RSS

Goin’ For It!

24 Oct

The Rock and Roll Marathon was in St. Louis this weekend, and as usual when I see all the runners coming and going from the hotel I start to get the itch.  I yearn to run with them, and I find myself gazing out the window like a sad puppy after they are gone.

I’m told quite often that I should just run in one – by the runners, by my co-workers, by my heart….

But with my legs hurting as much as they were, I never gave it a second thought.

Then I got these new shoes, and my running life changed.  My legs no longer hurt and I’ve been able to run longer distances more often.  So for the first time, I’m giving it some real consideration.  I’ve looked up the dates of the next half marathon, and I’ve researched the best way to train.  I’ve even checked availability at a nearby hotel. I’m nervous about making the commitment though.  Not sure why, but I am.  So I made a deal with myself. If I could run 8 miles one more time, and not have any side effects after, then I would train for the 13 miles.

Today was the test.  And I did it!  I made it the whole way, once again, and despite a little tightness I feel great!

I’m still nervous, but as a birthday present for myself, I signed up for the Go St. Louis half marathon. Sometimes I need to squelch the self-doubter in me, and just go for it!

Right?  Right?

sheesh, I’m still nervous….

Hopefully I’m a little better at running than I am at coaching baseball. I suppose if I’m going to take credit for the Cardinals winning the NLDS, then I should take credit for them losing the NLCS. I’d like to say they put up a good fight, but other than forcing a game 7, they really didn’t seem to be fighting.  One run in 27 innings does not a winning team make. They pulled out some amazing wins to get this far though, and St. Louis is quite proud.  I’m sorry to see their season come to an end, however.  The hotel went from completely sold out to half occupancy after their loss. The off season has begun.

And finally, I thought it only fair that I share this with you….

Apple Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Glaze

I found this recipe at Cooking Classy.   This is the first recipe I’ve tried of hers, and I was so impressed by it, that I can’t wait to go back and see what else I can try!

I followed the recipe exactly, except I doubled the amount of icing.  I wanted to have some left over, but I ended up using it all on the cake.  The cake itself is incredibly moist, and the maple icing is to die for.

And you won’t even feel guilty about eating it, because grating the apples beforehand is a great workout.  (I was actually sore the next day.)  But don’t let that discourage you! It’s well worth all the effort!

Next up…. Brown Sugar Pecan Cupcakes with Caramel Icing.

It’s a good thing I’ll be running more….

 
23 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2012 in Baking, Running

 

Tags: , ,

23 responses to “Goin’ For It!

  1. Mei

    October 24, 2012 at 4:49 am

    Good job on the 8 mile run! What kind of shoes did you get? I’ve only run 8 miles straight one time and I definitely thank my shoes. I used the barefoot kind with the individual toes…they may look funny but with all other shoes I get weird aches and a numb foot after 2 miles. The only downside is when I run over thorns they go right through. ouch… :/ Good luck on ur running…oh and the apple cake looks yummy too! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 24, 2012 at 3:20 pm

      I have the Nike Flex and love them! No risk of thorns poking through, but I do feel the bigger rocks more now. I won’t go back to regular running shoes…. ever. 🙂 Congrats yourself on running 8 miles!

       
  2. Erin

    October 24, 2012 at 10:14 am

    Go girl!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 24, 2012 at 3:20 pm

      Thanks Erin! Hope all is well with you and your guys! 🙂

       
  3. agg79

    October 24, 2012 at 11:11 am

    Outstanding! First Half Marathon and I know you will ace the course. Given all the miles you’ve put down, 13 should be a cake (or perhaps a cupcake) walk for you. I was nervous/anxious my first one, but if I can drag my lazy butt across the finish line (4 times) and still walk upright, you should be able to do it without breaking a sweat. The distance is not really the problem for me, it’s running for 2.5 hours straight that gets me. I would wager that, once you cross the finish line, you’ll be hooked. When is the 1/2 Marathon? April? Cannot wait to hear the build up to race day. Good luck and happy trails!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 24, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      Yeah – it’s not the distance, it’s how long it takes… Crazy to run for more than 2 hours! It took me just over an hour to run 8 and I found myself getting bored at the end. I think if I’m running through the city with thousands of other people I won’t get as bored. Tired, cramped, exhausted, maybe, but not bored.
      The run is the first weekend in April – so I’m a little concerned about training through the winter. I never mind running when it’s cold, it’s the ice and snow that worries me. BUT, I won’t be as busy with work, so that’s a plus.
      I’m really excited! As it gets closer I will most likely be bugging you for advice! Yours is coming up soon, isn’t it?

