RSS

Searching

04 Sep

This, Ladies and Gentlemen, is a mud puddle.  Courtesy of Sir Hurricane Isaak.

 

Isn’t she lovely?

Our fields are full of them.

Isaak may have officially de-droughted us.

While gazing at the muddy fields during a run, I was brought back to my childhood days.  I was very much a tomboy, loving to play outside, and never minding a little dirt.  A favorite activity of mine was to mold mud into clay pots and set them out in the sun to “bake”.  When they dried out, I would excitedly pick them up to show Mom. They would crumble to pieces in my hands, of course, but I was never discouraged.  I would just make more.  I remember using spoons from our kitchen drawer as shovels.  I must have bent a fair amount of them, but if it bothered my mom, I never knew.

It was the scent of the mud, the earthy, wormy smell of it, that brought me back in time.  A time when I had no stress.  A time when I didn’t mind dirt under my nails.  A time when I wasn’t concerned with how the mud might dirty the house or ruin my clothes.  A time when perfection was the least of my worries, and being self-involved, as young kids often are, kept me from worrying about what others thought.

I’ve mentioned before that work and stress has taken the fun out of a lot of activities I  used to enjoy.  I don’t want to go back in time, necessarily, but I do want to experience some stress free, childhood fun again.

I’m hoping that my upcoming vacation will allow for that. I’m hoping I’ll be able to leave behind my need for perfection, my need for hard work, my need to please everyone.

I’m taking me away, in the hopes of finding me back.

Wouldn’t it be ironic if I found me in a mud puddle.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2012 in Everyday Living, Vacation

 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Searching

  1. towardshealthylife

    September 4, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    It seems like part of your childhood looks a bit like mind. I was a tomboy too and enjoyed the mud stuff but also building secret hideway in the bush. I felt free as a kid, free from stress and worries. I hope you find the little girl inside you somewhere even if she is covered with mud loll

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 5, 2012 at 3:57 am

      Oh yeah! I built forts out of blankets and under pine trees, all in an effort to hide out and be alone. I plan to do that on my MEcation as well. 🙂 (Hide out and be alone I mean. I’m sure I’ll sleep in a hotel, not a fort!)

       
  2. Abby

    September 4, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    Wow, you’ve got that mud in your neck of the woods? Your dirt must be happy.

    I also loved playing in mud as a kid. One can really get lost – and found – with a good bunch of mud. Plus, I hear it’s great for the skin. Go ahead – mud up!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 5, 2012 at 4:00 am

      You can’t even imagine how happy our dirt is.
      Seems like mud has a lot of benefits – emotional, mental and physical!

       
  3. territerri

    September 5, 2012 at 2:19 am

    I hope you find your inner child on this vacation.

    I was much like you – a tomboy, adventurous. I loved life back then before I started to worry what others thought of me. Maybe I could use some mud!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 5, 2012 at 4:04 am

      I have high hopes for my short little MEcation. And if it takes playing in mud again to bring me back to those carefree days, I just might have to find some.

       
  4. agg79

    September 5, 2012 at 11:13 am

    In our younger days, playing in the mud and dirt was a free/easy option. Nowadays, you wind up paying extra to get that mud in a spa treatment. Still, I love running after a rain (not a big fan of running in the rain). Glad to see you finally got some moisture up there. I bet your grass is wondering what that is. And I hope you relax and thoroughly enjoy your upcoming road trip. You need the distraction.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 5, 2012 at 1:09 pm

      Our grass and fields are getting muddier as we speak. I made it back from my run just in time. I never mind getting caught in a shower, but the downpours can be tough. Especially if I have my IPod.
      What little grass remains is definitely enjoying the drink, but it’s the weeds that are thriving.

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    September 5, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    I never liked playing with mud but I did love the smell of wet soil… I’ve always loved the smell right before rain so much! 🙂 Go enjoy! in the mud or wherever you enjoy the most 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 6, 2012 at 12:48 am

      I would have thought with all your cooking expertise, you would have started out with mud pies as a kid. No?
      The earthy, natural smell is heavenly, isn’t it?

       
  6. meleahrebeccah

    September 5, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    I always loved playing in mud puddles as a child too!! And I also hope your vacation provides a reprieve from : “I’m hoping I’ll be able to leave behind my need for perfection, my need for hard work, my need to please everyone.”

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 6, 2012 at 12:49 am

      Thank you! I’ve really got my hopes up that it will.

       
  7. Jules

    September 30, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    I used to love playing in the dirt and grass too and now all I can think about are the bugs. Of course I blame this on my spider experiences…but hopefully one day I can get past all that. I hope you find some mud to play in 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
