RSS

I’m on MEcation!

21 Sep

My much anticipated MEcation has arrived!  (Thanks for the term, RC. I have totally latched on to it and made it mine.)  Although at a quick glance it looks like meDIcation…. which works too!

The 5 days leading up to my departure date have proven that I am in need of some ME time. I’ll just leave it at that, because I have banned myself from focusing on any stresses and any responsibilities for the next few days.

I had hoped to leave my house by 7:30am , but having not had time to pack the last few days, it was 8:15am before I got on the road.

No biggie.  Today was planned for travel.  It didn’t matter how long it took me.

Hubby helped me load ALL my stuff into the back of my squeaky clean Mustang.  (Remember my obsession about having to have things “just right”.  Well, a clean car for my trip was among those things.  Imagine my disappointment when I pulled out of the garage into pouring rain.)

***sigh***

An hour and a half into my trip, however, the rain cleared and the streets dried up.  I exited at the first car wash and proceeded to wash and dry my car again.

There.

Now I could finish my drive in peace.

And that I did.

I cranked the radio, taking turns listening to oldies, classic rock, country and pop.  At one point I listened to a comedy station and found myself laughing out loud!

One of the highlights of my trip was seeing the wind farm.  I have seen them before, but I’m stunned every time by how majestic they are.  And the fact that they give us an alternative to using oil is just an added bonus.

A beautiful sight.

The saddest part of my day came towards the end of my drive.

The trip total is not accurate.  I didn’t think to reset it when I started out, but all the zeros below it are accurate. I’ve only had her 4 years, and she’s obviously well loved.

And before any of you freak out (ahem, Abby), I AM doing the speed limit. (well, slightly above…)  Where I’m going, they let you go real fast.  It’s torture otherwise.

I arrived at my destination late in the evening.  After a trip to the local store to replenish the few things I forgot (toothbrush and socks) and the one thing I couldn’t pack (ice cream), I settled into my quiet hotel room for some couch time.

‘Cause even on days like today, I love my couch time.

Just a little hint about where I’m heading…

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2012 in Health and Fitness, Vacation

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “I’m on MEcation!

  1. Abby

    September 21, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    Yay for the start of the medication!…uhm… Actually, there are some parallels in the two spellings, no?

    This is a reason why I don’t drive a nice looking car. I’d be too worried about it getting dirty, scratched, etc… Yeah, let’s go with that story.

    Hmmm… you’re going somewhere where the sun shines?

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 21, 2012 at 8:56 pm

      The first few scratches and dings made me cry, but now there are many. It’s definitely a well loved, well used car, but I still like it clean!
      And yes, the sun is shining where I am. It’s absolutely beautiful and I have enjoyed my first full day to the max. And if that’s not enough, it’s only going to get better from here! Stay tuned… you can enjoy it with me! 😉

       
  2. territerri

    September 22, 2012 at 1:54 am

    My car is getting old. It’s a 2004 and it’s the first BRAND new car I’ve ever owned. It has its share of dings and scratches, but keeping it clean always makes me think it still looks nice. I have an unlimited car wash pass and believe me, I make good use of it.

    Can’t wait to see where you’re going!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2012 at 4:15 am

      My car is about the only thing I keep clean on a regular basis. I’m still proud of it, even with all its battle scars.
      I’ll spill the beans pretty soon about where I’m at. I’m having too much fun not to share! 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    September 22, 2012 at 2:43 am

    I was wondering when you were leaving on your mecation. Glad to hear you finally made a break for it. And your clean obsession is not all that rare. I got the same affliction from my dad on all my road trips.

    I love the road trip pictures. You’ve certainly peaked my interest. I’m a road warrior like you and I am curious where you will eventually go to ground. Some place cooler, sunny I imagine. From the hints you gave, I figure you are headed west. Some place flat, with lots of open country, with a reasonable speed limit that accommodates all those horses under the hood. Something that definitely fits the need of the Mustang. My guess is somewhere in North or South Dakota. Black Hills or Rushmore, perhaps? One of my bucket list destinations…

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2012 at 4:22 am

      I love traveling in a clean car! And it definitely got a work out gettin’ me to my destination. In fact, it was so happy to be out on an open road with no construction and no traffic, it averaged almost a mile per gallon more than usual!
      And your guesses are oddly close – some of them anyway. 🙂 I’m not gonna tell you here. But I’ll be sharing soon!

       
  4. towardshealthylife

    September 22, 2012 at 3:09 am

    You sound very happy and that’s the main part about your trip right? Enjoy the sun and the road! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 22, 2012 at 4:23 am

      Definitely! So far the trip has accomplished what it was supposed to do. And it really does plan to get better!

       
  5. meleahrebeccah

    September 23, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    I was totally going to ask how fast you were driving!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 24, 2012 at 4:18 am

      I usually don’t get to go that fast, but the speed limit is 75 – which means I can do 7 over that! 😉 I did that through the whole length of Kansas and it still took forever!

       
  6. Jules

    October 8, 2012 at 1:52 am

    I see mountains in the picture!!!!!!!!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
