RSS

In the Mood

31 Aug

Rarely am I in the mood.

I suppose it’s because my days start so early, or end so late.

I suppose it’s because I do for others all day at work, so I don’t want to do anything after that.

I suppose when I am not at work I want to be selfish and lazy. And run and bake and eat and blog. Period.

So I was a little shocked today to find myself in the mood.

Hubby couldn’t believe it either.

We’d gotten the kids off to school in a timely fashion.  I’d just finished my usual meal of some oatmeal, a banana and yogurt, and had marked my spot in Fifty Shades of Grey.

That’s when I felt the burning need inside me.

Not wanting to lose the feeling, I began right away to fulfill my desires.

I started with the appliance cabinet. I de-crumbed and de-grimed the toaster.  I pieced the blender back together. I pitched the appliances I never use, then wiped everything down before putting it all back in.

I swiftly moved to the storage bowl cabinet where our hoarding of plastic bowls is evident.   I recycled a few of the butter and cool whip bowls, and then organized the rest of them by size and shape.

Feeling more and more excited with each progression,  I continued to the lid drawer and slowly opened it – sheesh.  Some of these lids haven’t covered a bowl for months, but I  continue to hang on to them, obviously too attached.  Hubby reminded me to check our usual bowl storage places – under the kids’ beds.  When that turned up nothing, I decided it was time to let go.

Not having achieved satisfaction yet, I continued on to the cabinet doors.  I scrubbed grease, fingerprints, cookie dough, and spilled milk off of all the doors.

I attacked the stainless steel appliances.  Then the refrigerator shelves.

The coffee maker.

The washing machine.

The kitty liter.

The dog hairs.

The floors.

My happy ending came with the scrubbing of the toilets and the bathroom sinks.

Hoo boy, am I drained, but the bliss I feel at this moment is breathtaking.

I wonder if this will lead to being in the mood more often.

One can only dream….

The similarities are uncanny!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2012 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: ,

15 responses to “In the Mood

  1. towardshealthylife

    August 31, 2012 at 7:07 am

    lol Very funny! Well looking at my house, I am not in the mood too often either 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 31, 2012 at 11:45 am

      That’s why, when the mood struck, I jumped on it! 🙂

       
  2. Rock Chef

    August 31, 2012 at 10:19 am

    So, saw this linked to you reading THAT BOOK? I have heard a lot of things about it, but was not aware that it gave readers the urge to clean their house!

     
    • shadowrun300

      August 31, 2012 at 11:44 am

      Totally recommend it to anyone lacking desire…. to clean or otherwise. 😉

       
      • Rock Chef

        August 31, 2012 at 4:25 pm

        Thanks – I will bear that in mind – never know when I will have to clean the house up!

         
  3. Abby

    August 31, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    Whew, what a romp! Nothing like a good cleaning of the… 50 shades of grime. Very motivating 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 2, 2012 at 1:57 am

      I, for one, was very satisfied after my romp. Finished it off with a cigarette, I mean a bowl of ice cream afterwards.

       
  4. agg79

    September 1, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    You must have been reading that other version – 50 Shades of Grey (laundry). Such a tawdry tail.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 2, 2012 at 2:00 am

      You’re right. This version is a much “cleaner” version. I’ve heard the real version is, well… um…. dirty. 😉

       
  5. territerri

    September 3, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    Oooh, that sounds SO fulfilling! But please don’t be so vocal about having these needs and getting them fulfilled. If MY husband gets wind of this, he’s going to be expecting the same from me! Sssshhhhh! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 4, 2012 at 1:56 am

      Of course, I’ll keep it secret. After all, I know exactly how THAT is – I don’t want my hubby to be expecting this from me every time I pick up the book.

       
  6. meleahrebeccah

    September 5, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    Ahahahahahhaahhaah! I am almost always in the mood to clean the house. It’s a sickness, I know!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 6, 2012 at 12:43 am

      I remember that about you. 🙂 I wish I didn’t need 50 Shades to get ME in the mood – to clean, I mean.

       
  7. Jules

    September 8, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    Whoa!!! Thought we were going to get some rated X details there for a minute!! lol Did your hubby read your blog?? He probably got halfway through it then got really disappointed, aside from getting a clean house 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 9, 2012 at 11:42 am

      It wouldn’t be the first time. lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
