RSS

At Long Last

18 Aug

So this is what it’s like.

I’d almost forgotten.

I mean, it’s been at least three weeks, since I’ve experienced this, this, …what’s it called?

Oh, yeah.

Weekend!

I’m finally getting a real weekend.

Real to me means two days in a row.

Since I’ve been back from Colorado, I’ve worked 5 days, had 1 off, worked 4 days, had 1 off, worked 3 days and finally… I have two off in a row.

And it has been heavenly.

I finally was able to take Mario school shopping.  Yes, I know.  School has started already.  I’ve never aspired to be Mother of the Year.  I’m just tryin’ to keep us afloat until she can legally take care of herself. In my defense, she had the basics by her first day – a pencil, notebooks, a few folders and a bag to carry it all in.

But now she has the proper attire.  Shorts that come down past her fingertips, jeans that aren’t too short for her ever growing legs, and lotsa t-shirts.  For years I would succumb to cute little outfits that she wanted so bad, but then she’d end up wearing shorts and a t-shirt every day. This year, I told her I would buy her shorts and t-shirts.  And she was happy!

We drove home a few hours later in pouring rain.  You heard that right.  Pouring Rain!  It has not rained since the last time I blogged about it.  Our satellite was out most of the night, the lights were flickering, and I was thrilled about it all.  We received about 1.5 inches, and I’m quite sure the trees and grass guzzled it down. Many of the pine trees in the area are completely brown.  The corn is shriveled and dry.  The grass is…. well, sadly, I think ours isn’t going to make it.  So the rain was a welcome relief.  I spent the stormy night in front of my computer, researching cupcakes for a co-worker’s son’s birthday.  I told her I would bake some, because after all…

I had two days off!

I didn’t want to waste a minute of my second day,  so I woke at 5:30am, hopped on my elliptical (to give my sore ankle a rest), downed some coffee, and got the kids to school by 7:30.  Then I raced to the store to restock the fridge and purchase cupcake supplies.  I was home by 9, ate breakfast, did some laundry, washed my car, scrubbed the floor, and baked the cakes – all before lunch time!

When hubby got back from his business trip, I easily convinced him to go out for a ride.  Last night’s rain made for a beautiful 80 degree day today, and my Shadow was calling. We rode by the lake near our house, and commented on how nobody seems to use it anymore.  It’s sad to see it so empty.  We reminisced (I spelled that right the first try!) about our old camping and boating days, sighed, then got back on the bikes and continued to ride around the county for an hour or so.

I spent the rest of the day making single serve dinners for the kids to heat up. Sloppy Joe meat, Taco meat, and grilled chicken strips. We’re rarely all on the same schedule, so easy to heat meals are great for them.  (Hmmm… maybe I should apply for Mother of the Year. Except that last week we had absolutely no food in the house, so I did this mostly out of guilt…)

I finished up the night decorating the cupcakes.

It’s been a while since I’ve had a 10 year old boy. I’m hoping this one likes dirt and worms.

Then I cozied up on the couch with my computer, my ice cream, and Diners, Drive-ins and Dives on the tube.

A perfect “Sunday” night.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2012 in Baking, Everyday Living, motorcycle

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “At Long Last

  1. Erin

    August 18, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    Now all I want is dirt cupcakes!:)

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 18, 2012 at 9:14 pm

      Somehow I managed to get them to my co-worker without biting into one. The homemade Oreo cream was especially awesome! I bet your your little man would love these! 🙂

       
  2. territerri

    August 18, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    Sounds like a heavenly weekend. I am like you. I want to rise early and squeeze as many hours out of the day as possible.

    It’s good to hear you got to take a ride with the hubby. You have to make time to take care of your soul too, not just the needs of everyone else. You’ve got good balance.

    The ten year olds will LOVE those cupcakes!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 18, 2012 at 9:20 pm

      You know, I slept til 7am on my first day off because I didn’t get home from work til LATE the night before. By the time I got back from my run it was almost 9am. I felt like my whole day was gone! So I made sure I didn’t sleep through any part of my next day!
      It was a well-balanced weekend for sure. I needed it. 🙂

       
  3. Abby

    August 18, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Ack, you totally owned your “weekend”! Nice job, I need coaching!

    I remember hearing a back-to-school tip about not buying all the new clothes for the first day. Wait 2 weeks or so. By then, they’re wearing what they plan to wear the rest of the year, and everything else is in the back of the closet.

    I have NEVER met a 10-year-old boy that didn’t like worms ‘n’ dirt cupcakes. Ever.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 18, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      Well, the key is to NOT clean the bathrooms… and I think you have that down pat already. 😉
      I could have used your back-to-school tip 3 years ago! I tend to learn things the hard way.

       
  4. agg79

    August 18, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    Great way to take advantage of the “weekend”. After the week you’ve had, You sounded like you seriously needed the time to do your own thing. Glad to hear you finally got some rain up there, too.

    Glad you were able to get some bike riding in. I bet your Shadow was feeling neglected.

     
    • agg79

      August 18, 2012 at 6:02 pm

      PS – even some of us 55 year old like the dirt & worms cupcakes.

       
      • shadowrun300

        August 18, 2012 at 9:27 pm

        We’re still planning to visit Austin. I wonder if dirt cupcakes travel well…
        I’m not off again til next Friday, but I’m planning on a much longer trip with Shadow and Strat. Keep your fingers crossed that the weather is nice for that day!

         
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    August 19, 2012 at 12:53 am

    That’s sooo nice Shadow! You deserve it! I am so glad you enjoyed (coffee and cupcakes sound great!) 🙂 so happy you had those two days off! I have been trying to bake something today but can’t seem to find the inspiration… who knows… maybe your cupcakes do the trick 🙂

     
  6. towardshealthylife

    August 19, 2012 at 6:11 am

    Dirt and worm seems perfect for boys:-) enjoy your days off!

     
  7. Jules

    August 31, 2012 at 12:58 am

    Glad you had a productive day 🙂 I love those days off where I’m just lazy, but I love those other days where I make myself be productive and then I feel so accomplished afterwards

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 31, 2012 at 1:03 am

      That’s what made having two days off in a row so nice! Once can be for bummin’, one can be for responsibilities….

       

Leave a Reply

 
