RSS

Just Call Me Coach

14 Oct

The St. Louis Cardinals have advanced to the NLDS, and they have me to thank.

You see, Saturday night was the final night of the NLCS games.  The Cards and Nationals were tied up, so the winner of this game would get to move on.  I’m usually pretty ho-hum about the games, but if something is at stake, I tend to get overly involved. And this time, the hotel busy season was at stake.  If the Cards were to lose, the hotel busy season would be over, and the dread of a slow hotel would be upon us.  And it’s only October.

The game quickly got out of hand as the Cardinals were down 6 to nothing by the third inning. It was obvious they needed help, and I, Coach ShadowRun, came to the rescue.

I shut my computer down…. no time for distractions.  I slid to the edge of my seat, clasped my hands together, and pleaded for them to just get a hit.  I praised them when they laid off a bad pitch; I scolded meanly when they missed a perfect pitch.

I voiced my concerns to the ump when needed, and I even coached the ball to stay fair, or drop, or get out, get out, get out!

As the Cardinals began their slow come back, my coaching became louder and more adamant.  My children, assuming I needed some assistance, crawled out of their dens to help.  Before long, I had the kids, the dog, and even the cat cheering them on.

The tension and excitement grew with each inning.  By the eighth, the Cardinals were only down by one hit.  Then suddenly the Nationals scored another run.  We collapsed in our chairs, temporarily defeated.

Not willing to give up yet, I got back on my feet and continued coaching.  I didn’t even give up when we were on the last out, and even the last strike.  I stayed calm, and focused, and told the players exactly what to do.  “Just get a hit.  Watch the ball.  Wait for your pitch.  DON’T swing at that! Come ON!” were the phrases I had to offer them.

And it worked!  Descalso hit a two run single to tie the game.  Then our rookie, Kozma, hit two more home.  We were now leading 8-6 in the top of the 9th, and with Mott as our pitcher, I knew we had it made.

So the Cardinals have me to thank.  But I am exhausted.  They play the first game of the NLDS tonight in San Francisco. I hope they allow me a rest tonight by trouncing the Giants.

 

 

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2012 in Everyday Living, The Hotel

 

Tags: , , , , ,

15 responses to “Just Call Me Coach

  1. Abby

    October 14, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    Here I am dumping a big cooloer full of gatorade on you! Do they do that in baseball?? Well, either way…

     
    • Abby

      October 14, 2012 at 3:58 pm

      *cooler

       
      • shadowrun300

        October 14, 2012 at 4:12 pm

        **Shiver** I’d rather have a congratulatory cup of hot chocolate. I’ve never like ice cold water being sprayed/dumped on me. 🙂

         
  2. meleahrebeccah

    October 14, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Ahahahahah! Hooray for the Cardinals and your awesome cheering powers!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 14, 2012 at 11:57 pm

      They NEEDED me last night. I’m glad I was there to help, but I’m really hoping for a night off tonight. The games are much less stressful when we blow the opponent out of the water!

       
  3. territerri

    October 14, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    The Cards should put you on the payroll! Nice work!

    I’m like you. I don’t get too worked up over our local teams unless something big is happening. (The Vikings have won a few games. Suddenly I’m watching… though things aren’t looking good for today’s game!) Hey, maybe you could tune into the Vikings game and give them some encouragement!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 15, 2012 at 12:00 am

      Well, just like with my real job, I doubt the Cardinals realize how much I actually do for them.
      Sorry about your Vikings – I think I may be too late. Our St. Louis Rams lost today too, because I was too busy baking to watch. I’m spread so thin! 😉

       
  4. agg79

    October 15, 2012 at 10:12 am

    Hip Hip Hooray for Coach ShadonwRun! I was wondering what magic was going on when they pulled that one out. I was only watching the 1st half of that game and thought that it was in the bag for Washington. Just goes to show that it ain’t over till it’s over. Haven’t been following the series as our beloved Lastros have been out of the hunt since July.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 15, 2012 at 10:32 am

      With the Cardinals, it really ISN’T over til it’s over. They’ve pulled out some amazing wins. Last year they dug themselves out of a hole so deep and won the entire thing!
      Sorry to hear about your Lastros. Baseball’s definitely more fun if you have a winning team. I don’t know how the Cub’s fans do it….

       
  5. towardshealthylife

    October 15, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    Funny post! 🙂

     
  6. Rock Chef

    October 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Hm, maybe you should hire out your skills! Could make a fortune!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2012 at 12:00 am

      That would be so awesome! Maybe a little stressful at times, though… sometimes my heart can’t take it.

       
  7. Jules

    October 22, 2012 at 12:37 am

    Similar to what I do when watching the games, although my voice tends to get pretty loud and there are always curse words involved, especially as I’m watching the game NOW and the cards are down 0-5. Grrr!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 22, 2012 at 12:45 am

      I’m watchin’ too! And cussin’ and scoldin’! Haven’t given up yet though. I’ve seen them pull out some crazy last minute hits!

       

Leave a Reply

 
