RSS

Missed it by That Much

09 Nov

I don’t know whether I should be proud or disappointed.

I planned today as a long run.  I know the 1/2 marathon is months away, but having never run for really long distances, I want to condition myself to quite a few of them before April gets here.

So once a week I try to fit in at least an 8 mile run.

Since I worked late last night, I didn’t hit the road til about 7am.  The first frost sparkled in the sun light, putting me in a pretty good mood right off the bat.

With the temperatures so cool, and the wind non-existent, I set off on my usual 8 mile route.  This time, however, I didn’t turn around at the 4 mile point.  I was having fun – enjoying my new iTunes purchases, thinking about the changes coming my way, and decided today was a perfect day to set my new longest distance.

I decided to go one more mile before turning around which would put me at 10 miles total. So I ran for what seemed like a mile… a couple of songs worth.  Then I turned and made my way back.

About the last mile I could feel some tightening, especially in my calves, but the end was in sight, so it was easy to keep going.

I came in, stripped myself of a few of the outer layers and immediately got in my car to measure the distance.

I avoided looking at the speedometer til I got back home….

and when I did, I was both elated and disappointed.

9.5 miles

My longest run so far, but 1/2 mile short of the big 10.  I could have gone 1/2 mile more, I just didn’t know I needed to go 1/2 mile more.

My hubby has since hooked me up with endomondo.com.  Here, I can find a route that would get me to 10 miles.  It tracks my speed and minutes per mile.(I averaged 7.58 minute miles this time around.)  And it lets me keep track of all my workouts!  Awesome site!

So I just missed the 10 mile mark today.  But I’m growing more and more confident with every long run that I will be able to finish the 13.1 miles come April.  My nerves are slowly dissipating.

In other news, my favorite maintenance guy has been promoted to a supervisor position at another property, so he’ll be leaving us after this weekend. We make fun of him because he eats a peanut butter and jelly sandwich every day for lunch.  So for a going away gift, I baked him these:

Peanut Butter and Jelly Cupcakes!

These are peanut butter cupcakes with a jelly filling, then topped with a peanut butter cream cheese icing and a dollop of jelly on top.

My own peanut butter and jelly expert, Amp, declared them as soft, but bready, and very tasty.  Much like the actual sandwich.

His approval means it’s okay for me to serve them to others, and I will not have to get up in the middle of the night to fix them.  Perhaps you remember that ridiculousness.

All in all,a good day off, I’d say.

Back to the grind tomorrow….

 
17 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2012 in Baking, Health and Fitness, Running

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Missed it by That Much

  1. eric.rial

    November 9, 2012 at 3:52 am

    I ran my first 1/2 Marathon in August and plan to run two more and a full marathon next year. You are definitely on the right track, running longer runs will make all the difference. The mobile apps that tell you your distance, time and pace are great for trying out different routes and longer routes. I use MapMyRun. Sounds like you are heading toward a really good first 1/2 Marathon performance.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 9, 2012 at 10:14 pm

      Thanks for the support! Because my kids all have iPhones and such, there is no money left for me. So I’m left with the step above a flip phone… no apps for me. 🙂 Just have to stick with endomondo this time around.
      Good luck with all your runs coming up!

       
  2. towardshealthylife

    November 9, 2012 at 4:53 am

    loll you could perhaps get up in the middle of the night to eat them instead 😉

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 9, 2012 at 11:40 am

      I actually didn’t have a desire to even taste these. Not sure if it was the long run, or the fact that just wasn’t in the mood for pb&j. So they weren’t calling me throughout the night — now the mini monkey breads I made in the morning were VERY tempting. Holy cow. Can’t make those too often. 🙂

       
      • towardshealthylife

        November 9, 2012 at 2:19 pm

        and what is monckey bread? or maybe for my sake I shouldn’t ask 🙂

         
      • shadowrun300

        November 9, 2012 at 10:31 pm

        Monkey bread is sinful! 🙂 It’s also called pull-apart bread. I used refrigerated biscuits cut in bite sized chunks and rolled in cinnamon sugar. Then I placed them in individual muffin cups that held a spoonful of melted butter and brown sugar mix. After they bake and cool, the brown sugar mix caramelizes and holds the pieces together until you’re ready to eat. Then you just pull-apart the “bread” to eat.
        I made them for a special breakfast treat… for. the. kids. (I have to keep reminding myself of that.)

         
  3. agg79

    November 9, 2012 at 9:27 am

    I keep telling you that, with the mileage you are putting away, come April, 13.1 will be cupcake walk for you. Just pace yourself and stay hydrated. And a sub-8 minute mile is pretty darn impressive. At my age and with my knees, I’d kill for a sub 10.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 9, 2012 at 11:47 am

      Thanks for the confidence booster. These distances are just so far past what I’ve ever been able to do, that it’s hard for me to believe I could actually run a half marathon. I am so in love with what these shoes have allowed me to do. 🙂
      I don’t expect to run 8 minute miles during the half, but it seems to be a comfortable pace for me. I’m hoping that knee pain stays away for a few more years… and back pain… and hamstring pain…

       
  4. Rock Chef

    November 9, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    Those cakes look wonderful…

    Congrats on the 9.5 miles! Next time you will smash that 10 barrier…

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 9, 2012 at 10:17 pm

      The cakes got rave reviews from my co-workers, but the maintenance guy I made them for hadn’t started work by the time I left. I may never know what he thought….
      I feel better and better about running 10 miles or more. I’ll be sure to let you know once I’ve smashed it! 🙂

       
  5. Abby

    November 9, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    I think you’re too hard on yourself. 9.5 miles is still a good haul, and you know you could’ve gone another half. You’re good to go!
    pb&j cupcakes = yummo!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 9, 2012 at 10:19 pm

      I’m always too hard on myself. I suppose I should get better at that. Deep down I was excited about having beat my previous longest distance by a mile! I’m gettin’ there…..

       
  6. territerri

    November 10, 2012 at 12:00 am

    9 1/2 miles is amazing! But I understand you’re disappointment. You were SO close! You’ll get it next time, especially with your new app.

    Those cupcakes sound YUMMY! They look it too! Mmmm.. You are so creative and thoughtful.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 10, 2012 at 2:18 am

      Thanks Terri! I’ll try again in a week or two. How has your foot been feeling?
      I work with some really great people, and Greg was one of my favorites. The sad thing is, he started work after I got off today, and he’ll be at the new hotel by the time I go back to work. I hope he enjoyed them and got a kick out of the reference to his favorite meal. 🙂

       
      • territerri

        November 10, 2012 at 3:04 pm

        My foots been feeling MUCH better. There’s a strange feeling on the outside of my left knee cap though. It doesn’t hurt. It’s just a feeling of pressure. Hoping it’s just a muscle that’s gaining strength due to the new shoes.

        Bummer that you didn’t get to see Greg before he left. I’m sure he loved the cupcakes! Having coworkers you like and appreciate makes any job so much more enjoyable. I’m sure you’re a favorite of many of your coworkers! 🙂

         
  7. Jules

    December 4, 2012 at 2:34 am

    I LOVE your cupcake creations! Sorry to hear you lost a good one at work, but it’s always good to see advancement. Hope they find someone just as good to replace him. One of my recent newbiews who already left ate PBJ a lot too, and he was awesome at his job. Mabye there is a connection with PBJ to productivity in the workplace?? Hmm…maybe I will make my team some PBJ cupcakes too..

     
    • shadowrun300

      December 4, 2012 at 2:38 am

      Would make an interesting study…. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
