RSS

Mother Hubbard’s Cupboards?

26 Sep

At the end of our kitchen counter sits our communication log.  Most times it’s used by me to ensure the kids (and hubby) know what they are supposed to be doing.  This is especially useful on days when I leave the house before the rest of the family is even thinking about rising.  My kids appreciate that I do this and read it carefully every day.

yeah….

Occasionally, the family needs to communicate with me – especially on days I arrive home after everyone has gone to bed.

Their requests aren’t nearly as specific and spelled out as mine.

“shampoo!”

“peanut butter!”

“Fit needs gas!”

“lunch money!”

I tend to make sure everything on their list is taken care of, even if they don’t always follow through on my requests.

A few days ago, after returning home from my cleansing vacation, the log book caught my attention.

Underneath my carefully written instructions was a single word.

FOOD!

hmph.

I looked at my hubby.  “I guess all the cooking I did before I left wasn’t food.”  I looked in the freezer.  Yep it was all still there. The taco meat for nachos, the sloppy joe for sandwiches, the meatballs for subs, the chicken for…well, chicken.

He just shrugged his shoulders and told me he picked them up some pizzas and lunch meat from the store.

Long before sports practices, band concerts, and work schedules consumed our lives, dinnertime was much simpler.  I made a meal.  We all sat down and ate it.

These days, we rarely eat together.  The kids have gotten used to fixing their meals when they get hungry.  I try to supply them with somewhat healthy choices.  Or at least unprocessed choices.  But their preferences are usually the canned, bagged, or pre-cooked frozen varieties.

So often times I find them hanging on the cabinet or refrigerator doors, complaining that there is nothing to eat

How about the chicken? I ask.

meh.

There’s meatballs…. have a sub sandwich.

meh.

I made sloppy joe meat.  Heat that up.

meh.

These are foods they like!  Dinners that they have requested for years!

AND I spent an afternoon cooking all these foods for them, so they’d have choices other than my usual stock of wheat bagels and eggs, spinach and oranges, salmon patties and veggies….

Yet they have the nerve to tell me there’s no food!

Well, I’m not giving up. I still plan to make dinners for them and freeze them in individual containers, because one day they will be hungry enough to actually eat what I’ve made.

Or maybe I’ll just go on a shopping strike until there really IS no food in the house.

oooh… I’m likin’ that idea….

 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2012 in Everyday Living, Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , ,

16 responses to “Mother Hubbard’s Cupboards?

  1. towardshealthylife

    September 26, 2012 at 2:48 am

    I feel your frustration! If it’s there they don’t want to eat it but if it’s not they’ll ask for it. It’s probably because “I like it but don’t feel like eating it at the moment” -My husband’s answer. I just don’t worry anymore and make what I want to eat, make daughter eat it and when I get the “there’s nothing to eat” line, I answer “there is cereal and oatmeal in the pantry” with an evil laugh 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2012 at 9:55 pm

      They wouldn’t eat what I like – broccoli, cauliflower, spinach, salmon. So they should be thankful I make them tacos and sloppy joes. You’re right though – if they don’t feel like eating that then there’s nothing to eat… ugh.

       
  2. agg79

    September 26, 2012 at 10:42 am

    I guess it is more tasty when they have someone else fix it for them. Or comes out of a box or bag. It’s a good thing your dirty road trip out west did not take a few more days – they might have starved. I like your idea of a shopping strike. I am working on a freezer dump right now – purging out all the old crap (eat it or toss it).

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2012 at 9:59 pm

      That’s what’s sad – the boxed, canned or frozen dinners always taste better, but they’re more expensive and not as good for you.
      We’re really in need of a freezer dump – or better yet, a freezer exchange – I wonder if the neighbor kids would eat our food and let us have theirs?

       
  3. Melissa Gastorf

    September 26, 2012 at 10:49 am

    What a great idea! My son told me last week that we didn’t have any food that he wanted, but when I ask what he would like from the grocery store for his lunches it is usually “I don’t know” if I even get an answer. Good luck on your shopping strike

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2012 at 10:00 pm

      We go through the same things here! Making dinner was always a stressful decision because with 4 kids, there was always someone who didn’t like what we were having and would make it well known!

       
  4. Rock Chef

    September 26, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    We do that from time to time – run the cupboards and freezer empty before re-stocking. Makes for some interesting meals near the end…

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2012 at 10:03 pm

      I threaten it ALL the time, but this time I really mean it.
      REALLY!
      really…

       
  5. Abby

    September 26, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    Oh, I hear ya! It’s not officially “food” unless I also present it all pretty and hot on the table. *SIGH* And you’ve reminded me. What’s for dinner??

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2012 at 10:07 pm

      I don’t like being the one to make the decision, but when I ask them it’s always the same answer. PIZZA!
      Hmmm.. maybe I’ll use that as a bribe to get them to eat what I’ve already made…

       
  6. meleahrebeccah

    September 26, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Oh, I vote for the shopping strike! Heck, if you left me all that food, you can be sure I would have eaten it!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 26, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      It’s settled then. Shopping strike until the freezer has been purged.
      I’ll let you know the minute I cave…..

       
  7. territerri

    September 30, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    I go on a shopping strike now and then. It usually backfires… my hubby goes out to buy “food” and I come home to find cupboards full of Oreos, Chips Ahoy and potato chips.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 1, 2012 at 12:18 am

      That’s what I’m afraid of! At least if I have healthier stuff in there for them to choose from, even if they don’t eat it, at least I know I tried… :/

       
  8. Jules

    October 11, 2012 at 1:11 am

    Um..if they don’t eat the food you make for them, I would be happy to 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 11, 2012 at 1:24 am

      I know, right? Someday they’ll be happy that I cooked for them… when they’re on their own and the fridge is empty.

       

Leave a Reply

 
