RSS

Co-Working

21 Aug

When I started my first job with a hotel, I was eager to learn.  Therefore, I was a great student.

I was like a sponge, trying to soak it all in. Luckily, I had a great teacher.  I asked tons of questions.   She very patiently answered them all, and the more I learned, the more she wanted to show me.  I remember being so impressed about how unselfish she seemed.  Quite often, people in higher level positions will show their trainees just enough to do a good job, but not enough to possibly overtake their position.  She was not like that at all.  Because of that, I never would have even tried to compete against her.

She was also very quick to offer praise, and was able to deliver constructive criticism if necessary.  I respected her tremendously and looked forward to working with her.  I attribute my great customer service skills to her.

When a Supervisor position opened up, she enthusiastically asked me to apply, and then did her best to recommend me to the management.  As I’ve mentioned before, they offered the position to the one who’d been there longer, and not the one who would take the role seriously and do the job well.

When I informed her I was leaving, it was very difficult.  I didn’t want to leave the hotel, I didn’t want to leave her, but I didn’t want to continue to be there.  Not only did management seem to do things backwards, they weren’t paying their bills on time, and I felt like I was on a sinking ship.

She was as sad to see me go as I was, but she genuinely wanted me to do what was best for me.

When I started my job with my current hotel, the training process wasn’t quite the same.  I was not a good student this time around.

First of all, I felt like I knew about the hotel business and didn’t want to be taught how to take care of the guests.   Customer service is my forte,  if I do say so myself, so I took offense when my trainer, another desk agent, not a supervisor, would tell me things that I thought were quite obvious.

The only thing I wanted her for was to learn the system.  I kept thinkin’, if she would just hurry up and show me how to check someone in or out, then I’d be able to do my job.  So as soon as I learned that, I became very independent.  I made decisions on my  own and rarely asked questions.

She noticed this and actually went to our Supervisor, who told her she should have a talk with me, and try to work things out.

I was honest with her, and said I had a hard time being a student coming from a Supervisor position at my old hotel.  I felt like I knew how to do the job, I just wanted to learn the system.  We ended the meeting on an “okay” note, but things were a little awkward between us after that.

I came to dread the days I worked with her, because often times she would make me feel like a trainee, and what I wanted was the same respect I was given from my previous Supervisor.  I felt like our conversations were forced, and that we both were just trying to be nice.

I was thinking about those early days as I worked with her today.  Somewhere in this past year, I must have earned her respect.  We talk like co-workers now, working together to provide a great experience for our guests. When we aren’t busy, we talk about our daughters and parenting.  We laugh, we joke, and it’s fun!

I respect her more as well.  I’ve learned that it’s in her personality to show people things.  To teach them.  She’s like that with her daughter, her fiancee’ and other hotel workers.  It wasn’t that she thought I was inept at my job, it’s just that she wanted to be thorough about teaching me.

When she left today, I let her know that I enjoyed working with her.  It’s so nice to really like the people you spend hours with, and I’m happy I no longer feel like we’re teacher and student.     She’ll start school again next week, and her hours will get cut back to part-time.  I’m actually going to miss her.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2012 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to “Co-Working

  1. agg79

    August 21, 2012 at 10:15 am

    It is hard to leave a place where you have so much experience and start over again where they think you have none. You are considered the newbie, the rookie, the greenhorn and don’t know squat about the new place, the people or the job. Even thought you can work circles around everyone, you have to prove yourself all over again. This can be especially hard if your new boss/trainer doesn’t trust you (yet). It can be tense if you don’t sync up at first, but as your case bore out, given time and persistence, you won them over. It’s been a while, but I’ve changed jobs twice and had the exact same learning curve. The current one I started out in the warehouse pulling material and in the shipping area shipping product. Had to earn my stripes just like everyone else. Glad you finally worn over your co-worker.

