RSS

My Seventh Day

25 Aug

What does working six days in a row get you?

The right to spend your 7th day doin’ what you like!

And what I like is:

1.  Running in my new shoes…..

I still love them!

I’ve only put 13 miles on them in three runs so far, but I’m excited about trying a longer run tomorrow.  I think they’ll treat me well.

2. Baking…..

Banana Muffins

I’ve had bananas in my freezer for a few months now, and this evening I decided it was time to bake with them.  These will stay with the family. They make better breakfasts than pop-tarts.

3. Riding my Shadow.

Me and My Shadow…riding down the river road.

I convinced Hubby to take the day off too, and we traveled to Grafton, Illinois just to ride up and down the Great River Road.  We stopped off for breakfast first, then continued North.  We parked the bikes for a while and walked through the little stores in Grafton.  It’s great to see this little town growing.  Lots of antique stores, wineries, and cafes right along the river.   We headed home in the early afternoon, putting 150 miles on the bikes today.  Haven’t done that since we went to Grumpy’s.

Topped the day off with a quick vacuum of golden hairs, and a bowl of ice cream on the couch!

Gotta love “Saturdays”!

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “My Seventh Day

  1. territerri

    August 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    I really need to look into new shoes. You seem to like yours so much… and the ball of my right foot has been complaining for a couple of weeks. I think it’s a sign!

    Your muffins remind me that I’ve got blueberries in the refrigerator and they’re not going to get eaten unless they end up in some muffins.

    Your motorcycle looks like so much fun! And it’s awesome that you and your hubs have something to do together that you both enjoy so much. So glad you had such a wonderful “Saturday.”

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 25, 2012 at 2:55 pm

      It was scary for me to try new shoes so quickly after buying my last pair. I didn’t want to throw another $80-$100 down the drain, but I am thrilled with these shoes. I watched a lot of videos and did quite a bit of research as well, so that helped with my decision.
      I have blueberries in the freezer too! My daughter asked me last night to make muffins with them, so I may have to do that today!
      Every time I go for a motorcycle ride it’s exciting! Such a thrill!

       
  2. agg79

    August 25, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    You keep going on about your new shooz, I just might have to change my mind. I still find it funny/ironic that those new Nike Frees look a lot like my old Reebok CL1000s I used to run in back in the 80s. It is good to hear you got a well deserved day off and you spent it doing all the “me” things you like to do. I’m betting that time on your Shadow felt really good.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 25, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      I guess having been plagued with injuries for the past few years and viewing running with pain as par for the course, it’s shocking to me how easy it is to run now. The only pain I’ve had is the soreness of new muscles, which is now cured, and the starting of new callouses. I ran 7 miles today. A new record for me! Halfway to a half marathon.
      I was so happy the weather cooperated for our long ride yesterday. I’d been looking forward to it all week! I finally hit the 2000 mile mark!

       
  3. Abby

    August 25, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    Sounds like a great “Saturday”, way to make use of your time off! It’s almost cool enough here that I might fire up the oven and make use of some freezer bananas too. And doesn’t a pair of awesome shoes make for a pleasant run? I spent quality time with my flex runs this morning too.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 25, 2012 at 4:24 pm

      Pleasant run. It’s been a while since I’ve used those two words in the same sentence! Thanks again for the recommendation. 🙂

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    August 28, 2012 at 6:36 am

    I thought I was the only one who freezes bananas 🙂 It does looks like a beautiful ride!

     
  5. shadowrun300

    August 28, 2012 at 10:25 am

    So easy to freeze then bake with them, isn’t it? 🙂

     
  6. Jules

    September 7, 2012 at 1:37 am

    Sounds like a great day!! I don’t think I told you that I rode a motorcycle for the FIRST TIME a few weeks ago. Mike’s good friend has one and I finally hopped on the back and he took me for a spin. I was holding on to him for dear life as he sped down the road. It was fun though!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 7, 2012 at 1:45 am

      My first time was SO scary! But after the first few rides, I was hooked. Keep it up and before long, you’ll be riding your own! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
