RSS

Above and Beyond

29 Aug

When I signed into my computer at work yesterday, I was greeted with “You have one message waiting.”

I immediately flashed back to my newbie days when I often was greeted this way. Usually the messages were from managers, about something I did incorrectly, or something I forgot to do, or friendly reminders to do such and such.

As a do-gooder, these messages always bother me.  I try hard to be detail oriented, and if I slip up, I can be very tough on myself.

I haven’t received one of those messages for a while, but whenever I have one waiting, my heart still skips a beat wondering what  I did wrong.

Yesterday’s message was from a co-worker.  A guest had asked her the night before to print out a boarding pass for him at exactly 9:05 am to ensure he get group A on his flight. Since she wouldn’t be working, she asked if I would kindly do it.

Of course I would.  I’m all about fulfilling a guest’s request.

Except she hadn’t given me the name of the guest or what airline he was flying out on. All I had was his confirmation and his destination – Nashville, TN.

I called her hoping for more details.  She knew it was Southwest Airlines, but she explained that she hadn’t gotten his name, didn’t think she would need it….

oooh boy.  At this time it was 8:45am, and I was preparing myself with ways to explain to the guest how I was not able to follow through on our promise.

I wasn’t satisfied with excuses though.  So my brain whirled with ideas on how I could make this work.

I decided that since we weren’t too full these days, that I would go through each individual guest who was due to depart on Wednesday.  I opened up any reservation with a male name, hoping to find one who lives in Tennessee.

At first, the names I opened up had no address on file.

Not to be discouraged, I kept going.  When I opened up Mr. Creed’s file, I found his hometown was Franklin, TN.

Bingo.

I checked out a few more, but was pretty confident I had the right one already.

Sure enough, at 9:05am, I hit the button to check him into his flight.  I crossed my fingers while the computer searched for his flight information.

When it popped up stating that he had been checked in, and was in group A, I could have jumped up and down with joy.

He came by about 10am to pick up his boarding pass. He was thrilled to have gotten the first group, but he never knew what I had to do to make it work.

No matter.  I knew what I had done.  I had fulfilled a guest’s request, as promised, and the feeling of satisfaction I get from that is second to none.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2012 in The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Above and Beyond

  1. Abby

    August 29, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    That’s part of the secret, right? Make it all look easy to the customer. Your investigative talents are worthy of a new crime drama. CSI: ShadowRun’s Hotel.

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 29, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      It really was fun trying to come up with a solution, then get hit over the head with an idea and have it work! I was happy I had the time to do that. Had we been crazy busy, it would not have been possible.
      And yeah – he didn’t have to know the behind-the-scenes investigative work I had to do – all he needs to know is we followed through on a promise. 🙂

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    August 30, 2012 at 7:29 am

    Well done! At least you can tell us! I think it wouldn’t hurt if the custumer would know what staff have to do to please them sometimes but of course you cannot go and tell them. I wish your boss would find out about things like that 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 30, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      I’m glad I have friends to brag to. My supervisor witnessed my success, so that was nice, but I’ve given up trying to impress any of them. I plan to move on pretty soon, and until then I’ll just do my job the best I can.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    August 30, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    Wonderful stuff – that is the sort of service we all hope for, but rarely get 😦

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 30, 2012 at 2:05 pm

      I think that’s why I like being in the customer service field and why I like our company so much. We strive to give “plus 1” service, and for the most part the guests really appreciate it – especially since it’s so rare. It’s a fun job in that respect.

       
  4. agg79

    September 1, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    You guys can do that? I am typically the one to set my watch alarm for 15 minutes before the 24 hour window to log in and get that high coveted “A” spot. The system seems so “high schoolish” but being the first wave to board the plane does make a big difference. Especially when you get to pick your seat. Of course, there are others who pay the $$ extra to get a better spot in line, but my company is too cheap to pay those “convenience” fees. Kudos. That’s pretty darned nice of you guys. Of course, I could ask why he couldn’t wake up at 0900 to confirm his own SW reservation? Still, great customer service.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 2, 2012 at 1:52 am

      Well, in his defense, he was in a meeting within the hotel at that time.
      Our hotel chain is very keen on customer service, so we will say YES whenever possible, even if it means some crazy planning on our part. That’s one of the reasons I keep hanging on there. It’s fun helping people out!
      We fly SW whenever we can, but the check-in process can be stressful – trying to get the coveted A spot. If you ever have a trip to St. Louis, I would be happy to relieve you of that stress. 🙂

       
  5. territerri

    September 3, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    This is what makes you such a stellar employee. You go the extra mile to make sure your guests have exactly what they need. SO many others (and believe me, I know some of them) would shrug it off and chalk it up to being someone else’s problem.

    Nice job!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 4, 2012 at 2:00 am

      I know some of them as well – who would have shrugged it off. I just can’t do that. Then again, that’s the reason I’m so stressed when we’re busy and understaffed. We’re not able to go the extra mile on those days, and it really bothers me. I hate for our guests to feel like they are “just another guest”.

       
  6. Jules

    September 8, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    Your co-worker didn’t think the name was necessary?? I feel your pain with that. I get those notes in our communication book that something needs done or a guest wants someone to look at their a/c “in the morning” and I never know what that means considering “morning” is from 12:01a.m. to 11:59 a.m. A great one I had lately was “615 no housekeeping service”. That’s it. So I don’t know if they didn’t get service and were complaining, or they called down to say they didn’t want service, and I didn’t know if it was for the day before after I had left or supposed to be for the next morning I came in.

    Look at you though, being an investigator. That’s a great idea what you did, I don’t think I would have thought of that! I hope your coworker knew what you had to go through to get it!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 8, 2012 at 11:39 pm

      Yeah – well, she didn’t think it was needed. Isn’t that the first thing people ask???
      Anyway, it worked out. Sometimes I surprise myself with my skills. lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
