RSS

I’m Out!

06 Nov

Ever since I was a little girl, I wanted to keep up with the boys.

As a grade-schooler, I spent many a recess racing the boys across the playground.  Most of the time they beat me, but I usually gave them a good run for their money. And the occasional time I did beat them, just spurred me to come back for more.

In high school, I longed to have a fast car.  I was envious of the boys driving around in Mustangs and such.  But on my fast food income, there wasn’t one I could afford.  I did have a junker car with a 450 engine – and it was fast, but I ruined it.  Not in a wreck.  I just ruined it.  That’s all I have to say about that.

In my 30’s I began taking bowling very seriously.  I learned everything I could in a short amount of time, and practiced, practiced, practiced.  It wasn’t long before I had the desire to not just bowl with the guys, but to beat them.  Again, most times they would beat me, but I was determined, and never gave up.  I won a few tournaments and a few jack pot games and the high I got from that gave me more determination to continue to get better.

And when our friends all got together, the girls gathered in the kitchen to talk while the boys played cards or pool.  I thought that unfair, so I would usually bust my way into their games, and play along with them… holding my own quite well.

And of course, there’s the issue with the motorcycles.  Sure, I didn’t mind riding on the back of my hubby’s, but it wasn’t long before I wanted one of my own.  And once I have my mind set on something, there’s no stopping me.  I have never let being a girl slow me down….

So when November began and kicked off Movember, I was up for the challenge!  Why should the boys have all the fun of not shaving for a month?  After 3 days, I understood.

As much as I like being able to do all the things the boys do, I suppose there’s a little bit of girl in me that likes to be girly.  So today, I shaved… and as Kramer from Seinfeld once confessed…

I’m Out!

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

20 responses to “I’m Out!

  1. Rock Chef

    November 6, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Yeah, you can only go so far 🙂

    Maybe you could wear a little plastic moustache to show solidarity?

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 6, 2012 at 4:04 pm

      Hmmm… plastic hair. I’m okay pretending my hair has no gray, I suppose I could pretend my mustache is real…. lemme think on it.

       
  2. agg79

    November 6, 2012 at 11:18 am

    Awww. Sorry to hear you fall by the wayside. It’s a hairy challenge and not everyone is up for it. Oh, it sounds all fun and doughnuts, but it takes drive and discipline to stick with it. We’ll miss you in the Mo Community.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 6, 2012 at 4:02 pm

      Yeah… drive and discipline… not something I’m usually known for. haha.
      You boys are gonna have to do this all on your own. I’ll stick to the fun and doughnuts. 😉

       
  3. Abby

    November 6, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    HA! I didn’t know where you were going with this. What would be next? Cage fighting??

    I, for one, am still in but fading fast. It’s not pretty.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 6, 2012 at 4:14 pm

      No! Don’t cave! You’ve made it this far! That extra hair will keep you warmer this winter. You may even be able to run in shorts! 😉
      if you dare….

       
    • meleahrebeccah

      November 6, 2012 at 11:14 pm

      Abby’s comment is hilarious!

       
      • shadowrun300

        November 7, 2012 at 6:20 am

        Abby is hilarious! Check out her site sometime. I can always count on you two to make me laugh at the end of my hard days. 🙂

         
  4. The Thin Lady Inside

    November 6, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    Yes, we get used to the smoothness … 🙂 It’s hard not to keep doing it… no matter how much we complain about it! It would be great to not have to deal with it of course! 🙂

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 7, 2012 at 6:21 am

      Plus it was itchy…. (I never really planned to go a whole month, but sometimes it’s nice to go more than a coupla days before shaving. But then, it’s gotta go!)

       
  5. meleahrebeccah

    November 6, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    You crack me up.

    I can go an extremely ling time without shaving my legs or even my armpits, but my facial hair requires DAILY removal!

     
  6. meleahrebeccah

    November 6, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    PS: I LOVED your Seinfeld reference.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 7, 2012 at 6:23 am

      That is my absolute favorite line from Seinfeld! Do you remember it? It still makes me laugh out loud when I think about it!
      I always keep my facial hair in check… my legs… not so much. ‘specially in winter.

       
      • meleahrebeccah

        November 7, 2012 at 7:22 pm

        Of course, I remember it. I STILL watch Seinfeld EVERY NIGHT from 7pm-8pm on TBS. It’s my favorite show ever.

        “I’m out, Jerry… And I’m loving every second of it!”

         
  7. territerri

    November 7, 2012 at 1:08 am

    You crack me up! This was never even a consideration for me. I wear shorts at the gym. Not shaving? Not an option.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 7, 2012 at 6:27 am

      Yet another reason I don’t go to the gym to workout. 🙂
      I’m much more conscientious about it during the summer, but not as worried about it during the winter. I don’t think I’ve ever gone more than 3 days though. Especially under my arms. :/ yuck.

       
  8. towardshealthylife

    November 7, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    How about a little waxing(ouch), it would keep you in the challenge foor a while 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 8, 2012 at 6:08 am

      Yeah – ouch. I don’t even wax my eyebrows anymore. Not worth the money, or the time, or the sting. I probably would have lasted longer than three days had I waxed. Maybe next year….

       
  9. Jules

    December 4, 2012 at 2:30 am

    Ha, I love the “I’m Out!” line. I’m like you; I like competing with the guys and I tend to fit in better with guys than I do girls. I’m going to write you an email soon. I miss you!! And I’m only ALMOST a month late in reading blogs…that’s not too bad, right? =D

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 4, 2012 at 2:37 am

      Yay! You’re back! A month behind isn’t so bad! Can’t wait to get your email! Been thinkin’ of you…

       

Leave a Reply

 
