I was happy.

It didn’t take long before the busy-ness of this hotel, the long drive and the unkept promises began to take a toll.  I no longer looked forward to my bowling nights. If I was off, I wanted to be home.  My average dropped drastically due to being tired, not practicing, and not caring. For the first time in 33 years, I’ve uttered the words “I will not be bowling this fall”.  I cut back on running and no longer entered any 5ks.  I felt like taking off work was a sign that I wasn’t dedicated, so I missed out on a lot of things that used to provide incredible excitement.

I was becoming unhappy.

The unhappiness began to snowball as time went on.  It lifted a little when I went to Colorado.  I was active again.  Running, hiking, climbing… I had the thrilling anticipation of meeting up with Abby.  For a few days, I felt alive again.

Reality set back in way too soon.

But that trip has opened my eyes.  How silly of me to let work take over my passions.  Especially since what I do for them isn’t paying off the way I had hoped.

I have decided that I deserve to be happy, and I should be requesting days off to do things I want to do!  If I don’t stand up for myself, who will?

So it’s settled!  I have taken another 5 days off of work in September and I am going on a ME vacation!  I will do things I want to do, when I want to do them, and where I want to do them!

And with this to look forward to, I am once again

happy!    ECSTATIC!

 

 

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2012 in Bowling, The Hotel, Uncategorized, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “It’s All About Me! (as it should be…)

  1. Sandi

    August 15, 2012 at 5:23 am

    Haha, I think my best bowling score ever was approaching 70! It’s exciting to remember the things you love, yes? Hope you do find more time for hobbies, you know I’m a firm believer in hobbies you can find joy in. 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 15, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      Yes! I definitely need to get back into my hobbies. What I really need is to have the DESIRE to have hobbies come back. I’ve been so caught up in work and the amount of time it takes out of my week, that I’m too exhausted for the things I used to love. I plan on changing that though!

       
  2. Rock Chef

    August 15, 2012 at 9:59 am

    Woohoo! It is good to get things like this straight. Too many sacrifice everything for work when there is so much more to life.

    Don’t get me wrong, I love my job and work with the best people, but there is more…

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 15, 2012 at 2:52 pm

      Finding a balance is very important. I KNOW that I need to do things like this to be a better mom, wife and employee, but in the past I’ve just succumbed to my exhaustion and allowed everything I used to love slowly disappear. No more, though! Time’s a-wastin’…..

       
  3. agg79

    August 15, 2012 at 11:16 am

    Bravo! Taking care of yourself is the best approach to improving the situation. We all deserve a little ME vacation. Do what you want, when you want, go where you want, eat what you want. You have to spend time on yourself to remain on the top of your game. Steven Covey (one of those self help experts that many companies use) created a list of “Seven Habits of Highly Effective People” and one of the habits is “Sharpen The Saw” – focusing upon your own emotional, mental, and physical well being. I hope you have a great vacation and get some Shadow time in.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 15, 2012 at 2:56 pm

      My saw is in desperate need of sharpening! And just the anticipation of having it sharpened has brightened my mood tremendously! My Shadow won’t get much use during my ME vacation, but my Mustang may break the 100,000 mile mark. In fact I think it’s looking forward to going somewhere other than St. Louis! 😉

       
  4. Abby

    August 15, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Good for you for remembering to take care of yourself! I won’t dare mention the overused “put your oxygen mask on first before you help someone else with theirs”, but it’s true! (oops).
    It’s so easy to get ourselves into ruts, almost without noticing. Then something happens that opens our eyes. You’ve inspired me! I’m looking forward to your vacation ;D

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 15, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      The overused quote is pretty much NEVER used in my house, so thanks for not mentioning it! (Funny, I may actually need an oxygen mask on my vacation….)
      This ME vacation is just what I need… I’ll be sure to keep you filled in on my plans!

       
  5. territerri

    August 19, 2012 at 3:05 am

    My work hasn’t taken a toll on me the way yours has. My Monday through Friday schedule allows me to maintain a few hobbies. But I can relate to not taking enough vacation time. I’m going to follow your lead and try to squeeze in some time off too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 19, 2012 at 10:37 am

      I think it’s the best decision I’ve made in a while, and just knowing that I’ll be on vacation again soon helps me to get through the days. Funny how a job I love doing so much, can affect me in such a negative way – but maybe not finding a balance in life is the reason why.

       
  6. towardshealthylife

    August 19, 2012 at 6:02 am

    I have let my hobbies go since I had my daughter…not enough time to myself and then it’s like you said , no desire to make time for it. I think I should follow your lead and get back to it! Very inspiring post Shadow:-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 19, 2012 at 10:38 am

      Yes! Take charge and be sure to do the things you enjoy doing. It’s good for your daughter to see you taking care of yourself mentally and physically!

       
      • towardshealthylife

        August 20, 2012 at 3:35 am

        Yes I should really take care of the physical too 🙂

         
      • towardshealthylife

        August 21, 2012 at 10:37 pm

        Thanks for pointing that out to me Shadow because it’s so true, it will help her as much as it helps me!

         
  7. Jules

    August 31, 2012 at 12:44 am

    Glad that the vacation helped you in finding what makes you happy. You definitely deserve time off for YOU and only YOU. Enjoy!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 31, 2012 at 12:45 am

      Thanks Julia! Wait til you hear what I’m gonna do! 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
