RSS

Fishin’

07 Sep

I know I just asked for an “Atta Girl” on my last post, but I’m hoping to get a pat on the back today.

Let me explain brag.

Ever since I got my new shoes, my excitement for running has returned.  I no longer feel pain during or after a run.  I no longer hurt for the rest of the day. I no longer need to ease into walking after sitting for a while.

My legs feel GREAT.

For the last 3 weeks, my short runs have been 5 milers, not the usual 4.  I’ve had a couple of 6 milers and a 7 miler in there as well.

Last week I tried an 8 mile run.  I may have pushed it a bit with that.  I stopped twice during the last 2 miles to alleviate the stiffness in my legs.  I made it, but I was wiped out the rest of the day.

I’m a stubborn one, however, and wanted to try it again.

This time I eased my way into it.  I ran a 5 mile run on Tuesday.  Then a 5 mile intermittent run on Wednesday.  On Thursday I rode 11 miles on my bike all in preparation for a long run today.

I was prepared mentally as well.  I knew this was going to take me a while, so I got up early enough to avoid feeling rushed to get back home.

The morning was cool.  The sun was just rising.  And I was energized.

When I got to my turn-around point after 4 miles, I knew I had it made. I kept my pace steady and my outlook positive.

The steep hill at the end of mile 7 didn’t phase me one bit.  Well, I was breathin’ a little heavier at the top of it, but I never viewed it as a challenge.  It was just part of the course.  After that, it was flat lands more or less for the last mile.

I believe I smiled through that entire last stretch.  I felt good, even with a few muscles tightening.  I was running strong.  And I was beyond proud of myself.

I don’t know if I coulda made it another 5 miles, making it a half-marathon, but I tell ya…. it’s quite tempting to train for one.

My hubby has been inspirational in that regard.  He has spent the last few months training for a 50 mile bike race.  Tomorrow is his big day.  I’m extremely sad that I can’t be there to root him on, but I’ll be there in spirit.  I’m very proud of him.

Agg is inspirational as well.  He has signed up for his 5th half marathon.  When I first “met” him, I lived my runs through him.  I never thought I’d be physically able to run for that length of time, and I’ve always admired his dedication and success.

And Abby – well, she seemed to make running sound so easy.  She’d often write about running 30 miles a week, and never seemed to complain about things hurting.  I found myself quite jealous, yet she was the one who turned things around for me.  She was the one who introduced me to my beloved Nike Flexes.

So while I asked for a pat on the back from you all, you may have a hard time finding a break in the action.    I’ve been patting my own self for hours now.

I kinda like this feeling of…

wait. What’s it called?

Oh…. self pride.  I’ve missed it.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2012 in Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , ,

21 responses to “Fishin’

  1. Melissa Gastorf

    September 8, 2012 at 1:45 am

    Congrats. I am impressed. I am thinking about training for a half marathon in the spring. So you are encouraging. Good luck

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 8, 2012 at 8:18 pm

      Oh I hope you do it! I honestly never thought I would be able to after all the injuries I’ve suffered, but it’s always something I’ve wanted to do. It’s very tempting at this point!

       
  2. nicmcken

    September 8, 2012 at 3:04 am

    Congrats! That’s such an amazing story! It makes me want to lace up my shoes and get back out for another run! And I completely know what you are talking about with the shoes. A good pair of running shoes or inserts can make all the difference in the world.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 8, 2012 at 10:33 am

      These shoes have made all the difference in the world for me! Love ’em!

       
  3. Abby

    September 8, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    *pat*pat*pat*pat* <– a little cyber patting from me 🙂

    I'm sure you could do a half marathon if you put your mind to it. In the meantime, it's nice just to be having pain-free running fun, right? (mile number 110 on my shooz this morning).

