RSS

Odd…

23 Sep

My first day of mecation, and I’m experiencing some serious deja vu.

Seems like I’ve been here before.

I found myself traveling down roads to a destination that reminds me of a time, not too long ago, when my family and I escaped the flat lands of Illinois.

The views are eerily similar.

The trails are almost identical.

But these trees seem to have a few more of their roots exposed.

Despite how familiar it all felt, I was having a tremendous time.

I listened to the sounds of nature and I breathed in the cool, pine scented, oxygenless air.

I traveled at my own pace and stopped to take pictures of scenes quite different from the ones at home.

I was enjoying the solitude.

I was enjoying not being on a time schedule.

Well, at least not until 4pm, when I had to be here.

Yeah, maybe not too exciting, but at least it’s not my hotel job.

And I have a feeling, that once I get this part out of the way, I’ll be able to have some good, clean, play-in-the-mud kinda fun.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2012 in Health and Fitness, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Odd…

  1. agg79

    September 23, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    Got it. I now know where you are headed. Hope you are able to enjoy the change in scenery and elevation. Remember when running their hills are a wee bit steeper.

    And FWIW, I love terrain. The canyons, the trails, the trees, the higher elevation. We don’t see much of that down here on the coast plains.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 25, 2012 at 12:34 am

      Even the second time around, the terrain was breathtaking – and not because I was trying to run up the hill. (I still struggled with the uphill running, but the downhill is easy-peasy!) If you haven’t been yet, you should consider adding it to your bucket list….

       
  2. Abby

    September 23, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    Purdy! ‘specially that crosswalk!

     
  3. meleahrebeccah

    September 23, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Those photos are super fabulous. I wish I had something like THAT closer to home.

     
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    September 24, 2012 at 12:48 am

    Those are gorgeous pictures! Soak it all in!!!

    Hugs!

     
  5. towardshealthylife

    September 24, 2012 at 3:07 am

    Beautifull photos!

     
  6. Jules

    October 9, 2012 at 1:15 am

    Love the pictures!! Ooh I’m so jealous!! I would love to go out in the nature and go on hikes and see the scenery.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 9, 2012 at 1:19 am

      I totally recommend Colorado if you’ve never been. Especially Colorado Springs. The trails are fantastic and the scenery is breathtaking! You just gotta be able to get through Kansas. :/

       

Leave a Reply

 