       
      • agg79

        October 24, 2012 at 8:18 pm

        Yea, it can get boring chugging along with the rest of the mob. That’s why I got an iPod nano for the first one. Been using it ever since. I even queued some “running tunes” for extra motivation. I agree that running that long is the challenge for me. My run is the 13th of January – middle of winter for us. Give the way our weather goes, it could be cold/hot/wet/dry. I’ve done all four.

         
  4. Rock Chef

    October 24, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    And even if you don’t make the marathon, you can always do another mud run!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 24, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      That mud run was a blast! But not much running involved…. I’m sure after the half-marathon I’ll be wishing I had a mud puddle to dive into.

       
  5. Abby

    October 24, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    You go girl!! I think you’ll have fun. There’s no question in my mind that you can finish 13 miles, unless extenuating circumstances like the soup incident happen – which they won’t! Who knows? Maybe they’ll serve up some mud too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 24, 2012 at 6:17 pm

      That soup incident still haunts me today. I’m always extra careful on soup day. Cleaning bathtubs can be dangerous too, so I won’t be cleaning those until mid-April….
      It really is something that I’ve wanted to do for so long, so I’m excited! It’ll be a fun challenge – just like muddin’ was!

       
  6. towardshealthylife

    October 24, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    Yay! I guess when you get bored before getting tired it’s a sign that you are fit 😉 Something to look forward to now that the hotel is getting quieter! I bet once you are all trained and you have done this half-marathon you will be training for another one! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 25, 2012 at 5:37 am

      I sure didn’t mean to imply that I’m bored because it’s easy… But when your legs are tired and you’ve been running for an hour and you’re passing the same dang cornfield again and again, you kinda get bored.
      I have a pretty addictive personality, so it’s quite possible I’ll get hooked. We’ll just have to see! 🙂

       
      • towardshealthylife

        October 25, 2012 at 1:14 pm

        Oh my! I didn’t that it was easy! I cannot even run at all so you have all my admiration! I was was just teasing a little. I am happy for you as well! 🙂

         
  7. territerri

    October 24, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    Yay for you! A running pal told me that signing up for a race keeps you way more motivated than just running for the heck of it. I still can’t bring myself to try it. Maybe someday.

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 25, 2012 at 5:43 am

      I think she’s (he’s?) right about that. But for me…I tend to be pretty self motivated. I like challenging myself though, and this’ll be a pretty good challenge for me. I used to do a lot of 5k’s back in the day, but I was never satisfied with just finishing – I wanted to win! This time, I just wanna finish. 🙂
      Have you looked into new shoes yet? Or did you get those boxing gloves your were after….

       
  8. territerri

    October 24, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    Oh, and that CAKE! I HAVE to try that!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 25, 2012 at 5:44 am

      I hope you like it as much as we did! 🙂

       
  9. meleahrebeccah

    October 25, 2012 at 3:33 am

    I am so happy for you! Awesome job!

    And, you’re KILLING me with that photo of the Apple Cake with Maple Cream Cheese Glaze. OMG! Yes please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 25, 2012 at 5:47 am

      Thanks Meleah!
      (Next time I’ll save you a piece of cake. I wonder how well it travels….) 🙂

       
  10. The Thin Lady Inside

    October 26, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    Wow! I am sooo impressed! You got this! Don’t even doubt it! You got it! …. and about that cake sounds a lot like Tish Boyle’s Cake (with the same title) and there are just some minor variations to it (in the amounts, not even in the ingredients) so I KNOW for a fact IT IS DELICIOUS! Oh yum! I made it last year! it’s in Tish Boyle’s Book “The Cake Book” along with many FABULOUS recipes, you have to get this book! I’ve made SO MANY recipes from it and not even one has disappointed! It’s a “must have” !

     
    • shadowrun300

      October 26, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      Oooh! I know what to put on my Christmas list! 🙂 Thank you so much for the referral! I can’t wait to check it out!
      Thanks for your confidence in me. I hope my confidence will grow as I get closer. Right now, 13 miles seems SO far. But when I’m set on something, I’m pretty determined to make it happen. I’m headstrong that way… 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
