RSS

Starting Anew

03 Oct

The arrival of October has left me stunned from the very first day.

Not because I can’t believe it’s October, although I can’t believe it’s October.

More, because on the first day of this month, my oldest son, Link, turned 20.

(Excuse me while I pick myself up off the floor.)

How can that possibly be?  Honestly!  I can’t fathom how I can be the mother of a 20 year old!  I’m not mature enough, responsible enough, or  old enough.

Why is it that their birthdays bother me so much more than mine?  I have a birthday coming up in a few weeks myself, and the number does not bother me at all.  But when I mention out loud how old my children are ….  aye, aye, aye.

Best to just ignore it and move on.

Things have been pretty good around here since my muddin’ experience, and I’m quite surprised that I can say so.

I just came off a consecutive seven day stretch of 6am shifts, which you may remember means waking at 3am and working non-stop for 8 hours before driving the long commute home.

I feel a little beaten for sure, but not near as bad as I would have felt in the past.

I attribute it to my MEcation.  I’ve heard that quite often people will experience depression after a vacation. I can vouch for that after my first trip to Colorado.

But this time, the time alone and away from the stresses was exactly what I needed.  This time, I did not feel depressed about returning.  I feel rejuvenated!

Therefore, work has been manageable.  I’m training a newbie, and although it adds more busyness to my day, I thoroughly enjoy it!  I like feeling like I’m needed, and I’m happy they chose me to train her.  I’m taking it as a compliment even if they don’t mean it to be.

Our weather is keeping in line with the fall season.  Our temperatures dropped soon after my return.  The recent rains have done wonders for the trees that managed to survive the drought, and they’re starting to show their colors.  As much as I’m dreading winter, I can’t help being enamored with fall.  Sweaters, jackets, jeans, blankets, pumpkins, pecans, apples and candy corn…. pure bliss!

So I’m feeling pretty content at the moment.  I miss my morning runs since I refuse to get up at 2am, but I’m fitting a few miles in here and there.  The kids are all getting their birthdays out of the way, so I can quit fretting about that.  The Cardinals have clinched a spot in the playoffs, so the extended season will allow extended busyness at the hotel, and my inner teacher is getting a great workout with the new trainee. Best of all, a new season of Amazing Race has begun!

And although the first day of October was a wallop, I’m looking forward to enjoying the fall weather, baking tons of apple, pumpkin and cinnamon goodies, and eating my fill of candy corn and peanuts.  Hopefully this month won’t fly by near as quickly as the last two have…

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 3, 2012 in Everyday Living, Family, The Hotel, Vacation

 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Starting Anew

  1. meleahrebeccah

    October 3, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    Awww….

    Happy 20th Birthday, Link!

    And I am super glad to hear you’re feeling rejuvenated!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 3, 2012 at 3:59 pm

      Thanks, Meleah, from Link and me! And it’s nice to feel a little like my old self!

       
  2. The Thin Lady Inside

    October 3, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    I can only imagine how you feel being the mom of a 20 yr. old! I feel like I miss my baby girl! My oldest turned four and this week my baby moved on from a crib to a “big girl bed” and I feel baby less and I can’t believe it! I still hold my 4 yr. old like if she was a baby from time to time with the feeling in my heart of wanting to hold on to those precious moments… It looks quite weird to be honest, also because she is very told for her age… but I can’t believe it’s flying like this! -sigh- anyway… I am glad you’re enjoying fall and getting some miles in! I love fall too! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 3, 2012 at 4:14 pm

      Hold on to them for as long as you can! I look UP at my 14 year old “baby” daughter as she talks endlessly about whatever it may be, and I just study her, trying to find the little baby I used to hold on my shoulder and rock to sleep. I do the same with my oldest. When he talks to me, which is very rare, I can still picture him clinging to my leg, holding his stuffed “Ducky”. I definitely miss those days, but watching them grow and mature and fend for themselves has been fun as well. It just seems to go TOO fast.

       
  3. Rock Chef

    October 3, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    Yes, it is the ages of the kids that get to me more too!

    In order: 25, 18, 16, about to be 14…

    Glad that the break did you good – I hate having a break and feeling worse afterwards…

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 3, 2012 at 4:22 pm

      I guess I never made the connection to how close in age your kids are to mine, until you spelled it out like that. Within the next month, mine will be 20, 18, 16, 14. 🙂
      My break did exactly what I needed it to do. Thank goodness!

       
  4. Abby

    October 3, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    Happy Birthday to the old guy! (for the young mom)

    They really do grow up so fast, don’t they? waaaaaaah <— that's me whining, not the babies.

    Glad you're feeling fresh after the YOUcation! Can we keep things like this in lieu of winter?

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 3, 2012 at 5:51 pm

      Just reading the waaaaaah makes me feel happy that I’m not in THAT stage anymore. It’s okay for us “old” people to whine like that though.
      If things could stay like this through winter, I’d have nothing to complain about. Then everyone would be happy! 🙂

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    October 3, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    I cannot imagine the day when I won’t get to cuddle my daughter! Fall is here indeed but here they are forecasting snow! Ouch! You know I always feel depress after a vacation and would like to stay there. Maybe your energy and happiness comes from the accomplishment you had or the fact that you feel better at home than in a mud puddle 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 3, 2012 at 11:13 pm

      Snow! Yeah – not ready for that yet.
      Definitely make sure you’re cuddling your daughter as much as you can now, but enjoy the milestones along the way. All of them are fun – it just seems like the kids are getting older, but I’m still the same young, immature 20 somethin’ as I was when they were born.
      It’s just nice to be content with my home and job and…well, life in general. I plan to do more of those getaways so that I don’t go back to that depressed rut I was in.

       
  6. territerri

    October 4, 2012 at 1:10 am

    Happy Birthday to Link!

    I know how you feel. A few friends and relatives have new babies and suddenly I realize how very long ago I was caring for my own babies. It’s a bittersweet feeling to see them grow up so much!

    Glad to hear you’re getting some fall colors. It really is a beautiful time of year, isn’t it?

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 4, 2012 at 1:44 am

      Your colors are much more vibrant than ours, so keep sharing your pics!
      I’m torn between being happy and proud of who they are becoming, and being sad that they just KEEP growing.
      I think Link will be living with us for a while, though… very similar to Jake. 🙂

       
  7. agg79

    October 4, 2012 at 2:29 am

    Wow. 20 years. Happy Birthday, Link! Here’s to another successful trip around the sun! May you see many more ahead of you. And congrats to mom as well! It’s hard to imagine that tiny little snot nosed, drooling poop factory is all grown up now. It is hard to see them get older and stretching out their wings. No matter how old they get, no matter how far they go, we still consider them our little babies. Remember the adage: As parents, there are two lasting bequests we can hope to give our children. One of these is roots, the other wings.

    Enjoy the colors and cooler temps. It is a welcome relief from the summer heat/drought. Especially for some longer runs.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 4, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      Thanks Agg! I’m sure he’d love to hear about how he was a snot nosed, drooling poop factory at one time. 🙂 We may have given him roots AND wings, but he’s choosing to stay rooted. No worries that he may be leaving the nest any time soon. :/ He’s a good kid though, so we don’t mind having him here….
      I’m taking full advantage of the cooler morning temps. Had 2 great runs over my “weekend”, but I’ll be back at the early shifts tomorrow. Gotta fit ’em in while I can.

       
  8. Jules

    October 14, 2012 at 12:28 am

    Here’s to a long and happy October! 🙂
    I think all ages should just cease to exist. No talk of age or birthdays. Everyone just grows older every day without putting a number on it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