     
  2. agg79

    August 21, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Correction: Make that Glad you finally WON over your co-worker.
    I really should stop typing these comments with my elbows.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 21, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      If it makes you feel better, I read it as “won” and had to go reread it after you made your correction. “Worn” may very well be the correct word anyway. 🙂
      I don’t mind being the newbie if I’m really a newbie, but in this case, I felt like I knew the job already, so yeah, it was very hard. I kinda feel bad that I wasn’t a better student for her, but part of being a good teacher/trainer is knowing what kind of student you’re teaching and adapt. Either way, I’m so thankful there is no tension between us anymore. She’s a great desk agent and we work well as a team.

       
  3. Abby

    August 21, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    Isn’t it nice to like your co-workers? As I was reading this, I was thinking that I’ve been lucky to have enjoyed most of the people I’ve worked with. I fully understand how her training you in customer service aspects would be a bit insulting, and I’m glad that you two stuck it out and smoothed over the differences. I’m sure your guests benefit from it too.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 21, 2012 at 5:48 pm

      I have great co-workers here. We have our usual mumbling and grumbling complaints, but we all work hard and we all put the guests first – in every department. That is one thing I like better about this hotel than the last one. Last time there were only a handful that really cared about the hotel and guests. So, I’m happy too that we’ve been able to put the early days behind us. Definitely makes gettin’ through the day a lot more fun!

       
  4. territerri

    August 21, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    I’m so glad you have a coworker who makes your job more enjoyable. I have had several of those over the years. Just over a year ago, my company reorganized. I didn’t think I’d find anyone in my new department who I’d feel really close and comfortable with. But as it turns out, there are now several of them. People like that make all the stresses and frustrations seem more manageable.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 22, 2012 at 4:02 am

      I love your co-worker stories. I remember how nervous you were about the reorganization, so I’m glad to hear you have quite a few friends there. It really does make a difference to work with someone you can talk to on a personal level. Especially in a place that requires a lot of teamwork.

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    August 22, 2012 at 2:20 am

    It’s crazy how our first impression or first contact with a co-worker can be wrong! Sometimes the ones you like at first turns out to be the ones you dislike the most! You don’t chose your co-workers but they are the ones you spend most of the day with so you learn to appreciate some and to put up others I guess 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 22, 2012 at 4:06 am

      You are exactly right, because the one that I used to like working with the most, is starting to get on my nerves… but not so much that I dread working with her. I only have one co-worker that I put up with. He works overnights mostly, so I rarely work with him. On the occasion that I do, I don’tm ind so much because I know it’ll be a long time before I have to work with him again.

       
  6. Jules

    September 1, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Every supervisor has their own way of teaching…which I find somewhat frustrating…seeing as how with the staff I have now, they were trained differently depending on who trained them and sometimes it wasn’t the right way…so there is that inconsistency of service. Since I’ve been back though I’ve solely taken on the two new ones who have come on board (and will train all future newbies) and I feel a lot better about these two knowing that they’ve been trained right (of course you know who the other trainer responsibilities would fall to if it weren’t me). I did re-learn an important lesson though, and that is that every new person is different…whether they have hotel experience or not, you can’t train each person the same way.
    The first one caught on to things before I had the chance to explain them, even not having any prior hotel experience, so even after 3 days I wasn’t trying to teach him stuff. I would ask him if he had done this or that or experienced this type of issue and if he hadn’t I would show him, but otherwise he basically trained himself and he is GOOD. I cut him loose after only 2-3 weeks and was there only for support and for questions. The next one I kept for about a month and was much more involved in training him. He was a great learner and is a couple weeks away from being thrown into the “normal” scheduling.

    I’m glad you and your supervisor get along now…I think from what you have said that I would have to side with you on your initial training…sure, each hotel brand has its own way of doing things…but it’s the trainer’s responsibility to observe and constantly change the way they train you depending on how you respond and perform.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 2, 2012 at 2:37 am

      I’m so happy you’re getting quality people to work the desk there. And I’m happy YOU’RE doing the training still/again.
      In my trainer’s defense, she really wasn’t trained to train, and nor was she a supervisor. She was kinda thrown into it. But I’m glad it’s all behind us now. It’s so much nicer now. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
