RSS

Good, Clean Fun

24 Sep

Rock Chef’s advice for me, after reading my post about needing to have things “just right”, was to  mess it up a little and walk away.

I wonder if this is what he meant.

MuddyRun300

Too messy?

Nah…. I think it was just what I needed.

When I left Colorado Springs after our vacation a few months ago, I still felt unsettled.  It was great fun, but I had a longing to go back.  For one, I thoroughly enjoyed the hiking and the mountains and the trails.  For two, I didn’t spend as much time with Abby as I would have liked.

So I did some investigating, and some sneaky questioning of Abby, and determined that the Dirty Girl run would be my reason for going back.  I was thrilled when she squealed at the chance!

She signed us up the next day, and I booked the hotel rooms.  All we had to do was wait.

And wait.

And wait.

But holy cow (or should I say pig) … it was absolutely worth it!

We arrived mid-morning still needing jackets, but as the sun rose, we found ourselves craving the mud.

Our arrival.

We tagged ourselves, dropped our bags, and headed for the pre-run warm-up. With music blasting, the teams were introduced, the cancer survivors were cheered for and before we knew it, we were off!

Ready to get dirty.

Five kilometers of obstacles like The Barn Burner,  Just Get Over It, H2Omg, Loop de Loop, Jail Break, …. all PMS (pretty muddy stuff).

In between obstacles, we ran through dirt and sand with wet, muddy, heavy, squeaky shoes.  We passed up teams appropriately named…. “50 Shades of Muddy” was my favorite.  Although “I Have Mud in my Crack” was a close second.  (They had plastic naked butts attached to their backsides.)  “The Redneck Spa Girls” were quite funny as well, with their teeth blacked out and their housecoats on!

I was impressed by how many people opted for the most challenging obstacles, and how many people were willing to hang back to help the next in line.  Not one person, that I noticed,  took the opportunity to ‘go around, we won’t tell‘.  Quite inspiring!

We ended the race feeling alive, carefree,

and totally *ahem*  cleansed….

As fun as it was, we were anxious to get out of our muddy clothes, and to be able to straighten our limbs without our skin cracking.  The showers, however, consisted of hoses squirting out ice cold water.  Abby bravely washed herself while I hung back shivering.  I determined I would rather dirty my car, than make myself colder than I already was!

Wait – did I just say I was willing to dirty my car?

Well, that’s what a fun-filled, dirty girl weekend with a great friend will do for ya.

And as soon as I pick all the goat heads out of my palms, elbows and feet, and relieve the soreness in my arms and chest, I will totally be doing this again.  Hope you’re up for another, Abby.  And wouldn’t it be great  to add a third little piggy to the group?

 
25 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2012 in Health and Fitness, Mustang, Running, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , ,

25 responses to “Good, Clean Fun

  1. Sandi

    September 24, 2012 at 6:19 am

    like like like like like! you are amazing!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 24, 2012 at 2:06 pm

      It was so much fun! Sometimes you just gotta push everything else aside and go for it! Truthfully, I thought everyone out there was amazing – from the cancer survivors to the dirty ol’ grandmas….

       
  2. Rock Chef

    September 24, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    I love that you took my advice to heart! 🙂

    What a great event! I can’t see that happening over here, sadly, too many of our “runners” seem to be more into posing than actually doing a serious run!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 24, 2012 at 2:11 pm

      That’s too bad that you all don’t have anything like this! Mud Runs and Color Runs have become quite the rage over here. All for a good cause!
      Hmmm…. you know…. you’ll be in the states before long… perhaps you can let your inner-pig loose while you’re here!

       
      • Rock Chef

        September 24, 2012 at 3:31 pm

        Well if I stumble on anything like that I might well join in, but I am more likely to have a go at an eating challenge…

         
  3. Abby

    September 24, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    And the car even took one for the team!!
    It was all TOO fun. Goatheads and all. I’m definitely up for more… work our way up to Dirty Old Grandmas??

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 24, 2012 at 9:46 pm

      My car is STILL a dirty girl. I made it the whole way without stopping at a car wash! 😉
      Ya know – I’m quite sore, bruised a bit, and poked with thorns, but I LOVE the feeling. It really makes me feel alive! So, the idea of being a DIrty Ol’ Grandma sounds very appealing! Wait… that better NOT be soon! I’ll stick with being a dirty ol’ teenager mom for a while.

