RSS

Mikefoolery

16 Aug

As usual, we had a busy night at the hotel last night.  When we are sold out, it’s tricky to to get everything ‘just right’ for all our guests and being the most experienced one at the desk all evening, the responsibility went to me.  I enjoy the responsibility, but it requires so much professionalism, quick thinking, level-headedness, and experience, that it would be nice if the pay/title matched the work I do.

Manager Mike had been tied up most of the evening working on meeting rooms that we needed for the next day. All of our public housepersons that would normally take guest requests up were recruited to help.  So when I got a call for an ice bucket, I planned to take it up myself.

However, I needed Mike’s key to open the housekeeping closet.  As we headed down the elevator together I asked him what all needed to be done up there.  He explained to me that the meeting room had been used to store extra chairs, so they needed to move the stacks to the storage room located on the lower level of the garage.

He went on to say the stacks were 10 chairs high, and things were going really well until Don’s stack accidentally fell over onto a black Mustang down there.

Silence.

My heart dropped to my toes as my mind raced to determine if this could be a joke. Mike’s fairly new to the hotel, and we haven’t really gotten to know each other’s personal life, and I couldn’t remember a time we had discussed that I drive a Mustang…  please, let it be a joke….

Seconds later I respond – “Shut. Up.   Did it really?”

When he started laughing, my relief was immediate, although I still felt the tingling in my toes.  “I wondered if that was yours,” he replied.  “I knew you were from Illinois and I didn’t see a guest registration card in your window so I figured it was an employee’s.  I took the chance!”

I couldn’t keep from smiling!  I mean, I set him up perfectly by asking what they were working on,  and he jumped on it.  I was quite impressed, actually.

Funny how that little joke helped me get through the rest of the night. Every time I thought about it, I smiled.

Even after Mr. 862 called down ticked off that he didn’t have hot water in his tub, but he did in his sink, and didn’t want maintenance Mike to work on it while he stood naked and dripping wet. (I wasn’t about to tell the angry bear that I was positive it was user error…)

Even after I took a phone call from an indecisive lady right at the end of my shift, who was just looking for quotes on room rates… and 20 minutes later, she finally hangs up saying she’ll have to think about it.  WTF.

Even after clocking out a half hour late, and making it halfway home before remembering I left my computer at the hotel, so I had to turn around and go get it.

Even after all that, when I thought about his little joke, I smiled.  In what can be a very stressful environment, it’s nice to have a good laugh.

I like Mike.  🙂

 

 

 
15 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2012 in Blunders, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “Mikefoolery

  1. Erin

    August 16, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    I keep thinking that working in a hotel has to allow for some interesting characters and stories – nightly! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 16, 2012 at 11:01 pm

      You are absolutely right! Especially in the late evening and overnight. (Thankfully I don’t work overnight.) I didn’t even list all the issues we had last night, but not all nights are like that. For the most part, it’s a pretty fun time. Guests are on vacation or going to ball games, so they are usually in a pretty good mood. Last night’s problems came from business travelers who are typically in a bad mood. I suppose I understand why. :/

       
  2. Abby

    August 17, 2012 at 1:04 am

    Oh, that Mike! He’s quick! I like him too! So… you’re going to get him back, right?

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 17, 2012 at 2:02 am

      I wish I could say yes, but I’m not very good at foolin’ people. I tend to give it away before I get to the punch line. I enjoy a good joke though, and I thought this was good! I wonder, had I never asked, would he have set the joke up himself….

       
  3. Rock Chef

    August 17, 2012 at 7:59 am

    That is funny! You need someone like that around to lighten the mood!

    IMO the people you work with can make or break any job.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 17, 2012 at 2:51 pm

      I really like the people I work with. Mike’s only been there about a month, and my first impression of him was not very good. However, the longer he’s there, the more I like is management style and now – his personality! I almost take it as a compliment. He must know that I’d find the humor in it, ’cause like Agg said, not everyone takes kindly to messin’ around with your ride.

       
      • Rock Chef

        August 17, 2012 at 3:21 pm

        Especially when it is such a nice ride!

         
      • shadowrun300

        August 17, 2012 at 3:52 pm

        Thanks! I happen to like it. Lots.

         
  4. agg79

    August 17, 2012 at 11:20 am

    Boy, Mike’s got a sense of humor. It’s a good thing you like him and could roll with the joke. Some people don’t take with messing around with their rides very well, Sounds like a really challenging day, especially if you had to go back to the hotel after halfway home (that would be hard for me).

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 17, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      I think I was most impressed with how quick he jumped on it. I mean, he had the WHOLE story, so it was quite believable – for a minute. And he wasn’t even sure it was mine!
      That night was very challenging. So much more happened that I didn’t even mention. Since it was 10:30pm, and a half hour after I was scheduled off, I rushed out, leaving my computer in the break room. I HAD to go back to get it, because I was off the next TWO days!!!

       
      • agg79

        August 17, 2012 at 5:01 pm

        That night sounds like it was definitely a 2+ beer night for you. There is not much I would turn the old truck around for one it was headed for home, but I guess the laptop or phone would do it. Hope the two days off give you time to recoup.

         
  5. territerri

    August 19, 2012 at 3:00 am

    It’s good to have someone like Mike around. My whole department experiences stress and frustration on a daily basis. We all try to keep each other laughing whenever possible. One of my coworkers told me one day that if I needed anything to be sure to come and grab him. I said, “Ok, but I think grabbing is prohibited by the employee handbook.” I thought I might have pushed the limits with that one, but his reaction was much like you described yours to be.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 19, 2012 at 10:35 am

      It seems like you all tend to find humor quite often. It really does make the stressful days easier to get through.

       
  6. Jules

    August 31, 2012 at 12:49 am

    It’s great enjoying the people who you work with. Glad you have a good one 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 31, 2012 at 12:52 am

      I still like Mike, but I miss my old boss quite a bit. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
