RSS

I Got Mail!

28 Sep

As a kid, I loved checking the mail.  Quite often there was a letter from my grandparents, or from an old friend, or from one of my many pen pals.

I’d anxiously rip open the letters, quickly read through them, and immediately write my reply.  I took great care in addressing the envelopes and placing the stamp just right.  Then I’d run it back out to the mail box and raise the flag.

I miss those days.

These days, it’s likely the mail will sit in the box for a few days before anyone gets it.  Half of it immediately goes into the recycle bin, the rest goes in the bill pile.  Occasionally, I’ll get a new magazine (woohoo!), but most times the mail is not something I look forward to.

Today, Hubby brought the mail in.  The cute pink envelope on top caught my attention.  As I walked up to it, my mind  began spinning with ideas on what it could be…. a late birthday card for Mario?  a thank you note from a recently attended shower?

At a closer glance, I saw it was from my mud buddy – Mrs. Abby Normal!

I immediately felt the giddiness I used to feel as a kid! Wanting to savor the moment, I carefully opened the envelope and slowly pulled out the card.

My breath hitched when I saw the cover.

I had asked Abby about this painting on one of our hikes.  A while back, she had posted a video of herself painting it, and I remember it being one of my favorites.  I’m a “gotta have my coffee” type of person, so the theme definitely fit.

I was disappointed when she told me she had painted it for someone else, and no longer had it. I would have loved for it to hang on our kitchen wall.

So when I saw the card, I was overcome with emotion.

Inside her card, she apologized for the “cheap replica”, but to me – it is not such at all.

I will treasure it as reminder of how thoughtful she is, how talented she is, how fun she is… and sheesh, how dirty she can get!

Even more, I will treasure how she was part of a weekend that has turned things around for me.

This weekend has taught me how necessary it is to take hold of the reins and make things happen – whether it’s driving 14 hours to climb mountains or trudging through cold, slimy mud to find my inner child.

And it was all made even more fun because I took the risk of asking a blog friend, who’d I’d only met briefly before, to go with me.

Thank you, Abby.  For the weekend, for the company and for the personalized, snail-mailed card!  I will treasure them all forever!

 
17 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in Friendship, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , ,

17 responses to “I Got Mail!

  1. Abby

    September 28, 2012 at 2:13 am

    Ooh, I saw your title and then the card – hey, I recognize that thing! Glad USPS is still doing their jobs…

    Y’know, I think the mud changed me too. Great idea! I was out “working the street” in a rainstorm today, and what was a little rain after all that mud?

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 28, 2012 at 10:39 am

      Yeah, rainstorms are a piece of cake now! Although I happily used the rain as an excuse yesterday since I didn’t really feel like running AFTER work anyway.
      And where are our pics?? They originally said Thursday. I’m waiting…. 🙂

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    September 28, 2012 at 3:14 am

    You are right, the mail has kinda lost the magic to make place for the junk! My daughter met a little girl in Australia and they started to send each other letters! The magic is still there for her even if it’s only to turn the key and open the mailbox by herself.This is so sweet of Abby! I often buy “print cards” of a painting I like, I cannot afford the real thing but can still apreciate it and having a mini version of it is still gives a nice feeling when I look at it 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 28, 2012 at 10:42 am

      I’m glad that your daughter has someone to “write” to. It really is fun to receive and send mail! Hopefully she can keep that up!
      I’m very happy with my “print card” of the coffee cup and the rose. It really IS almost as good as the real thing! 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    September 28, 2012 at 10:06 am

    With all the bills, advertising and junk mail we receive, getting mail has lost its allure. Occasionally, something will show up as a surprise like a wedding invitation or graduation announcement or the occasional thank you note, but it those are few and far between.

    I’ve always thought that Abby’s got some serious artistic talent. Amazing sketch, even if it is a “cheap replica”. Not bad for a crossing guard tutor engineer running mom who can, on occasion, can get down and dirty.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 28, 2012 at 10:47 am

      Even Christmas cards these days have lost their allure – they are so unpersonalized, especially around here.
      Abby let me know she still writes letters to her parents and she (and her kids) still send out thank you notes. It’s something I’d like to start doing again as well.

       
      • agg79

        September 29, 2012 at 2:26 am

        Yeah, even the Christmas cards seem to be getting too commercialized. The ones that are really special are the hand made, one of a kind works that really speak to the heart. Those are the real keepers. My son writes thank you notes to his parents and grandparents – not exactly sure where he gets that from as I am a bit remiss in that aspect, but it is a great habit to have. I think I need to follow his example.

         
  4. Rock Chef

    September 28, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Ah, that is so cool! Getting a normal old fashioned letter or card is such a rare thing these days.

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 28, 2012 at 11:41 pm

      I suppose I’m a little sad about that, but with the ease of texting and emailing, I can see why it soon may become extinct. Now that I think about it, phone calling may soon be on the outs as well.

       
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    September 28, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    What a wonderful surprise! That is sooo cool! 🙂 (or should I say hot?) LOL! 🙂 I love coffee! 🙂 Thank you for sharing! It is nice to get something other than bills and coupons in the mail!

     
    • shadowrun300

      September 28, 2012 at 11:53 pm

      Coffee and baking seem to go hand in hand, don’t they? 🙂 When I grow up, I want to work in locally owned coffee shop/bakery.
      Until then… I’m keeping the card in a place I can view it often. It was definitely a nice surprise! 🙂

       
      • The Thin Lady Inside

        September 29, 2012 at 1:55 pm

        🙂 I want to do that when I grow up too! LOL! … Yes… coffee and baking are like inseparable friends!

         
  6. territerri

    September 30, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    I know exactly how you must have felt! Receiving something in the mail besides the usual bills and advertising flyers is so rare. I never even think to go get the mail. I leave that to my hubby.

    That Abby is a sweetheart, isn’t she? I’m so glad you two got to meet and have such fun together. And now you have your very own piece of her beautiful artwork!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 1, 2012 at 12:14 am

      Getting mail can be a chore now – especially if the weather is bad.
      And I’m so happy I got to know Abby a little better. She really is a great person! You’re right! Blog friend meet-ups ARE fun!

       
  7. meleahrebeccah

    October 1, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!! That is SOOOOO awesome!!!!!!!!

     
  8. Jules

    October 11, 2012 at 1:26 am

    Aww that is so cool!!!!!! Love it!!!!!!!!!! Abby sounds like a great person!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 11, 2012 at 1:37 am

      She really is! I’m so glad I got the chance to meet her for reals. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