       
      • Abby

        September 25, 2012 at 12:21 am

        I did say we’d work our way up to Grandmadom! Not too fast!! I’m still sore too. Oh, and I’m stealing your “after” pic. Looks like your mud-coated camera got a better one than my mud-coated camera did!

         
      • shadowrun300

        September 25, 2012 at 12:29 am

        Steal away! It’s only fair since I stole your crosswalk pic!
        Next time… I’m bringin’ the camera with me. It’s worth the risk to capture some action shots!

         
  4. meleahrebeccah

    September 24, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    Omyword! Now that is how you celebrate one dirty girl weekend!! I also would have chosen to dirty my car over taking a freezing cold shower!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 24, 2012 at 9:49 pm

      That was the only thing I chickened out on. Now, had it been a part of the course, I would have been all about it! In fact, the first mud puddle we crawled through was ice cold, and I jumped right in! I know they have these runs in your area. You’d have a blast, I’m sure!

       
  5. agg79

    September 25, 2012 at 2:27 am

    ow. When you let your hair down, you really go all the way. Not many people would drive over 800 miles just to go play in the mud. That’s some impressive dedication. With that much mud, I figure you’d have to go through a car wash just to get clean. Still despite the mud and goat heads and cold water, I bet you are already looking towards the next one. Just bring extra towels for the Mustang.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 25, 2012 at 3:00 am

      878 miles – thank you very much. 😉 The trip there was incredibly fun. Coming back – not so much. And I probably should have gone through a car wash first… the hotel bathroom was a disaster afterwards. It took almost 30 minutes for the water to finally run clean.
      And now that we’re no longer dirty girl virgins, we will definitely be more prepared the next time around. More towels, jugs of warm water, and a camera along the way.
      Hopefully the Mustang will be up for another run too!

       
      • agg79

        September 25, 2012 at 9:46 am

        I was wondering what the hotel staff thought when they saw you walking through the door.

         
      • shadowrun300

        September 25, 2012 at 1:29 pm

        They didn’t seem as concerned as our hotel was with the color run. They just welcomed us back and asked if we had fun! But being an employee, I made sure to clean up afterwards and tried not to dirty their white towels. Although I may have clogged up the drain….

         
  6. towardshealthylife

    September 25, 2012 at 3:25 am

    Well it seems libarating to play in the mud! You even got mud in your car, I am impressed 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 25, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      The thickest mud was the most fun! We laid in it for quite some time because it was so cool, soft and silky. Of course, it stuck to us the rest of the trip, and when it dried it looked like we had elephant skin. Unbelievably fun though!

       
      • towardshealthylife

        September 26, 2012 at 12:14 am

        It’s like a marathon with a clay mask for the body 😉

         
  7. Janet

    September 25, 2012 at 6:01 am

    Oh man, sounds like so much fun. So cool! 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 25, 2012 at 1:26 pm

      Cool is right! (In more ways than one!) I STILL smile when I think about it!

       
  8. territerri

    September 30, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    GAH! That looks like SO much FUN! I really love to be clean, but there’s something about getting all muddy that looks very appealing. There is a similar event in my area. I may have to look into it! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 30, 2012 at 11:44 pm

      Your name was brought up during all of our slogging… and we’ve both said we would absolutely do it again!…. wouldn’t it be great if we could find a location central to us all?

       
      • territerri

        September 30, 2012 at 11:49 pm

        Yes, yes, YES!!!

         
  9. Jules

    October 9, 2012 at 1:26 am

    You two look significantly dirtier than the others in the pictures… I love it though! I can’t imagine what can be better than tossing away all your stresses and worries and go run through the mud and totally let loose. It sounds like an amazing time to me. Let me know if you ever do one around the STL area!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 9, 2012 at 1:33 am

      It was SO fun! The people behind us had gone through the fire hose showers already. That’s why they look cleaner. I was cold enough as it was, and didn’t want to be blasted with cold water. I ended up going back to the hotel looking like I did in the pic. THAT shower was awesome!
      If I do one around here, I will definitely let you know!

       

Leave a Reply

 
