RSS

Disconnected

12 Sep

For a few years now we’ve been considering disconnecting our land line.

Our biggest reason for keeping it was internet. In our remote area, choices for internet are very limited.  We just got a decent cell phone tower.  And it’s only been a few years that we’ve had DSL.   For a long time we had dial up internet.

Last year, I brought the phone down to the basics.  I got rid of all the bells and whistles, like caller ID and call waiting.  We could accept calls at no charge, but it would cost us to call out.  Easy enough.  With everyone having a cell phone, this wasn’t a big deal.

Without caller ID however, we tended to let the answering machine pick up first. After all, most people who know us would call our cell phones.

Then the answering machine broke.

So anyone who tried to call our house phone, never got through.  Eventually, the phone quit ringing all together.

On a whim, I called the phone company again.  Turns out that they now offer a stand alone modem, so we no longer need the phone line!

My first reaction was joy!  After all, we’d be saving about $30 a month by disconnecting the phone.  But surprisingly, it took me a minute to actually tell the representative to do it.

I’ve spent the last couple of years weaning myself from the land line, but to actually cut the cord made me sad.

When the deal was done, I wrapped the phone up with it’s cord and placed it in our donation box. Perhaps somebody out there can use it.

Or could it be that we were the last people on earth to take this step?

Any of you still have a land line?  Any plans to disconnect?

Evolution of Phones

 

 
18 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2012 in Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , ,

18 responses to “Disconnected

  1. towardshealthylife

    September 12, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Congratulation! One less bill to pay! I don’t have any package deal on my phone, no caller ID either. I use an old cheap answering machine when I cannot answer. Our family leaving overseas and at the other end of Canada would make the cell phone bill go to high I think, otherwise I would have done it too! Maybe if I would find a good cell-phone/long-distance deal I could do it.:-)

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 12, 2012 at 6:54 pm

      Well I can see why you’re still hanging on to that land line. I’ve heard you talk about skype before, though. Do you use that pretty regularly? Is it better than a land line as far as connection and communication, or worse? It’s free too, right??

       
      • towardshealthylife

        September 12, 2012 at 8:50 pm

        It’s the third time I write this comment!! Hope it works this time. Skype is good but has a CB feeling because there is a delay and sometimes the voice is not sink to the image. Yes it’s free so I still use and appreciate it so daughter can see her grand-parents that lives in the computer 😉 I still like to have a proper phone talk while walking around and do other things so I will keep the land line for another year loll

         
      • shadowrun300

        September 12, 2012 at 10:22 pm

        Ahh… I didn’t think about being ‘tied’ to the computer if you skype. Yeah, there’s no way I could talk on the phone if I wasn’t able to walk around. Especially when the kids were younger. I always feel the need to be doing something productive while I’m chatting.

         
  2. Abby

    September 12, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    Land line? What’s that?? OH wait, I vaguely remember having one of those once. We sent it to the curb over 2 years ago. To be honest, it did feel a bit weird to cut the cord at first. Old habits and all that. But once we did it, I chucked it all with glee (minimalist, remember?). Only cell phones now. And you’ve reminded me how nice it is, especially with it being an election year with all of the phone activity those bring. Living in a Battleground State can be hell. Welcome to the club!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 12, 2012 at 7:00 pm

      Ya know, we haven’t received ANY of those kind of calls. Our phone literally hadn’t rung in MONTHS, so I figured people had given up on trying to reach us. I actually had the phone packed up a week before I made the call to the company 🙂 but it still was tough asking her to sever the ties.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    September 12, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Still have a landline and still use it a lot. We pay a set fee and just about all calls are then free if they last for less than an hour. Works for us.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 12, 2012 at 7:06 pm

      In our town, any calls made outside of our town are considered long distance. Keep in mind our town is only 600 people, and we don’t like very many of them, so ALL of our calls were outside the town. I’ve never been happy about that aspect of the phone company, so it feels kinda good not to be paying them extra for our calls.
      Sounds like the old saying, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.” applies to you! 🙂

       
  4. agg79

    September 12, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    I still have a landline plus our iPhones. With all the various communications devices I carry, I have 3 phone numbers under my name (one is a work number so that doesn’t count). I have seen people who’ve “unplugged” and I am not yet ready to make that leap. Hard to let go of that lifeline. My primary reason is due to Hurricane Ike in 2008. No power meant the cordless phones were worthless and no cable meant that you Internet phones were kaput. Cell phones were unuseable since most cell towers had no power or the available bandwidth was overloaded. The ONLY thing that worked was my old trusty hardline push button phone I kept in the garage as back up. Only way we could stay In touch with family. No electricity but had water and gas so we could take showers and cook out on the grill. Hard to let go of that line after that.

    Besides, where else would we get all those political calls?

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 12, 2012 at 7:13 pm

      Yikes! That would put the fear in me as well to keep the trusty old land line. $30 a month isn’t going to make us or break us, but as I mentioned to RC, I never liked how our only choice for telephone companies seemed to ream us by having all calls outside our bitty town as long distance – an extra charge. We tried to fight it, but whatcha gonna do when they know we have no where else to go? So we just dropped them completely the first chance we had. Now I guess I’ll keep my fingers crossed that we don’t get a hurricane up here. (Tornadoes are much nicer about that sort of thing, I’m sure!)
      I will miss the political calls though….

       
  5. territerri

    September 13, 2012 at 1:46 am

    We still have a land line. We have our cable, internet and phone bundled, so…

    We tend to just let most calls go to the answering machine too. But my parents and Mark’s parents still call the land line before the cell phones, so we haven’t been motivated to disconnect either. Someday we’ll probably reach the same point you did.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 13, 2012 at 1:51 am

      I wish we had the ability to bundle everything. We’re too remote right now, but we’re slowly catching up with the times.
      The decision was made pretty easily when we realized that NOBODY was calling the house anymore. It literally was just collecting dust. That’s when you’ll know it’s time! 🙂

       
      • territerri

        September 13, 2012 at 1:57 am

        We mostly get solicitors, but our land line still rings plenty. Still, if we made more effort to have people contact us on our cell phones, it would probably be easier for us to disconnect too!

         
  6. adventuresofdeb

    September 14, 2012 at 8:59 am

    I’d love to disconnect my land line because the only calls we ever get on it are people wanting to do surveys. Spam via phone.

    But like so many of you, our telephone, cable TV and Internet are all the same provider, all in one package.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 15, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      I’d love to be able to get my cable bundled with it all. Then I may have kept it. We don’t have that luxury WAY out here.
      Spam calls are the reason we quit answering the phone completely. I still give that number out to people I don’t want to talk to! 🙂

       
  7. meleahrebeccah

    September 14, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    I have a land line, but I don’t have a machine, and I always keep the ringer off. However, we keep it strictly for EMERGENCIES.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 14, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      I guess I felt like since we never used it, we should get rid of it. (Although I still give the number out to people if I want to be sure they don’t contact me.) But now I’m hoping I never have an emergency. :/

       
  8. Jules

    October 3, 2012 at 1:26 am

    Nicely done! We have a landline, only because it was useful to Mike when he did conference calls all the time. We don’t use it so much anymore but I think it’s still nice to have as long as it’s super cheap.

     

Leave a Reply

 