    Good luck to Mr. ShadowRun today!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 8, 2012 at 8:25 pm

      Thanks for the cyber pat. I paused long enough to let yours through.
      Jury’s still out on the half-marathon – maybe I should just enjoy a few long runs here and there and not risk pain and injury. The competitive side of me, however, is itchin’ to break free. And Mr. Shadowrun? His text to me was “I got off track and I’m in Kansas!” I told him he made good time anyway. 🙂

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    September 8, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    Wow you are amazing! I am so happy that you can enjoy painfree runs now! Good on you 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 8, 2012 at 8:28 pm

      I love having the running side of me again. I’ve given up so much already, due to my job and exhaustion and stress, and I was really worried I’d have to give up running too, because of the constant pain and stiffness. I totally feel renewed! 🙂

       
  5. meleahrebeccah

    September 9, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    I am so happy for you. And YOU GO GIRL!! *pats you on the back*

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 10, 2012 at 1:28 am

      Thanks for the pat! I plan to store all of them up to help push me a little further the next time. 😉

       
  6. The Thin Lady Inside

    September 9, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    wow you just ROCK!!! I sooo look up to you! (patting on your back)

    So happy you are enjoying running without pain! that’s awesome!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 10, 2012 at 1:25 am

      Thank you! It really is awesome to be back to running! I was so afraid I was going to have to give it up. I’m not ready for that yet!
      (I’m happy that your back to running too! Keep it up!)

       
  7. agg79

    September 10, 2012 at 11:24 am

    >PatPatPatPatPat< from a fellow street runner. You are way ahead of me on the training curve. I look towards you and Abby as my motivation to keep running. You are definitely swaying me to give those minimalist shooz a closer look. I love how you have rediscovered your running muse. Now I need to go find mine. Any you give me way too much credit for the few runs I do. Doing a 1/2 marathon once a year is not a big stretch, especially if you can do a 8 miler like that. This year will be my 5th and I keep telling myself I am getting too old for this, but somehow I keep talking myself into doing it one more time.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 10, 2012 at 10:53 pm

      The fact that you DO keep talking yourself into it, is why I give you credit! I’m sorry I shorted you on your number of 1/2 marathons. It will be edited today. 😉
      I really am ecstatic to have my muse back. I was beginning to think there was NOTHING I could do anymore. Not bowl, not run, not keep up with my family…. Nothing. *pout* So this has been good for me all around.
      For me the shoes were key. I must have been restricting my muscles – keeping them from doing what they wanted to do naturally, and that’s why they were grumbling All. The. Time. The next time you’re in the market for shoes, give ’em a shot! Tell them I sent you! 🙂

       
  8. Rock Chef

    September 10, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    Patpatpatpatpatpat!

    Impressive run – equivalent to my trip home! Happy to cycle it, but now sure I would want to run it.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 10, 2012 at 10:58 pm

      Ya never know until you try! 😉
      The few times I do get my bike out, I usually go 11 miles or so. I often think about having to run that far (farther even) if I ever try a 1/2 marathon. I’m not sure I could do that!

       
  9. territerri

    September 13, 2012 at 1:52 am

    ATTA GIRL! YOU inspire ME! I have been keeping with my running since I decided to give it another try last spring. My right foot has been bugging me (might have mentioned that to you before) and I’m going to look for new shoes. I want to feel the difference you’re feeling!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 13, 2012 at 1:59 am

      I remember seeing a few comments where you mentioned your foot hurt. It very well could be the shoes. If your foot wants to do one thing and your shoe isn’t letting it, then it’ll start whining. These shoes let my feet and legs do what they want, and I have not heard a complaint since. I’ve been fighting the pain in my legs for years, so I am completely overjoyed about how good I feel now!
      And good for you for keeping up the running! You mention it casually every once in a while, so I know you’ve been at it! Hope you’re able to keep it up!

       
      • territerri

        September 13, 2012 at 2:05 am

        Thanks! I’m really motivated to look for new shoes now. Just need to find the time (and justify the purchase to Mark, since I just told him I need to buy my own hand wraps and boxing gloves too! The ones that are available for use at the gym are gross and stinky!)

         
  10. Jules

    October 1, 2012 at 11:44 pm

    I give you an Atta Girl, a high five, a pat on the back, AND a look of awe as my jaw is dropped. As a previous competitive runner, I have nothing but respect and awe for people like you who enjoy running long distances. Once I talk in miles my confidence is shot. If I go for a run I just run for a certain number of minutes, not having any idea the distance that I”m running. Props to you!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 2, 2012 at 12:54 am

      Thanks Julia! I’d love to be able to run a 1/2 marathon someday. Every time the St. Louis one comes about, I get the itch to do it. Until now, I didn’t think I could. What’s stopping me at this point is my work hours. It’s so hard for me to run in the afternoons, after work, so I have very few days per week to actually train for one. Maybe someday….

       

Leave a Reply

 
