RSS

Stumbled Upon?

26 Aug

I like the idea of having an anonymous blog site.  I want to be able to complain about work, or people I know.  I want to be honest about my thoughts and not risk hurting feelings.  I am careful not to write about people or topics that I know would bother my known readers.

So I was quite surprised to receive a comment the other day from Dave.

Now, I don’t know Dave, but I wrote something that could have possibly hurt Dave’s feelings. My post was honest, blunt and downright critical.

Perhaps you remember it.

It was titled Wild Hog-ette.  I wrote about my fantastic ride down to Carbondale, IL. I described my excitement about trying a new BBQ joint.  I openly criticized the meal I had, then I posted a picture of my hubby in front of their sign.  He may or may not have been giving it the finger.

Never would I have thought that the manager of the place would find my little blog site and read my review. But Dave is obviously stealthy like that.

His comment sat in my inbox for a few days, awaiting my approval.  During that time, I revisited my blog post  to remind myself of what I had said.  I secretly hoped it wasn’t too bad now that I knew one of them  had read it.

I decided that while it wasn’t positive in any way, it was my feelings at the time, and I’m not sorry I wrote it.  The picture might have been a little harsh, but we were just having fun.  (I was more concerned about my later post about dashing.)

In Dave’s comment he mentioned that he was sorry we had an unpleasant first experience.  He would like us to come back and perhaps try another item off their menu.  He said he appreciated my feedback, even if it was bad, and then he thanked me for it!

I approved the comment.  Mainly because he was so professional about it.  I have to admire a manager who seeks out reviews, then takes the time to acknowledge it.   I have half a notion to go back and see if  The King is actually piled high with brisket now.  Wouldn’t it be somethin’ if me and my little blog had the power to make a difference?

Even if it’s only in the BBQ world.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2012 in BBQ, Blunders

 

16 responses to “Stumbled Upon?

  1. Janet

    August 26, 2012 at 8:28 am

    Hi there! I just nominated you for inspiring blog award. Here is a link to instructions on what to do next.
    http://frozencream.wordpress.com/2012/08/26/inspiring-blog-award/

     
  2. Abby

    August 26, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    Well, that must have been a bit of a heart-skipper to see a comment from Dave show up! I totally agree when you say “… it was my feelings at the time, and I’m not sorry I wrote it.” Maybe it will get them to make their meals stand up to what’s advertised. Competition in business is good – and so is the internet!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 26, 2012 at 9:05 pm

      My heart really did skip a beat! But he was so professional, that I had to admire the guy. I suppose if I was posting an actual review, say on Trip Adviser, I would have done so with a little more class. 😉

       
      • Abby

        August 26, 2012 at 11:38 pm

        Like Agg says, I think Grumpy’s Dave should have offered a free meal – at least a buy-one-get-one kind of thing. And let me just add that I thought your photo of the hubby giving his nonverbal review served to help your message 🙂

         
      • shadowrun300

        August 26, 2012 at 11:52 pm

        Glad you approve. I thought it was quite brilliant on his part.
        At our hotel… if you’re not happy with your stay, you either get your money back or get a free night certificate for another time. It’s just good business, ya know? 😉

         
  3. agg79

    August 26, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    I hate to tell you this, but with today’s internet access, if you think you are anonymous as you might think. If you Google Grumpy’s Smokehouse, your Wild Hog-ette is about the 7th page in, so anyone looking for Grumpy’s would have stumbled across your rating. I think your first report may have been tough but was pretty much spot on. Some places live on their quality of service/product and if it doesn’t live up to the hype, you are right to be disappointed. Especially after riding all that way to sample the BBQ.

    I will give Lil Dave some props, though – at least he was trying to reach out to make amends or asking for a 2nd chance. Nice professional, honest answer. I’m not sure if it is worth a ride out that far again to sample “the King”. Now, if he had offered a free lunch for you and your hubby, that’s a different story…..

    BTW – I am a regular user of TripAdvisor and I like to read up on places before I go to get a general (unvarnished?) opinion. Grumpy’s seems to have a hit or miss rep.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 26, 2012 at 9:26 pm

      So I made the 7th page? How exciting!!
      The fact that Dave asked for a second chance without making excuses impressed me. I thought the same thing you did though. It would have been nice to be offered a free meal as an enticement to give them another try. It’s too long a drive to risk being disappointed again.
      I use TripAdvisor too, but didn’t think to look up Grumpy’s. I normally use it to see how well our hotel is doing. I guess it would make sense to use it for BBQ joints as well. 🙂

       
      • agg79

        August 26, 2012 at 11:31 pm

        I hear you on TA (TripAdvisor). I am a regular contributor and I am up to one or two stars -have done 13-14 reviews on hotels and places to see/eat. I tend to use it cause it give a somewhat unbiased report but you have to weed out the whiners. Whenever I head off on a road trip, I typically will TA the area to see what places are good and see what kind of hotel I have booked. So far, it has been pretty reliable.

         
      • shadowrun300

        August 26, 2012 at 11:59 pm

        Lots of people use TA, (I like that you use it as a verb!) and most people give a pretty honest review. It’s very helpful when used correctly. I would have been a little more professional on that forum. My blog? Well, it’s my blog. So it’s gettin’ the finger. 🙂

         
  4. territerri

    August 26, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    I like that Dave was professional and asked you to give them another try. No restaurant is perfect and they can only improve when someone points out that their experience didn’t live up to expectations.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 27, 2012 at 12:21 am

      Exactly! I’m happy that he cares enough to search for opinions on his restaurant – and the fact that he responded professionally despite my unprofessional opinion was quite honorable. I joke about it, yes, but his response may just give me reason to go back.

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    August 28, 2012 at 6:49 am

    I agree with the others that he was very nice and profesionnal but if he really wanted you back there and to have another chance at making you a happy custumer he would have offered a free meal so in my opinion maybe he was just trying to “save the face” in front of the other potential custumer that might read your review. Riding all the way there and pay for another risky meal…if you liked the ride why not 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 28, 2012 at 10:28 am

      I agree with you. I think he was “saving face”. I would love to ride down there again, but I’ll be trying a different place. Too many good ones out there! 🙂

       
  6. Jules

    September 8, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    It’s nice to know someone is out there looking for feedback about their company, whether good or bad. You should write a book about bbq places and the experience riding there and back 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 8, 2012 at 8:32 pm

      If I had the time, I would totally be like Guy Fieri on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. Riding around, trying new places and foods, and writing about them.
      I thought it was nice too that he was out looking for feedback. I’d rather go to a place who cares about what people think than one that doesn’t.

       

Leave a Reply

 
