RSS

I Heart October

11 Oct

If it wasn’t for October, I would never want summer to end.  Like ever.

October happens to be my favorite month of the year.  The days are clear and crisp, the skies seem bluer, and the sunsets are full of color.

The leaves are turning a beautiful mixture of oranges, yellows, and reds, and the cooler temperatures make it much more pleasant to be outside.

My birthday also happens to fall in October, which, I think, is still a good thing.  I haven’t started dreading them yet.

So, yeah, October is a great month.

But truthfully, my real reason for liking October is….

The FOOD.

Nothing beats October like the foods associated with it.

For the past few weeks I have viewed every possible recipe made with pumpkin and pecans, maple and brown sugar, caramel and peanuts…  I have saved them all in my favorites file, and I’m anxiously awaiting a day to try them.

My absolute favorite October food is the mixture of candy corn and peanuts.  I love it so much, that I only allow myself to buy a bag of candy corn in October… and when it’s gone, it’s gone.  (Unless I finish it too early, then I can buy another bag…  I’m really not too strict as long as it’s still October.)  Occasionally I’ll share with the family, but it requires quite a bit of begging and pleading.

The two flavors combined taste just like a Payday Bar, and although I can resist the Payday Bars, I can not resist at least a handful of the candy corn and peanuts daily.  And when mixed with my favorite ice cream?  OMG.

So my recipe focus for this week has been for homemade Payday Bars.

The first recipe I tried was from Monster Mama.

Picture Courtesy of Monster Mama

It was good, but didn’t quite have the texture I was looking for.  It was too soft and missing the chewiness that I love about Paydays.

So next time I get a chance, I will try these:

They look like they will be a little chewier, but they don’t have the cake bottom.  I may change it up a little and add a shortbread cookie bottom to them.  I’m thinking that’ll add the texture I’m looking for.

After that, I’m moving on to pumpkin cupcakes, maple and brown sugar cupcakes, pecan pie bars,………

Sheesh, I may have to quit my job – at least for the month of October.  I wonder if they’ll miss me if I sit a month out?

I’d at least have plenty of treats to bribe them for forgiveness if when I return.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2012 in Baking, Everyday Living

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “I Heart October

  1. Rock Chef

    October 11, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Mm, those cakes look great.

    My snack of choice right now is chocolate covered popcorn….

    I generally like October but this one has been a bit wetter than usual, so not so keen this year 😦

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 12, 2012 at 12:29 am

      I’m a big fan of caramel popcorn, but can’t say I’ve had chocolate covered popcorn.
      It’s raining there? That’s a shocker! lol Seems like you’re always getting rain. We’ve had just the right amount this month.

       
  2. Abby

    October 11, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    Whoo, I think I feel myself going into a bit of sugar shock!
    These look yummy. Paydays were a fave of mine when I could handle the sugar (now I practically need to be scraped off the ceiling if I eat a fun size!)
    Happy October! I wish we could just stay here too.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 12, 2012 at 12:34 am

      Yeah – it definitely doesn’t take much of these to get overloaded on sugar. So far, sugar doesn’t seem to affect me too much. It’ll be a sad day when/if it ever does. 😦

       
  3. meleahrebeccah

    October 11, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    October is my favorite month too!!

    And happy early birthday to you!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 12, 2012 at 12:36 am

      Well thank you! You just had a birthday as well… it was October too, right? No wonder we like it so much! 🙂

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    October 11, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    I know! October is a hard day for me!

     
  5. The Thin Lady Inside

    October 11, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    month! LOL!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 12, 2012 at 12:38 am

      🙂 It would probably be better health-wise if it was only a day long. October really puts you in the mood to bake, doesn’t it? With the cooler temps outside, the oven on inside is a nice treat! Luckily I can bring my goodies to work, so I’m not tempted to eat all of them.

       
  6. territerri

    October 11, 2012 at 11:30 pm

    How do you manage to stay in such great shape with all the baking you do??? 🙂

    Really, it all sounds delicious! I’m more inclined toward soups and stews and chilis this time of year, though I was thinking about making pumpkin bread.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 12, 2012 at 12:43 am

      I love chili this time of year, too, and make it quite often. But baking and searching for recipes and trying new flavors is very fun for me, so I do it for enjoyment – not necessarily to eat it. I’m very satisfied with having one or two bites to see if it meets my standards, then I leave a few for the family and take the rest to work. As I told Abby while we were in Colorado, I love to bake cupcakes, but I EAT ice cream. 🙂 Not sure how I don’t get fat on that – I’m guessin’ the running and good genes….. Thanks Dad!

       
  7. towardshealthylife

    October 12, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    October is a bit….white here at the moment loll. I have never had a payday bar, in fact I have never heard of it before. They look great but i better not start to like it 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 12, 2012 at 8:30 pm

      Very yummy, but not so good for losing weight! They’re a great mix of salty and caramel sweetness, which I adore. The good news is, they are rich enough that one bite is enough to satisfy my craving!
      A white October? Sheesh – is that common up there? I’ll be ready for that by December…. maybe.

       
  8. Jules

    October 14, 2012 at 1:29 am

    Pumpkin cupcakes sound amazing!!! I’m not a candy corn fan myself though. Yuck!

     
  9. shadowrun300

    October 14, 2012 at 2:22 am

    Made the pumpkin cupcakes tonight and the house smells awesome! I am now on my last “serving” of candy corn and it’s only the 13th! I better not buy another bag though…. I can’t believe you don’t like them! Have you tried them with peanuts????

     
  10. agg79

    October 15, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Hmmm. I have always been a sucker for Paydays. But Candy Corn and peanuts? That would be a strange taste combination. The fall does seem to be the start of all the holiday favorites. Pumpkin and pecan pies are at the top of my list. With all those sweets, I’d have to run another half marathon just to break even.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 15, 2012 at 10:36 am

      You MUST try Candy Corn and peanuts together – especially if you like Paydays. I guarantee it’ll be better than a Balut egg.
      I DO try to squeeze in a few extra miles of running to offset all the goodies. Gotta do whatcha gotta do! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
