RSS

Age Appropriate?

08 Oct

While preparing myself for the couch tonight, I couldn’t help notice Amp hanging around.  That’s odd, I thought.  Usually he’s locked himself in his room after supper.

“What’s up?”  I asked him.  “You hungry?”

“Meh,” he shrugged.

I continued loading the dishwasher.  “You bored?”

More shrugging.  “Maybe,” he muttered.

He plopped down in the recliner and took out his phone.

Not wanting to push too much, I finished the dishes and brought my computer to the couch.

With his back to me he asked, “So… ummm… what’s the family policy about dating…”

My heart swelled and I broke out in a huge grin.  Inwardly, of course. He does have something to talk about, and he chose me!

“Well, I don’t know that we have a policy, per se.”

Do we have a policy? We’ve never needed a policy.  Link has no interest in dating.  Chip has had a few girlfriends, but they’ve always just gone to each others’ houses.

But my Absent Minded Professor wants to know what our policy is.

“We’re not against you dating,”  I answered.  “In fact, with as mature and respectful as you are, we’d feel very comfortable with you going on dates.”

I continued on with a few more of our expectations should he start going out on dates, and I asked a few questions about the lucky girl who has his eye.

“Well, do you remember Colleen?” he asked.

I seem to remember him mentioning her a few times.  She’s in band, and she’s a………Senior.  oh boy.

“She’s a few years older, isn’t she?” I prodded.

He nodded, and I continued on with a few more questions.  What’s her last name?  (Around here, you can get an idea of people by their last names.  Families run deep in this small county.)  I didn’t recognize her name and upon further investigation I found out she’s from a little bigger town about 30 miles north – yet she attends the Catholic school in our county.  So the name question gave me no other information, except that her parents feel strongly enough about a Catholic education that they send her all the way to this high school.

Still trying to get an idea of what kind of person she is, I continued prodding.

“Have you met her parents?”

“Yeah, her mom is kinda crazy.”

“Crazy?  Crazy good.  Crazy bad?”

“Well, she came on one of our band trips and she was just kinda…. loud.”

Oh.  Okay.  hmmm….

So I still don’t know much about her.  I’m a little concerned that she’s going to be 18 soon and he will only be 16 in November.  What if she’s a young Mrs. Robinson? I briefly touched on the topic that she will be considered an adult in the eyes of the law, and him a minor, and I’m hoping he understands what I mean….

Then again, Amp has always had a pretty good head on his shoulders, and has always been known to do the right thing.  (He just can never seem to keep himself organized.)  (And don’t tell Mario about my double standard.  Remember Nick was an immediate NO.  And he wasn’t even wanting to date her….)

I can’t help but be happy for him that he’s found someone he likes.  After all, we’re ‘forcing’ him to stay in this suffocating state until he finishes High School, so perhaps having an interest in dating will help ease the depression he’s been feeling.

But she’s 18.

I suppose I just need to meet her and see for myself.  Amp’s always been a good judge of character as well, and allows himself to only be in situations where he feels comfortable.

So, until he’s proven otherwise, I’ll trust him on this one too.

But she’s 18….   :/

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2012 in Family, Parenting

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “Age Appropriate?

  1. Abby

    October 9, 2012 at 2:52 am

    Oooooh, the plot thickens…
    Cradle robber with loud mom. You don’t have a policy for that?
    Actually doesn’t surprise me that he’s going for the older woman. I doubt the ones his age are mature enough for him.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 9, 2012 at 10:42 am

      Before this, our only policy was that she be rich. haha When I told hubby what Amp had asked, that was HIS response! 🙂
      I’m with you on the age thing, though. He tends to hang out with mostly girls, or very smart boys, probably because he is more mature. I hope to meet her soon, just so I can ease some of my anxiety. I’m guessin’ she’s a good kid.

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    October 9, 2012 at 3:37 am

    I am so happy mine is only 4 right now loll Have I said that before?

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 9, 2012 at 10:47 am

      It’s going to be even more difficult when my girl begins to date. There WILL be policies by that time.
      Before you know it, your 4 year old will be dating. I, personally, can’t believe how fast the years have gone by!

       
      • towardshealthylife

        October 9, 2012 at 7:03 pm

        Noooooooooo! loll

         
  3. Rock Chef

    October 9, 2012 at 8:40 am

    Tell us how things work out – we are yet to experience this… (Although we do have the perfect girl lined up for our 18 year old).

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 9, 2012 at 8:56 pm

      I will let you know if they ever go out on an official date. Right now, they just hang together after school… I think.
      Does your 18 year old know about this?? 🙂

       
  4. agg79

    October 9, 2012 at 10:56 am

    Coo coo ca choo Mrs Robinson. Maybe she’s looking for some eye candy for the prom.
    I think you and Abby pegged it, Amp does seem to a pretty good head on his shoulders and good judge of character. I’m sure it will give him motivation to hang around and enjoy the old country town life. You could bake up some cupcakes as an excuse to meet her.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 9, 2012 at 8:58 pm

      That’s what I’m counting on – a good head on his and her shoulders.
      Hmmm…. cupcakes…. it’s been a while. This may very well be my excuse to whip some up! 🙂

       
  5. meleahrebeccah

    October 9, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    HMMMM… That’s tough. I think I would be VERY uneasy if my 16 year old son was dating an 18 year old.

    Luckily for me, his girlfriend is the same age as him and I know her parents.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 9, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      I think I will feel better once I meet her. I shouldn’t jump to conclusions, it’s just difficult not to. I just hope he doesn’t fall head over heels too fast and end up hurt.
      **sigh** I’m not ready for this. And it’ll only be worse when my daughter starts……

       
  6. territerri

    October 10, 2012 at 1:57 am

    My kids never dated much in high school, and never went for anyone older, so this is foreign territory to me. You really seem to have a good sense of who Amp is and that you can trust him. I think you’re right to let him follow his heart on this one.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 10, 2012 at 10:37 am

      I was counting on you to tell me what to do! 🙂
      Yeah – I’m just going to try to keep the line of communication open so that he feels comfortable coming to me if he needs to. I was impressed he even opened up that much, so I don’t want to shut him down by showing too much concern. Then he might try to hide things…..

       
  7. Jules

    October 14, 2012 at 1:23 am

    You want me to look her up on facebook and let you know what I find? =)

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 14, 2012 at 2:20 am

      ooohhh…. good idea! I’ll find out her last name (again) and let you get to work playing detective! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
