RSS

Who Knew?

12 Nov

Who knew I was an Alan Jackson fan?

I didn’t.  I just found out last night.

For months we’ve had tickets to his concert.  They were given to my hubby, by a friend of his.  This friend happens to be the wife of Alan’s drummer, Bruce.  Turns out, the last night of his tour was in Springfield, IL, less than 2 hours from our house.

We weren’t stoked about going.  None of us listen to country music.  I used to, many moons ago, so I knew who he was.  I just couldn’t name any of his songs.

But we thought it might be a good experience for the two youngest to attend a concert where we were quite sure there wouldn’t be potheads.  (Beer drinkers, yes, but no potheads.)  So I took the weekend off, booked a hotel room, and the plans were set.

The morning of the big event, my hubby got a call from the drummer’s wife.  She informed us that we should find the bus and she would have Bruce come out and meet us.  We didn’t want to impose on him, but she insisted.

So… we pulled up right behind the bus, made the call to her and a few minutes later, Bruce walked out. We must have chatted for 30 minutes out there on the street.  He was such a nice guy, and so easy to talk to.  He shared stories of how he left home at 16 and has been on the road ever  since.  He’s been with Alan since 1990, and admitted to being a little burned out on touring.  Since this was his last stop on the tour, he was anxious to get home.

He asked many questions of my hubby and me as well, and seemed quite interested in the business my hubby has started.  When it seemed like we had taken too much of his time, we presented him with our gift.  A thank you for the four free tickets we were given.  The gift was a picture that my son Amp had taken while in Colorado.  Vicky, Bruce’s wife, had expressed how stunning it was, so Hubby had it framed for her.  Bruce gushed over how thoughtful it was, and asked Amp to sign it.

We parted ways, and headed for the will call window to get our tickets.   To our surprise we were seated 9 rows from the stage.  The binoculars we finally remembered to bring to a concert weren’t going to be needed after all.

The show started promptly at 7 pm, opening with an American Idol finalist named Casey James.  Mario, a strict non-country girl, fell in love.  In fact we all did.  He was so real and so talented!  He was followed by David Nail who also put on a great show.   By 9:00 we were were pumped and ready for Alan Jackson.

From the moment he walked out, the crowd was on their feet screaming and crooning, and I found myself doing the same thing.  I danced and swayed and sang to just about every song.  I can’t believe how many hits this guy has had throughout his career!  Being that close, and able to see his expressions, made it all the more enthralling.  And for 2 hours I was Alan Jackson’s biggest fan.

This concert will leave an impression on me for many years, but I must say that on our way back home I was once again listening to Pink, Fun., Neon Trees, Bruno Mars, The Script… you know… all the good stuff.

But I was secretly glad that Hubby added “Remember When” to his repertoire of songs that he plays on his guitar.  Because I never want to forget.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2012 in Family, Friendship

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “Who Knew?

  1. Abby

    November 12, 2012 at 3:56 am

    Wow! Alan Jackson, that’s big time!
    Admittedly, I’m not a CW fan (from my days working that kicker bar hotel!), but I think an Alan Jackson concert would be awesome to attend. And 9th row to boot!
    Nice photos of you non-potheads 😀

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 13, 2012 at 2:40 am

      What was so fun about it was I knew every song! Even without being a CW fan. And the concert itself seemed so intimate. But maybe that’s ’cause I was so close and he kept looking at me. 😉

       
  2. meleahrebeccah

    November 13, 2012 at 1:34 am

    Holy amazeballs! What an AWESOME night!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 13, 2012 at 2:43 am

      It was so fun! And the best news? We’ve been offered tickets to any of his concerts we’re willing to drive to.
      It would be hard to top this one though. Perhaps a backstage pass would do it. 🙂

       
  3. territerri

    November 14, 2012 at 2:57 am

    Country music is my music of choice, so I was so excited to read that you saw Alan Jackson in concert! I like the old stuff, but I love the new stuff too. I LOVE David Nail! I’m jealous you got to see him up close! And Casey James has some great music out too. How fun for all of you to see this show and with such great seats too!

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 15, 2012 at 2:20 am

      I figured you’d be excited about it! I really was a huge fan years ago. Garth Brooks, Kenny Chesney, Rascal Flatts, Reba, Trisha Yearwood, Martina McBride – were all favorites of mine. I never had any of Alan Jackson’s CDs, but I was very familiar with his songs. It’s been so long since I’ve listened to Country Music that I barely know any of the newer artists. I’d never heard of David Nail until he played that night. And I know OF Blake Shelton, but don’t know many of his songs.
      Either way, we had SO much fun at the concert! I feel pretty lucky! 🙂

       
  4. agg79

    November 22, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    Wow. Color me impressed. Those are some primo seats you scored there. I’ve been a closet Alan Jackson fan from way back (Chattahoochee has been on of my favorites). Nice pictures of the Shadowrun crew. I’d be interested in seeing the Colorado picture that Amp took.

     
    • shadowrun300

      November 22, 2012 at 3:48 pm

      You know, I went looking for that pic to add to this post, but then I forgot about it. I’ll hunt again and share it with you. It was a great pic of the mountains and colorful sky.
      I love Chattahoochee as well. So many songs of his were hits, and he played them all. That’s what made it so fun!

       
  5. Jules

    December 10, 2012 at 12:30 am

    Remember When is such a sad song!! Glad you had a good time and that the kiddos were able to experience the concert. I still have not been to an actual concert ever. I was supposed to go see Usher one time but then something came up that I had to go do instead.

     
  6. shadowrun300

    December 10, 2012 at 12:46 am

    I like Usher, but I don’t know if I could sit through a whole concert. Then again, I never thought I would like an Alan Jackson concert – because I like Usher. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
