RSS

My Little Secret

16 Oct

It’s no secret that I love baking.  I can spend hours researching cupcake, dessert, and cookie recipes, and then anxiously await a free day to whip up something new.

When Terri asked me the other day how I manage to stay in shape with all the baking I do, I was a little flippant with my response.  “I suppose it’s the running I do, and the good genes….” I told her.

It’s true, my dad and my brother are both small boned and a size medium. My brother could seemingly eat anything and not get fat.  My dad bulked up a little as he aged, but has lost the weight and is now not much bigger than I.

But it’s not just the genes that keep me slim.  After all, I was 50 pounds heavier at one point, so I obviously can’t eat whatever I want, and I will get fat if I do.

So the real reason I stay in shape is because I work to do so.  I run or use my cardio machines at least 4 days a week.  I do toning exercises to strengthen my abs, arms, butt, and legs at least 3 days a week.

My meals are all very healthy.  I avoid sugars and unhealthy fats, and I make sure I get plenty of protein, complex carbs, veggies, dairy, fruits, etc.  I bring my lunch to work, and rarely eat out.

I do all of the above so that I can satisfy my very demanding sweet tooth.

I treat my sweet tooth like a child. If I eat healthy all day long, I can have a bowl of ice cream at night.  And that bowl of ice cream is enough to help me avoid all other sweets.  I’ve had this agreement with my “tooth” for so long, that it’s not at all difficult to turn down treats throughout the day, whether a co-worker brings them to work, or whether I bake them myself.

If I bake them myself, I’ll have a taste to make sure they are fit to serve others, and then I’m content.  I have no desire to eat more.

Of course, there are exceptions.  The Margarita Cupcakes I made were so flippin’ good that I HAD to have a whole one.  And then there’s the  Candy Corn……  *sigh*

I treat myself to a bag of Candy Corn once a year.  I chose October because it fits – it has the right colors, the right tastes, and it’s my birthday month.  I eat these very sweet treats without guilt until they are all gone.  (Usually with peanuts and my caramel pecan ice cream – the flavors go SO well together!)  This year, they lasted 2 weeks.  Maybe next year, they’ll come out with a supersize bag…..

Anyway….. that is how I stay in shape. I thought it unfair of me to make it seem so easy, when I have many friends out there who are struggling to lose weight and fighting to be healthy.  Don’t get me wrong – staying in shape is much easier than getting into shape, but it’s still a focus everyday.

Now, I’m off to make these Brown Butter Toffee Blondies for the second time!  It was tough only taking one bite of them, but I managed.  Every once in a while I came back for a whiff, which is almost as good as tasting.  If you have a fall party to attend, I totally recommend these!  And if you’ve never used brown butter while baking, it is well worth the extra effort!

Picture Courtesy of Erin’s Food Files.
Daughter left our camera at her friend’s house. :/

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2012 in Baking, Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “My Little Secret

  1. Abby

    October 17, 2012 at 12:53 am

    Great follow up! I like the clarification of your combination of discipline and moderation.

    It’s true, there are some people who seem to be able to “eat as much as they want and not get chub”, but I think that’s mainly a rarity reserved for a few genetically favored teenagers.

    One thing I notice about being active is that it carries over to my food choices. The crappy foods just aren’t that appealing. Well, maybe a little…

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2012 at 1:01 am

      You’re exactly right. With the exception of a few “crappy foods”, I like eating healthy.
      My 18 year old takes after my brother. The kid eats tons of food and is stick thin. I don’t necessarily envy him though – I’m in much better shape! 😉

       
  2. meleahrebeccah

    October 17, 2012 at 1:01 am

    “I do all of the above so that I can satisfy my very demanding sweet tooth.” It’s great that you can balance that out. I have NO self control when it comes to baked treats. Once, I ate an entire pan of brownies all by myself. Of course, I was horribly ill afterwards, but there is NO WAY I would be able to only eat HALF a cupcake. Especially the ones YOU make!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2012 at 1:20 am

      There was a time I would have done the same thing! (Eat an entire pan of brownies.) But after battling to lose 50 pounds, I DON’T want to gain it back. You, on the other hand, look like you handle a pan of brownies quite well… and a cheeseburger… and coffee ice cream. How do YOU stay in shape?? 🙂

       
      • meleahrebeccah

        October 17, 2012 at 8:57 pm

        Well, I certainly wouldn’t say that I am *in shape* as I haven’t exercised in a decade! But, I guess I don’t really gain too much weigh because I have a hyper thyroid condition and Cronh’s disease. Which is probably the only GOOD thing about my annoying medical issues.

         
      • shadowrun300

        October 17, 2012 at 9:13 pm

        Yes! It’s nice to have something positive come out of your many medical issues. With everything you have to battle, you deserve to down a batch of brownies occasionally!

         
  3. towardshealthylife

    October 17, 2012 at 3:06 am

    What a great post! Thanks for showing those like me that it is possible to lose weight, get in shape and embrace a new healthier lifestyle! Those blondies sounds good so I will stay away because once I have a bite it gets to my brain 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2012 at 10:34 am

      Oh yeah – they were in MY brain too. Very few things anymore require a whole lot of will power from me, but THESE did.
      It’s weird, but once you get in the habit of eating healthy foods, it’s what you end up craving. There’s many a nights where I can’t wait to have broccoli…. what’s that about? 🙂

       
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    October 17, 2012 at 3:36 am

    oh my goodness! Those blondies sure look great! and that margarita cupcake sounds so good too… drooling here!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 17, 2012 at 10:35 am

      They were awesome! Have you ever baked with brown butter? Was my first time, and I can’t wait to find another recipe with it. Just gotta be sure I have a place to bring them so I’m not tempted to eat ’em all! 🙂

       
  5. territerri

    October 19, 2012 at 1:38 am

    I like the deal you’ve made with yourself. That’s a great way to avoid all the temptations that come along every day. At work, there is always some kind of treat – donuts, cake, candy. It’s sometimes hard to resist. But maybe knowing there’s something like a bowl of ice cream waiting at the end of the day as a reward would make it easier to pass all that other stuff up.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 19, 2012 at 1:59 am

      And that way I know what I am eating and can control how much. It works for me, and makes couch time even that much more enjoyable! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
